We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful base to explore Salem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amelia Payson House
Ranked #5 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful base to explore Salem”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We came to Salem for my birthday so of course there was huge pressure for everything to be perfect. This was also our first experience with a B&B in the US and it was a great! The house is immaculately kept, our room was serviced everyday and we always looked forward to breakfast and meeting the other guests. Ada puts on a good spread, our favourite were the fruit scones - being Australians, the way Ada made them reminded us of home. Amelia Payson House is well located to the town centre (not too close, but not too far away either). It is expertly run with an eye to detail. Ada and Don know what they're doing and I don't hesitate to recommend them to anyone thinking of staying in Salem - you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    12
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
102
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We booked at the Amelia Payson House very early in the year, to ensure that we would get our desired vacation dates. From the very start of the reservation process, we experienced only the best in customer service, but with that added personal touch that is above and beyond the principles of "good business".

Ada and Don welcome you into their home like you are old friends coming for a visit. Ada wastes no time getting you set up with a map and a to-do list, settling you in your beautifully appointed, antique-furnished, time-travelling appropriate room + en suite bath.

The house itself is a stunner, standing out on a street of gems as well-renovated and beautifully maintained. Inside, the level of cleanliness will make you embarrassed about your own home. Utterly spotless.

The greatest part of the day is breakfast - Ada and Don go out of their way to serve a beautiful breakfast in their lovely dining room, and the added bonus is meeting the few other guests (there are only 3 rooms so it's an intimate group) and discussing everything under the sun as you fill up on Ada's homemade scones, muffins, waffles...(don't plan on losing weight on this trip). I hope we can get back there one day! === Ali & Rob

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoosick, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My wife, Julie, and I had experienced the gracious hospitality of Ada and Don for the first time seven or eight years ago during our wedding anniversary. The B&B that we had stayed at previously while in Salem had changed hands, so we decided to look elsewhere for accommodations. Fortunately for us, we happened upon the Amelia Payson House. With the exception of one anniversary that we had spent on Cape Cod several years ago, we've been staying with Ada and Don ever since.

We have recently returned from yet another visit to Salem, and our experience at the Amelia Payson House was just as wonderful as those from the past. Nothing had changed, and for Julie and me that's the charm and warmth of this beautiful B&B. It is not a house, but a home. It is Ada and Don's home, and for a brief time once a year it becomes our home. I know that I am not alone in this sentiment for I have read what other guests have written about their experiences - so very similar, and yet so unique.

During this last trip, Julie and I were forced by circumstances to leave earlier than usual on our last day in Salem. Knowing this, Don and Ada had offered to serve breakfast thirty-minutes earlier to accommodate our 9:00am departure. At first, I had said that it wouldn't be necessary, but after considering how little time it would leave for conversation, we accepted their offer. We enjoyed our remaining time with Ada and Don so much that we had left later than planned, but it was worth it.

We will stay with Ada and Don for as long as they own the Amelia Payson House. They make the experience a special one.

Room Tip: We enjoy the second floor, rear of house. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband and I spent 3nights over 4th of July weekend. A beautiful, comfortable, very friendly B&B. Set right in historic district of Salem, we walked everywhere. The owners, Ada and Donald,
very friendly and accommodating! We had lovely,delicious breakfasts each morning. Having celiac disease, I packed my own food, but to my sheer delight, Ada served me gluten free waffles with a very large portion of fresh fruits. The next morning was a yummy quiche with more delicious fresh fruit. I found gluten free heaven at a B&B! We have nothing negative at all to say. This was our first experience in a B&B in the states, and are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My boyfriend and I just stayed here (july 5-8) and what a gem. This place is so damn cute! Ada and Don are the best people. From the minute we walked through that door till we left, we felt like family!
When we were there is was about 90 and the A/C was running in the room before we even came in! it was so cool in that room, that i had to sleep with the blankets on! We stayed in the "pink" room which was fine to us. It over looked the beautiful backyard. We were both smokers and the out side deck for smokers was perfect! it was in the shade and just relaxing.
We are both so happy we stayed here, and when we visit again we will not stay anywhere else!!

Thanks Ada and Don,

Love Joe and Cody

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank japaladino87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at Amelia Payson House. The room was beautiful, very clean and quiet. We enjoyed the small living room where we could have a coffee and a little snack. Ada was indeed very friendly and available whenever we needed an information (see comments from Steven S.). We particularly enjoyed the short walking distance to the train station. It's a great formula to visit Boston.

Guylaine & Alain

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naugatuck, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We had such a wonderful stay at this B&B. the room was great. The hosts were very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. We were within walking distance of downtown and attractions. We enjoyed the breakfast immensely,food was great along with our hosts and fellow guests. A very sociable and fun experience.

Room Tip: Our room had a full and twin bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bethbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.4 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,931 reviews
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
0.2 mi away
Stepping Stone Inn
Stepping Stone Inn
#4 of 9 in Salem
219 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coach House Inn
Coach House Inn
#7 of 9 in Salem
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Payson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Payson House

Property: Amelia Payson House
Address: 16 Winter St, Salem, MA 01970-3807
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little bit about us...Celebrating 27 years as innkeepers, Ada & Donald invite you to their 1845 Greek Revival home. Guest will not only enjoy the grace and charm that is tradition at a true Bed & Breakfast Host Home, but will also appreciate our convenient Historic District location; just steps from all of Salem's limitless activities. Forget about your car, a five minute stroll finds the Witch Museum, the National Park Service Visitor's Center, the Peabody Essex Museum, the House of the Seven Gables, and all the shops, restaurants, whale watching & harbor tours located at Pickering Wharf Marina. Amtrak train service and/or passenger Ferry to Boston is just four blocks away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing