We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great afternoon at the Hawthorne!”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great afternoon at the Hawthorne!”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I went to the Hawthorne Hotel for the John Irving reception held there in September. I had been to the restaurants inside before, but never into the function halls. It was great. What a beautiful treasure we have here in Salem! It was so nice to receive John Irving there, and truly a place we can all be proud of. The staff was friendly and helpful. The dinner was delicious! So much so, that when my friend didn't finish her meal, I helped her polish it off! I had a great afternoon!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haileelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Haileelynn:

Thank you for taking the time to write about your wonderful stay at our historic Hawthorne Hotel. While it has been a little while since you stayed with us, it is obvious that we made a positive impression.

We love hearing from our satisfied guests, especially when they remember the impression our friendly and helpful staff had on their stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,304
    470
    122
    35
    44
See reviews for
546
738
104
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utica, NY
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is a historic hotel that is distinctive, and staying here is an experience in itself. The hotel rooms, though small as many in historic properties are, are beautiful and distinctive. Staff is very helpful and friendly. I liked being able to stay with a dog at such a nice property; the hotel is across the street from a large park and a nice residential area. You can order a special 'dog dinner' from the Pub for five or six dollars which is a nice touch. The location is central to just about every tourist attraction in Salem.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddyJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear TeddyJohns:

We are so happy that you and your dog enjoyed your stay with us. We do everything we can think of in order to make our historic hotel feel as welcoming as we can make it. Your perspective of your visit will certainly be helpful to future visitors, especially because you are such a seasoned traveler.

We look forward to welcoming you and your “pooch pal” back again soon.

Kind regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I grew up in the Beverly-Salem area, but never had the opportunity to stay at the Hawthorne until recently, after moving to Connecticut. I knew of its quality and history, but was blown away by how lovely it was, how comfortable the room was, and the attentiveness of the staff. You cannot beat the location, being within walking distance to many of Salem's historic sites and wonderful restaurants, including the hotel's own Nathaniel's, where we had an excellent dinner. Staying at this hotel was an absolute treat!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear HMDG:

Thank you so much for writing this glowing review. We are always sincerely grateful when one of our guests takes the time to tell future travelers to the Hawthorne Hotel about their first-hand experience as a customer.

You certainly covered virtually every aspect of what a stay in the Hawthorne Hotel encompasses, fulsomely yet succinctly, and we really appreciate your time.

Again, thank you, thank you, thank you! We are so happy to have been a part of your memories on your mini-honeymoon.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manaer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Our stay at the Hawthorne was one of the best we've ever had and we travel a lot. We were there 8 days. During our stay, my husband experienced a medical emergency and the staff reacted like a well oiled, yet very caring, machine. The rooms were wonderful (we changed rooms halfway through to get a smoking room), clean and lovely. But I can't say enough about the staff. From maintenance, to housekeeping, to restaurant servers, to front desk and finally to the management, we were treated as honored guests. And we're just hard working blue-collar folks. We really were sad to leave.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J9union
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear J9union:

As sad as you were to leave, we are so happy that things turned out well so that you were able to travel back home.

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write this lovely review. It is an encounter such the one we had with you, and the resultantly fulsome praise such as this, that makes being in the hospitality business so worthwhile.

We do try to treat each and every traveler with complete respect, and we constantly remind our team members that we are not in the Hotel business, we are n the Hospitality business, and there is a big difference. It is apparent that you saw the results of this training.

Thank you so much for assisting future travelers this way. We do sincerely appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel some time in the future.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearney, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This is an older property, much like the Magnolia Hotel in Omaha that I previewed earlier. Rooms (at least the standard room w/queen we booked) run on the small side, but had recently been updated and were well appointed. Rooms were clean. In addition to being well priced, the hotel is within easy walking distance of most of the sights of Salem. Staff was very helpful and very courteous. Although we unable to check into our room early, we were able to unload and store our luggage. We were also able to park at the hotel. (We had arrived late morning.) We started our sight seeing knowing that was all out of the way. Would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Salem!

Room Tip: Rooms are small, square footage is indicated on the hotel's website, Choose according to your n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller68845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear 68845:

We love getting reviews like this, not only because they are nice, but because they truly do represent the important aspects of what a stay would be like at our historic hotel. We know they will be helpful to other visitors coming to Salem in choosing a place to stay.

Thank you so much for the candid review, and for your kind words. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

With business meetings in the Boston area, my husband and I decided to combine a little business with pleasure and stay in Salem. The hotel is a great example of an updated historic hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance of all the sights to see in Salem. All in all, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard have more equipment noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekkercws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear trekkercws:

We are so happy to learn that you enjoyed our visit to Salem, and your stay with us. Thank you for noting your happiness with the way we carried out our updates to our property. We know that guests want certain things to be updated, yet we also try to preserve the historic nature of the hotel at the same time. We are happy to see that you noticed and appreciated what we have done.

You are certainly correct in noting how centrally located we are to all there is to do in Salem.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed at the Hawthorne 1 night while attending a graduation from Endicott College. Hotel is centrally located in Salem, MA for everything. Only complaint was the bathtub didn't drain properly. Rooms are small but quaint. Walking distance to Peabody Essex museum and great eateries on the waterfront.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gee557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Gee557:

Thank you for your charming review of your stay in the historic Hawthorne Hotel. We are sorry you had problems with your tub drain. I hope you let us know about it right away? We have recently replaced all of the feed piping to the guest rooms, but we did experience a few situations where some construction debris fell into the drains while they were working on them, and we are still working to correct that situation.

We are happy to read that you otherwise fully enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
0.4 mi away
The Salem Inn
The Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Property: Hawthorne Hotel
Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing