We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAWTHORNE HOTEL - A REAL AUTHENTIC GEM!”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I stayed in the Hawthorne for 3 days at the end of February 2012 while some renovations were being undertaken. This was only very minor inconvenience and staff did all they could to keep any such inconvenience to a minimum. I have NEVER in my life met friendlier, nicer or more helpful front desk staff - just a real surprise in this day and age! The Hotel itself was built in 1925 and is beautifully kept (and obviously still being kept to a high standard - hence the renovations ) and it is JUST REALLY REALLY WONDERFUL. I can hardly wait to bring my wife and kids back to the Hawthorne this summer for Red Sox baseball - and it is just an easy 10 minute walk to the railway station then a pleasant 30 min train ride to North Station Boston where you can catch the subway to Fenway. It is close to everything in Salem too. What a discovery! Do yourself a favor and stay at this place - it is from another - much grander - era. I just loved it as you can tell. Free parking too. An free wi fi. And the TV in my room was crystal clear HD quality not like many other more expensive Hotels I have stayed in. AND they upgraded my room! Wow what a class act the Hawthorne is! Mark the aussie.

Room Tip: Maybe do not ask for room 612 unless you LIKE ghosties....it is reputed to be haunted.....I was on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Secretsquirrel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

Dear Secretsquirrel1888k/aka Mark the Aussie:

You are exactly right on the money in your assessment of the historic Hawthorne Hotel. We know that there are two very critical areas of the hotel business -- maintaining the property in excellent physical condition AND providing excellence in customer service.

It appears that your visit showed you that we do indeed measure up in both those critical areas. Thank you so very much for sharing your perspective in this forum.

You are also very correct in pointing out how convenient it is to stay at the Hawthorne Hotel for any visit to Boston. Our prices are generally around half of what a stay in a comparable hotel would be in Boston, yet we are very conveniently located to the excellent commuter rail service to Boston, being less than a five-minute walk away. So while we may be located a little farther away from Boston itself then some of the suburban Boston hotels, it is much easier to get to there by staying at the Hawthorne due to our proximity to the rail.

Thank you too for noting all of the items we provide for free, such as parking, Wi-Fi, excellent high-definition television service, and wonderful food and beverages.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the historic Hawthorne Hotel with your family!

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,620 - 1,626 of 2,015 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

This was my first time staying at the Hawthorne. Previously I have stayed in Salem at a bed and breakfast.

The staff was very sweet and polite. The front desk manager was especially kind, when she found out I was proposing to my gf that weekend she upgraded our room!

The room itself was beautiful, balanced the lovely design of an old hotel, with modern functionality and comfort. The bathroom was full of natural light. The hotel location was perfect. Right next to Salem commons and walking distance to restaurants, the water, bakery, and bars.

I'll definitely be staying again.

Something to note. Construction was going on while we where there. They warned us about it through email. I never heard any noise, saw any workers and really just noticed one sign of construction down a hallway we had no need to go down (floor covered). I think they are doing a good job of not having the work disturb the guests.

Room Tip: Room 512 was quiet and had nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

Dear Christopher P:

Congratulations on your engagement! It was so nice of you to share that special moment with our historic hotel.

We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to write this review for us, as it is so helpful when guests do this for other travelers.

Our construction is still underway, but is scheduled to be complete by the end of April, and all indications are that we will finish on time.

Thank you so much for pointing out what a delightful front office manager we have. Lucie Ogeron began working for us as an intern, and gradually worked her way up to this position. She knows how important great customer service is, and she works hard to provide it, both from her own customer interactions to the way she trains her team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Perhaps your wedding reception might happen here!!

Kindest regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Whenever I'm in Salem, MA the first choice (and only choice) for hotel accomodations is the beautiful Hawthorne Hotel. Conveniently located in the center of town, you can walk to all the local attractions. The rooms are big, clean and very comfortable. The staff is second to none when it comes to customer satisfaction. Friendly, courteous and very helpful. The restaurant is equally cozy and charming and has a terrific selection of great food. For me and my family, there is no other hotel in Salem.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear James S.

Thank you so very much for returning to the Hawthorne Hotel. We sincerely appreciate the fact that you feel we are the only place to stay in Salem.

I have shared your kind comments with our staff, from the housekeepers to the front desk to the culinary team and dining services, we all work hard to insure that our guests receive the highest level of hospitality here at the Hawthorne.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This past weekend my partner and I stayed at the Hawthorne Hotel. Our visit was phenomenal and that we have every intention of staying at the Hawthorne during subsequent visits. Salem is one of our favorite weekend getaway spots, but we don't generally spend the evening in the city. We've officially decided that we will from now on. The Hawthorne Hotel is both beautiful and staffed by people who are extremely friendly and professional. Our room was spotless and well-kept. We were consistently impressed by the way the hotel has managed to maintain a warm historic feel while also providing modern accommodations. We literally have nothing but compliments to give regarding our visit! My partner and I are very careful about the hotels we choose to stay at, and both feel as though the Hawthorne is a great place to stay in Salem (at a very reasonable rate). We will be returning again - and look forward to it.

Room Tip: We chose the least expensive room listed on the site, and it was STILL a great room. I imagine that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajarfullofwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear ajarfullofwords:

Thank you so very much for writing this extremely helpful review of your stay in the historic Hawthorne Hotel. It appears that we provided exactly what you were seeking in choosing our hotel.

We are blushing madly at all your kind compliments, and cannot wait to welcome you again.

Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My Husband and I just spent one nite, and loved the Hotel, Lobby is lovely, our room was small, but comfortable, great bed....quiet...Renovations happening..did not hear a peep..Staff were helpful and friendly. We able to check in early. Had drinks at the cozy bar at the Tavern...all and all a nice nite away walking the water front, seeing our son and visiting the Peabody-Essex.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marsenault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear marsenault:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. I know that it will be helpful to future travelers to the Hawthorne Hotel, as well as to the area.

You certainly chose the right place to visit by going to the Peabody Essex Museum. It is a fantastic place to visit, definitely world-class, and just one short block from the Hawthorne Hotel so you could not have chosen a more convenient place to stay.

Our Tavern enjoys an excellent local reputation, and we are happy that you were able to enjoy it. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We had a wonderful visit and stay at the Hawthorne Hotel in Salem for Valentine's weekend. Although we had been to Salem several times, the stay at the Hawthorne Hotel made for a beautiful and convenient location. From the moment we stepped into the lobby of the hotel, the staff was pleasant and courteous and anticipated any questions. Just a walk around the lobby and through the halls to get our room was giving our eyes a workout. There is so much history and description for the historic town we were about to embark on during our visit.
Walking to and from the local amenities was easy. The staff recommended local establishments for food, shopping, refreshments and entertainment.
However, we couldn’t stay at the Hawthorne House and not try Nathaniel’s dining. We enjoyed the appetizers , salad and Steve’s Seafood Chowder at the end of our walk about town. The Apple and Butternut Squash Risotto was out of this world. The breakfast in the morning was second to none. The lobster, asparagus with fresh brie omelet was so good that my husband said delicious didn’t even begin to describe it. For my two egg breakfast, the chef kindly obliged my request for home fries cooked to my liking (no onions or peppers) and our breakfast was complete.
We will definitely be back to Salem and Hawthorne Hotel will be on our list of essential visits.
Thank you!
Christine & Stephen Sullivan
Narragansett RI

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sullivan140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Sullivan,

What a fantastic review! Thank you so very much for taking the time to tell other travelers about your experience here at the historic Hawthorne Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Your review will certainly be shared with our TEAM here at the hotel, and especially with the people who made your stay special.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My husband and I visited the Hawthorne Hotel Valentine's weekend. With Salem and all of its activities we were able to visit the center of the town with just a short walk from the hotel. Because of the renovation that was happening to the Hawthorne, our room was fully refurnished as well as upgraded. We enjoyed 2 queen size beds, 2 closets, and 2 full size bathrooms for the decent price of only having paid for 1 queen! We dined for dinner in the Tavern and ordered 2 appetizers thinking it would feed us. We were fully surprised to how big the portions were to point of the 2 of us not being able to finish either appetizer; the price for our food was more than decent! The next morning we had reservations at Nathaniel's for the Sunday Jazz Brunch. That was amazing in itself. The food was beautiful and the portions, again, were more than we expected. The jazz performers were an excellent touch and made for a very romantic brunch. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We had the Bertram room was the perfect fit for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mj73091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear mj73091:

Wow, you really experienced it all, here at the historic Hawthorne Hotel. Thank you so very much for sharing your excellent review with other TripAdvisor members.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed each and every aspect of your visit and especially that you enjoyed our food and beverage service so much. We do enjoy an excellent reputation for dining here at the Hotel, in both the Tavern and in Nathaniel’s, as well as our banqueting department.

Just one small detail – a Bertram room only has one queen-sized bed, so if you had a room with two beds and two bathrooms, it could only have been a Derby room. Our best suggestion is to call the hotel directly to reserve a room if you have any doubts at all about what would be the best fit for your needs. We are always available to answer questions and give guidance.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again, and thank you again for the lovely review.

Kind regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
0.4 mi away
The Salem Inn
The Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: £114 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing