We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salem's best accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Salem's best accomodation”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Just before Christmas, Miss Pattikins(our labrador retriever) and the rest of her family(my husband and myself) stayed at the Hawthorne Hotel to attend Salem's annual historic houses tour. We were graciously welcomed at the hotel, with special gifts for our dog. The hotel's lobby and surroundings were festively decorated with a myriad of poinsettias and sparkling lights for the holiday season. Our room and bath(part of the "pet package") were cozy but very comfortable and thoughtfully appointed. The staff(front desk, housekeeping and restaurant) couldn't have been more pleasant. Parking was provided by the hotel, and it was easy walking distance to Salem's highlights, including the outstanding Peabody Essex Museum, as well as dining and shopping. We look forward to our springtime visit to Salem and our next overnight stay at the delightful Hawthorne Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wwk60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear wwk607 45:

We love pets! We are so happy that you love yours too, and that you appreciate our “pet floor” and special pet amenities. Thank you for painting an excellent picture of what staying at the Hawthorne Hotel is like. We are certain that future travelers will be well-served by reading this careful and thoughtful review.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the spring.

Kindest regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    450
    117
    34
    44
See reviews for
519
714
98
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We make it a point to stay here at least once a year, just to get away, and have done so for the past nine years. Our most recent trip was another reminder of just how unique the Hawthorne Hotel is. This historic property has a charm that simply can't be found in newer properties. The attention to detail in the wood paneling, the working fireplace in the lounge, the large fresh flower displays in the lobby all help create an atmosphere that is warm and comfortable. Everyone on the staff is friendly, helpful and accommodating. The food is well prepared and the rooms are most charming. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Paul H:

Such a perfect review! Thank you so much for the excellent review of the Hawthorne Hotel. We are sincerely grateful to have repeat guests such as you, and want you to know how much we appreciate your kind comments.

You paint an excellent “word picture” for other travelers, and I know from my own personal experience in looking at other on-line reviews how important this kind of review can be to others.

We will certainly share your kind remarks with our staff, as we want them to keep up the excellence that you point out. We look forward to welcoming you back again, soon, we hope!

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

An historic hotel in the hearth of Salem that has a lot of caracter and pleasant staff

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruisers1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Cruisers1985,

Thank you for your brief, yet heartfelt, review. We do have a hearth in the Tavern, and our staff does have a lot of heart. I like how you combined the two.

Thank you again, We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,


Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

As usual we had a wonderful time. We come every year for my birthday. Did you know they give you your meal for free on your birthday??? My only problem isn't with the hotel, but when there are weddings that have guests staying at the hotel, it can get kind of loud in the hallways. We usually request a room away from wedding guests. Love the history of the area!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear mihippie:

How nice of you to help us promote our birthday special! However it is that others find out about a perk, whether from a friend, or from an on-line review like this, getting a little something extra is always a nice part of traveling.

We do appreciate all of your comments, and work with our guests individually to assure each receives the best possible experience here.

We are so glad you love the history of Salem, and the hotel. Thank you so much for reviewing us.

Kind regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2012

very inviting, comfortable and warm. charming, historic, beautifully decorated. staff very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: every angle is a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Susan L

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for your stay with us last year. We do sincerely appreciate it. You will be very pleased to know that since you visited in February of 2011 we have made some major upgrades to our rooms. So, if you were happy before, you should be even happier when you return. We do look forward to welcoming you back again.

Again, we and future travelers are very happy for your input. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

They say not to judge a book by its cover, and so you shouldn't judge the Hawthorne Hotel by its website. Yes, it's a little clunky, but the hotel itself is actually lovely.

Our room was small, but cozy. You can tell by the size of the rooms and the oddly-angled closet that the place is old, but I found that charming. The room was clean and the bed was great. The bathroom was clearly re-done. My only (minor) complaint is that the room was a little drafty around the windows (particularly in the bathroom).We solved this by keeping the bathroom door open when we weren't using it and adjusting the thermostat upwards.

In a town where you're often sadly misled by exteriors (you thought it was a museum? surprise! it's just a wax figure display!), the Hawthorne is a lovely old hotel with updated rooms and lots of charm. (I particularly loved all the signs around the lobby telling you about the hotel's history, and the history of various people who came through it. Fascinating!)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stalkingsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear stalkingsarah:

What a nice review! We are always so very grateful when our guests take the time from their busy days to write specific reviews such as you did. Some people can really tell a story with words, and your review did exactly that – painted a picture for future guests to be able to understand what a stay at the Hawthorne Hotel might be like. You put your finger right on the heart of what our historic hotel is all about, including the references to the history displays throughout the hotel.

If you would have a moment to contact me to let me know which room you stayed in, that would be helpful in working on that window issue that you noticed. You can call me toll-free at 800-729-7829 and just ask for me, and even if I am not here you can leave me a detailed voice message with your last name or room number, just so we can work on that small detail for future guests.

Thank you again for writing and letting us, and others, know how your stay went. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again some day.

Kind regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

First, I have to say that the location of the Hawthorne Hotel was great. Can't ask for a better base of operations to see the city of Salem. The parking area was convenient, as well. Additionally, the staff was very courteous on check-in and check-out. We were just there for a night and that was enough. I felt that our room had seen better days. Didn't get a crisp, clean feel from the room or the bed linens. However, it's a historic site and the cast of Bewitched stayed there in the 1960s, so it has that going for it. Can't win 'em all.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJMcLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear RJMcLeod:

First, thank you so much for all the positive things you have said here about the Hawthorne Hotel and your stay with us. We are very grateful for every review, but especially for ones like this.

We are very conveniently located, with virtually everything you might want to do in Salem at your fingertips and an easy walk from here to wherever you want to visit. We do have the most available on-site parking of any lodging property in Salem, so the convenience to park with us is certainly the best you will find in this small city.

We love that you recognized our great staff too, because we hire for courtesy, and train for technical skills, and we believe that shows in how our guests are treated. Thank you for noticing.

We note that you stayed with us in October, 2011, and would like to point out that since your stay we have changed out all of the linens in all of our guest rooms to brand new bed linens, with a completely fresh, crisp look. We added double the usual amount of pillows to each bed, triple-sheeting, duvets, higher thread-count linens, and comfy quilted cotton throws.

Thank you again for taking the time to do this evaluation. We sincerely appreciate it, and look forward to welcoming you back again so you can experience our new bedding!

Kindest regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
3.0 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Property: Hawthorne Hotel
Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing