We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, historic Salem Hotel!”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, historic Salem Hotel!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

One of the most beautiful and elegant hotels I've ever had the privilege of staying in. Just gorgeous in every detail, with every service one could wish for and located right in the center of historic Salem. The room was huge and even had two separate bathrooms! Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Probably try to get a room with a view, but the building is well located and probably every room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Alan E:

Wow, what a lovely succinct review. You certainly hit on the highlights of a visit to the historic Hawthorne Hotel

Those of us who work with reservations and guest room accommodations here do find that the rooms with two bathrooms or even those with a bathroom and one-half, are certainly some of the best rooms in the hotel, especially if there is more than one person travelling.

Thank you so much for your very kind review. As much as you cannot wait to return, we feel the same way – we cannot wait to welcome you back again.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,304
    470
    122
    35
    44
See reviews for
546
738
104
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A great time at Hawthorne again this past Halloween, great place to stay, warm great feeling, nothing like a warm cozy feeling when you are away from home, everyone right down to the guest are so neat, the hotel does a great job in taking care of everyone, my husband and I look forward to our time at the Hawthorne, rooms are soooooooo!!! very clean, and everything you could need is at the hotel, love the location , the view, and the restaurants are very good, we will see the Hawthorne Hotel and all its great people next year!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Any room is good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karena U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Hotel and all its great people next year!!!!!!!
Dear Karena U :

One of the best things we believe we can do for our guests is to make certain that the hotel is very clean, especially our guest rooms. Thank you so much for noticing that they are—I will be sure to let our housekeeping team see your kind comments.

Thank you also for noticing how good the two restaurants are here at the Hawthorne Hotel, and for taking the time to write a separate review for one of them.

We do sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Most sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I have enjoyed our stay for the Halloween festivities for 10 years now. We have had the best experience at this hotel each and every year! The staff is very accommodating and strive to meet the guests' every need. This is a historic hotel with some age, but every year the general manage,r Julie, makes wonderful capital improvements to the property to enhance the visitors stay without compromising the historic qualities that make this a nostalgic and unique hotel stay. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. We would like to recognize the outstanding service we have received consistently over the years form several staff members, although everyone is great: Lee, Allison, DJ, Andy, Helena, and of course, Julie the general manager. Thank you for continuing to deliver an extraordinary experience at this most busy time of year for you and making each guest feel the seamless delivery of service. Your service is morning, noon, and night and always with a smile.
Sincerely,

Martha and Doug
North Carolina

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Martha and Doug,

Thank you for writing such a heartfelt review of the Hawthorne Hotel. It is guests like you, who have stayed with us many times over the years, who can truly speak to the Hawthorne experience, and we appreciate you taking the time to share that experience with us and fellow Trip Advisor readers.

You of course touched on so many aspects of our Hotel that we think make us what we are, from our unique, charming atmosphere, to the focus we place on our guests and improving their stays with us, to our wonderful Hawthorne team. Thank you for recognizing the efforts and friendly attitudes of Lee, Allison, DJ, Andy, and Helen! I am happy to pass along your compliments to them and to the rest of our staff.

We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westford, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

They gave us a nice room on the 6th floor with a view of the common. The package included 2 free museum passes, we went to the house of 7 gables great tour. The package included a great breakfast and the package was reasonably priced. The staff was friendly and it was a very nice "old world" atmosphere. They say its haunted but we did not run into any ghosts. We went in mid November. after Halloween season the rates and the crowds drop dramatically. But it is still a nice time to walk around. Every place we wanted to go to was open and not crowded. I highly recommend it

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear George P,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m pleased that you took advantage of one of our many great packages, allowing you to enjoy not only our charming hotel, but this wonderful city and all it has to offer.

You are so correct in your assessment of how nice a destination Salem is in the “off season” – we try to recommend this as a great time to visit to anyone seeking to come here during the very “high season” that is October. It was nice of you to point this out to future guests.

I am certain your first-hand recommendation will be helpful to others, so thank you again for writing this.

Best,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed in the "guest house" part of this hotel, because there was a wedding that filled up the main hotel. And it turned out to be simply ideal! It was great fun being off in our own little guest house with a couple other guests. It was adorably historic. The location cannot be beat...it's within walking distance of all restaurants and main attractions. The staff are also amazing, they go out of their way to make sure each guest has the perfect stay. We were able to visit Salem during October, which allowed for fun Halloween festivals etc. I would highly recommend visiting during that time of year, and of course staying at the Hawthorne Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Carol H,

I’m so pleased that you enjoyed staying in our quaint Fidelia Bridges Guest House, located adjacent to the main Hawthorne Hotel building. This house, built in 1807 features three rooms and one suite, which all have wide-pine floors, decorative fireplaces, and are individually furnished for comfort and charm.

October is a unique time for Salem and for us at the Hawthorne Hotel. With so many events taking place as part of Haunted Happenings, our guests always have plenty to do. I hope you have had the chance to stay with us the weekend of our annual Halloween Party – this year’s party was a hit, and we are already gearing up for 2014!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Hawthorne is a hotel my fiance picked out and we were not disappointed, Staff is personable, and everyone will tel you that its haunted, we didnt experience any paranormal activity, just a historic hotel with a great staff and interesting room setup. Our room had the restroom in one end of the room, and shower at the other end, in my opinion, its a great setup. its location is amazing, within a few minutes walk, your at the Essex museum, right behind the museum is Salems oldest cemetary. Love this place.

Sorry, No pool, my mistake on the bottom of the review

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiladubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear kiladubz,

Thank you for sharing your lovely experience of the Hawthorne Hotel with us. As a historic Hotel, our rooms differ from those of a contemporary hotel, and we offer thirteen room types varying in style and size. Even within those different room types there exists small changes from room to room, which create a nice surprise with each different room on, enters. I’m pleased that you and your fiancé enjoyed your room, and that the layout worked well for you.

Although we do not have a pool in the Hotel, we do offer our overnight guests complimentary passes to the Salem YMCA, which, in addition to a full-size workout center, hosts two pools. If you stay with us again, please be sure to ask the front desk about this wonderful amenity!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

On this occasion, I took advantage of the VIP package at the Hawthorne Hotel, since my dog was accompanying me. We both enjoyed our stay immensely in the Bertram Room, which, although small, was more than adequate with its Queen-size bed and full-size bath/shower. Our room overlooked the Salem Common.

Chloe was really spoiled with wonderful treats, and I certainly took advantage of the excellent dinners at night at Nathaniel's. Maria, my server on both occasions, was a delight, and she even persuaded the chef to give me some extra amuse-bouches, after I had said how delicious they were. The miniature spring rolls with ginger sauce were especially yummy!

I particularly love the location of this historic hotel, as it is within a stone's throw of the Common (great for walking the dog even late at night). Close-by is the fabulous Peabody-Essex Museum with its extensive Oriental and maritime collections. The current exhibition, Impressionists on the Water, too is well worth a visit. Other favorite sites are the House of the Seven Gables and the Salem Maritime National Historic Site with the tall ship, Friendship, in dock.

If you are visiting this area for the first time, be sure to visit Crane Beach on the Crane Estate in Ipswich. With miles of beach, you can even walk your dog there during the months of late fall into early spring. While in Ipswich, I also like to stop off at the Clam Box or the Clam House for their famed fried clams.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Bear59,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel, as well as your excellent insights into sights to see in Salem. As you noticed, we welcome human guests and their furry friends in the same way, and I’m pleased that you and Chloe enjoyed your stay with us.

We are certainly lucky to be centrally located in historic Salem, and I’m glad you found this useful when exploring the many great attractions that the city has to offer. As you noted, we are also located near other great towns in the North Shore and Boston areas, and we are happy to recommend a number of different day-trips to our guests. Thank you for suggesting Crane Beach, as I’m certain fellow Trip Advisor readers will appreciate the tip!

Thank you for also recognizing Maria, one of the excellent servers in our fine dining restaurant, Nathaniel’s. It’s obvious that she takes wonderful care of our guests, and I will be sure to pass along your kind words to her and the rest of our team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
0.4 mi away
The Salem Inn
The Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Property: Hawthorne Hotel
Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing