We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights during a brief visit to Salem. The hotel is in a very good location, within easy walking distance from most of the sights and lots of shops and restaurants. The hotel has a free car park and offers free wifi in the rooms. It is quite an old building and is currently having some updating to the rooms ( new doors and things like that ). We did have a very comfortable stay though, and the hotel is full of atmosphere, which is great for a Town like Salem. The Hawthorne has two restaurants, one formal and one more casual. We ate in The Tavern on The Green ( the casual one ) on both nights, and enjoyed ourselves very much. We would certainly stay here if we visited Salem again.

Room Tip: Haunted room on 3rd and 6th floor - we stayed on 3rd floor but saw no spirits ! The House of the Se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank riverside7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear riverside7:

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you could appreciate the unique atmosphere the Hotel has to offer from the guest rooms to our Tavern restaurant.

We are working through updating our rooms, though the shaving of the doors in the guest rooms is a result of the humidity trapped in the building this winter, causing the doors to swell. We appreciate how corporative all of our guests have been with us through this process.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review, though your stay was brief. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Salem.

Warm Regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,503 - 1,509 of 2,050 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

First of all, I got lost in Salem and found the surroundings so enticing. The building from outside is marvelous!
My first impression of the lobby was so great that upon checking in I stayed at the lobby looking around the beautiful designs and its inviting atmosphere.
I stayed in for 2 nights. The hotel staff was helpful, nice and always smiling. Very accommodating ladies and perfect match for the image the hotel wants to portray.
The room was small, which I requested upon making the reservation. Cozy, very clean. Bathroom was perfect.
The hotel is renovating many aspects of the interior. Upon ckin, the hotel staff advised me about it. And gave me the power to let the maintenance people know that my room was out of limits until I ck out. This was a plus to me.

Check out was at 11am which was a bit of an inconvenience for me, but not a big deal. Hotel staff took care of my bags until after 11am. fast and efficient checkout.

Overall, excellent experience. Didn't have the chance to tour the city but when I go back to Salem, my first option will be The Hawthorne Hotel. Totally recommend it, no doubt about it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear Marco02:

Thank you for a glowing review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed our lobby. First impressions are everything and we love hearing from guests who
immediately become enamored with the furnishings when first entering the Hotel.

I am glad you were not bothered by losing your way when you arrived at the Hotel. The area can be a bit confusing at times, but it is great to hear that you were able to enjoy the sites as you traveled.

Being able to navigate the city on foot often helps guest navigate the area, due to our proximity to all major attractions. We hope you will get to experience some of what Salem has to offer on your next visit.

Thank you again for all of your kind words.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We recently stayed at the pet and people friendly Hawthorne Hotel. It has a warm and inviting atmosphere. The staff is engaging, friendly, and accommodating in all facets; desk, luggage, maid, and dining services. We were traveling with our two dogs, a poodle and boxer. We were greeted with dog toys and offered pet services. Additionally, the location is outstanding. It is adjacent to the Salem Commons which was ideal for the dogs, and a block from the waterfront and historical sights. Once we parked our car it stayed parked. Everything we wanted was walking distance. We vacation in various parts of the country 5-6 times a year, and in recent memory cannot remember a more pleasant or enjoyable stay than our time at the Hawthorne. We highly recommend the charming Hawthorne Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outerbks55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear outerbks55:

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was great to meet both you and your canine friends.

The Hotel prides itself not only its service to its four legged guests, but their owners as well. I am delighted to know that you felt comfortable and welcomed throughout your stay, from the front desk staff to our dining services team.

I am also pleased to hear how convenient our location was, not only for you, but your furry friends needing to stretch their legs on the Common. We love being able to offer our guests a central location to call home when they visit Salem, as it allows them to easily take in everything the city has to offer.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It will certainly benefit future Salem travelers.

Hopefully I will see you at the Hotel again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at the Hawthorne on our family reunion vacation. Since there were four of us the extra sitting area in our room was great. The staff was wonderful ,they really make you feel special. We had a vacation package so breakfast was included and it was wonderful and the wait staff were all great

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Vicky D:

Thank you so much for your kind words about your recent stay at our Hotel. We are pleased we could play a small part in your family reunion.

I appreciate your comments about our staff. From the waiters and waitresses in the Tavern and Nathaniel’s to the many hard workers behind the scenes, our staff is the heart of the Hotel. I will be sure to share your review with them.

Hopefully we will see you on your next trip to Salem.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

A stay at the Hawthorne is a must if you're traveling to Salem! It has an old world elegance with updated amenities and a top notch, friendly and efficient staff. I've stayed at the Hawthorne twice on vacation and each time was a pleasure. The Tavern is a great place for dinner or just drinks - my husband and I loved the food and the atmosphere. Location is great for sightseeing.
I'll stay there as often as I can - my favorite hotel experience!

Room Tip: Go with the advice of the reservation/front desk staff! They are friendly and helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 95KathleenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear 95KathleenM:

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We love all the little “quirks” that make the Hawthorne a unique place to stay in Salem.

I am glad you noticed and appreciated the charm of the Hotel’s historic décor, but the updates we have made in the past year have enhanced the visits of many of our guests. Little things like a flat-paneled television, iPod docking station, and a few extra pillows can make a big difference in a guest’s experience at the Hotel and we are happy to know it made a difference for you during your stay.

We love hearing from our guests; especially those who have stayed with us multiple times. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

It was my first trip to Salem and my sig other and I had the best time enjoying the city. It was mostly due to the Hawthorne. Its proximity to everything in town is perfect, parking was best at any hotel I've stayed at and the staff was friendly above and beyond.

I was able to get coffee in the lobby before walking to a local yoga class (very walkable area) and then out again for breakfast. They have a jazz brunch on Sundays with a great menu for a prix fixe cost. The drinks are well made in the Tavern bar.

I should also mention that we were there for a wedding. From what I could tell, it was well organized, the food was good and it provided the perfect backdrop for the couple involved. In my opinion its a perfect venue for that academic couple with a love of history and literature.

I would stay there again in a heartbeat. It was absolutely charming and unforgettable...even if we didn't get to see the ghosts my boyfriend was hunting. :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchOnion78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear Jennifer N:

Your words paint a very lovely review of what a stay at our hotel is like. Thank you so much for all that you had to say. We really appreciate our guests who take the time to write reviews here on TripAdvisor so that other travelers can know what our hotel is really like.

One of things we just learned about our Jazz Brunch is that it was voted by diners who use OpenTable to make restaurant reservation as one of the Top Ten Sunday brunches in the entire metro area. In fact, we are listed as #4. Given that area includes all of the restaurants in Boston, we were extraordinarily flattered and happy.

We also enjoy an excellent reputation for how well we provide all of the aspects of a perfect wedding reception, so it is nice to have you notice that aspect of your visit as well.

Thank you again for your charming review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Warm regards

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I enjoyed my stay very much. It is a beautiful hotel. Very friendly staff. Beautiful rooms. Great hotel to visit. The hotel was beautifully decorated for halloween. Everything (shops, restaurants, events were practically at ur door step. Great location. We will enjoy.

Room Tip: Love it. Very charming great stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roeNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear roeNY:

While your review is for a stay last October, it certainly is appropriate for future travelers to read. We are located in the epicenter of Halloween Central, Salem, Massachusetts. Thank you so much for writing this

We hope you will have the opportunity to return soon, and we look forward of being of service to you again.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
17 reviews
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
268 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus North Shore Hotel
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: £102 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing