We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amelia Payson House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Salem
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Salem(Salem)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Danvers)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
222
12
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
222
12
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastb bwonderful hostswithin walking distancefamily dogother guestsbiscottibreakfast was deliciousimmaculate roomsfire pitensuite bathroomhocus pocuseach morningkeurig machinehome away from homeloved our staygirls weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2007

We loved the location! We were able to park the car on the side street, and just leave it, and walk everyplace in Salem!
Ada and Don were wonderful hosts and the breakfast was fantastic. Ada made heart shaped waffles lst morning, then a wonderful quiche the next, always with piping hot coffee, and fresh fruit! The room was so very clean and bed linens fresh and beautiful! When we walked in, it was so light and airy, yet felt like we were in another time era!! Just wonderful!! No one who visits here will be disappointed!! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank disco50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2007

We expected the usual Bed & Breakfast stay, but the house was beautifully decorated with period antiques that you felt you were transported back in time. The rooms were very clean, comfortable, and well equipped with everyday necessities.

The house was lovely and we were pleasantly surprised with the family style breakfast of adorable heart-shaped waffles, fresh fruit, pastries and friendly conversation. The house was also conveniently located within walking distance of Salem’s historic district.

Our hosts Ada and Don Roberts showed their generous hospitality and made us feel welcomed during our short stay.

We look forward to visiting Salem again and staying in this elegant and charming B & B.

Amelia Payson Bed & Breakfast is an absolute must.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinnieNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

We had an awesome experience staying at this B&B, the room was beautiful and perfectly maintained. The hosts Don and Ada were wonderful, they were friendly, gracious and very helpful to us. We very much enjoyed our morning conversations with them and the other guests over breakfast. The location is great and attractions are within walking distance. We would absolutely stay at Amelia Payson again during our next visit to Salem or surrounding areas. Outstanding B&B, Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank victoriaandalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

This was the first time we have ever stayed at a Bed and Breakfast, so we did not really know what to expect. We had chosen this due to it's location (within walking distance to everything in town), the value, and the positive reviews. First, the room was excellent, huge and clean. The hosts were awesome, and very friendly. They suggested activites and eats for us that were awesome. We were traveling into Boston the next day, and planning to take the train in to town. They suggested that we should take the ferry, because the day was beautiful. We took the ferry, and it was a great ride across the drink. I would, and alrady have suggested this B&B to friends, and we WILL go back!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bthomas9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful guest house for three nights. The room was very nice, the location was within walking distance of all of the sights and the location was mostly quiet and peaceful for a nice getaway. The highlight of this place is in the quality of the hosts though. Donald and Ada are by far the nicest hosts we have ever had time to get to know at any B&B that we've been to. The conversations with them over breakfast were the highlight of our trip. The breakfast was wonderful every morning; both the food and the company. It is wonderful when your hosts are willing to sit down with a map of the town and help you get the most out of your trip. The other guests were more friendly than we've seen at other B&B's too. This must just be the friendly atmosphere that the hosts establish.

I just can't say enough about our experience at the Amelia Payson Houst and would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ballmantx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews