We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Explorer package is a great deal !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Westford, Massachusetts
1 review
“Explorer package is a great deal !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

They gave us a nice room on the 6th floor with a view of the common. The package included 2 free museum passes, we went to the house of 7 gables great tour. The package included a great breakfast and the package was reasonably priced. The staff was friendly and it was a very nice "old world" atmosphere. They say its haunted but we did not run into any ghosts. We went in mid November. after Halloween season the rates and the crowds drop dramatically. But it is still a nice time to walk around. Every place we wanted to go to was open and not crowded. I highly recommend it

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear George P,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m pleased that you took advantage of one of our many great packages, allowing you to enjoy not only our charming hotel, but this wonderful city and all it has to offer.

You are so correct in your assessment of how nice a destination Salem is in the “off season” – we try to recommend this as a great time to visit to anyone seeking to come here during the very “high season” that is October. It was nice of you to point this out to future guests.

I am certain your first-hand recommendation will be helpful to others, so thank you again for writing this.

Best,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    450
    117
    34
    44
See reviews for
519
714
98
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed in the "guest house" part of this hotel, because there was a wedding that filled up the main hotel. And it turned out to be simply ideal! It was great fun being off in our own little guest house with a couple other guests. It was adorably historic. The location cannot be beat...it's within walking distance of all restaurants and main attractions. The staff are also amazing, they go out of their way to make sure each guest has the perfect stay. We were able to visit Salem during October, which allowed for fun Halloween festivals etc. I would highly recommend visiting during that time of year, and of course staying at the Hawthorne Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Carol H,

I’m so pleased that you enjoyed staying in our quaint Fidelia Bridges Guest House, located adjacent to the main Hawthorne Hotel building. This house, built in 1807 features three rooms and one suite, which all have wide-pine floors, decorative fireplaces, and are individually furnished for comfort and charm.

October is a unique time for Salem and for us at the Hawthorne Hotel. With so many events taking place as part of Haunted Happenings, our guests always have plenty to do. I hope you have had the chance to stay with us the weekend of our annual Halloween Party – this year’s party was a hit, and we are already gearing up for 2014!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Hawthorne is a hotel my fiance picked out and we were not disappointed, Staff is personable, and everyone will tel you that its haunted, we didnt experience any paranormal activity, just a historic hotel with a great staff and interesting room setup. Our room had the restroom in one end of the room, and shower at the other end, in my opinion, its a great setup. its location is amazing, within a few minutes walk, your at the Essex museum, right behind the museum is Salems oldest cemetary. Love this place.

Sorry, No pool, my mistake on the bottom of the review

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiladubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear kiladubz,

Thank you for sharing your lovely experience of the Hawthorne Hotel with us. As a historic Hotel, our rooms differ from those of a contemporary hotel, and we offer thirteen room types varying in style and size. Even within those different room types there exists small changes from room to room, which create a nice surprise with each different room on, enters. I’m pleased that you and your fiancé enjoyed your room, and that the layout worked well for you.

Although we do not have a pool in the Hotel, we do offer our overnight guests complimentary passes to the Salem YMCA, which, in addition to a full-size workout center, hosts two pools. If you stay with us again, please be sure to ask the front desk about this wonderful amenity!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Vermont
Level Contributor
214 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

On this occasion, I took advantage of the VIP package at the Hawthorne Hotel, since my dog was accompanying me. We both enjoyed our stay immensely in the Bertram Room, which, although small, was more than adequate with its Queen-size bed and full-size bath/shower. Our room overlooked the Salem Common.

Chloe was really spoiled with wonderful treats, and I certainly took advantage of the excellent dinners at night at Nathaniel's. Maria, my server on both occasions, was a delight, and she even persuaded the chef to give me some extra amuse-bouches, after I had said how delicious they were. The miniature spring rolls with ginger sauce were especially yummy!

I particularly love the location of this historic hotel, as it is within a stone's throw of the Common (great for walking the dog even late at night). Close-by is the fabulous Peabody-Essex Museum with its extensive Oriental and maritime collections. The current exhibition, Impressionists on the Water, too is well worth a visit. Other favorite sites are the House of the Seven Gables and the Salem Maritime National Historic Site with the tall ship, Friendship, in dock.

If you are visiting this area for the first time, be sure to visit Crane Beach on the Crane Estate in Ipswich. With miles of beach, you can even walk your dog there during the months of late fall into early spring. While in Ipswich, I also like to stop off at the Clam Box or the Clam House for their famed fried clams.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Bear59,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel, as well as your excellent insights into sights to see in Salem. As you noticed, we welcome human guests and their furry friends in the same way, and I’m pleased that you and Chloe enjoyed your stay with us.

We are certainly lucky to be centrally located in historic Salem, and I’m glad you found this useful when exploring the many great attractions that the city has to offer. As you noted, we are also located near other great towns in the North Shore and Boston areas, and we are happy to recommend a number of different day-trips to our guests. Thank you for suggesting Crane Beach, as I’m certain fellow Trip Advisor readers will appreciate the tip!

Thank you for also recognizing Maria, one of the excellent servers in our fine dining restaurant, Nathaniel’s. It’s obvious that she takes wonderful care of our guests, and I will be sure to pass along your kind words to her and the rest of our team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Our stay in Salem was made very pleasant and interesting by the wonderful staff at the hotel and restaurants. We were greeted with happy to see you attitude from all. The Tavern on the green staff were great. They managed to put together and serve seven people dinner without any advanced notice. Tess our waitress was fantastic by the time we finished she was like an old friend. She manage to accommodate our every request with a great smile. Helen our hostess at Nathaniel's was also wonderful to meet we learned how nice people can be to strangers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loner21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear loner21,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m pleased you not only enjoyed your stay, but also appreciated dining with us in our casual Tavern on the Green, as well as in Nathaniel’s, our fine dining restaurant. We all appreciate your recognizing both Tess and Helen for their friendly natures and hard work.

We take great pride in offering our guests a warm and welcoming place to stay and dine, and it is through comments like yours that we know we are doing just that.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

If you want that charming, old world feel in a hotel definitely consider the Hawthorne Hotel if you're planning on staying in Salem.

I bought the cheapest room, which was very tiny however. The room was so small that the bathroom door hit the bed when I opened it and I was barely able to pull out the chair in front of the desk because it was wedged between the desk and a dresser. The TV is completely misaligned with the bed and can't be turned, so if there are two of you only one person can really watch it.

So why 4 stars? The hotel makes it up on atmosphere, free parking, service, decor and location. Pretty much everything you want to do in salem is walking distance from the hotel. I'd give it 5 stars if the rooms were bigger or the price was a little lower to match the room size.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEYHEY661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear HEYDJ11,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciated the charming atmosphere of our beautiful Hotel.

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room size. As a historic hotel, our rooms vary in style and size, and in general are smaller than those of contemporary chain hotels. We offer thirteen different room types, and it is true that our least expensive room is quite small. We typically only recommend this smallest room size for solo travelers for the very reasons you mentioned. Should you stay with us again, please visit our website; we include photographs and descriptions of each room type, along with approximate square footage. Our front desk clerks are also happy to discuss room types with you, and will do their best to accommodate your needs.

Regarding your comments about the pricing relationship between room size and cost, you clearly stayed with us during a very high demand time. Our rooms are priced not only in regard to their size, but also to the demand of the marketplace in October and early November. So if price-value is a consideration, saying on weekdays during the rest of the year, especially in December through March, offers the best value for your travel dollar.

It is so nice to see you recognize all the things that do so well, and for which virtually every one of our guests are appreciative of. Most of all, we are happy that you had an otherwise lovely stay with us, and I hope we will see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Gorgeous room, great amenities, beautiful hotel, great location.
Ended up there because of flight nightmare from Boston, and the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful! Such a pleasure after a dreadful flight! Many, many thanks! Would love to stay there again!

Room Tip: rooms in guest house adjacent may only have showers but great peace and quiet! And beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Anne S,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. Although I’m sorry to hear that you were brought to us due to trouble with your flight, I am pleased we were able to ease your travel troubles by offering you a comfortable place to spend the night. Each member of our staff works hard to take care of our guests, and it is wonderful to know that you found our staff to be welcoming and helpful during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hawthorne again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
3.0 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Property: Hawthorne Hotel
Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing