We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like stepping back in time...”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

What a beautiful old hotel...but don't let me mislead you! It is old and charming on the outside but beautifully appointed on the inside. We had a gorgeous room with 2 queen wonderful beds with lovely linens. The room was very large and even had a bath and one-half. The rooms had recently been remodeled and they were beautiful. Made it so great for two people to try and get ready in the mornings. We ate downstairs at the pub...and the food was wonderful. Although we didn't eat at the restaurant, some in our group did and said the food was delicious. The help at the hotel was amazing...from the front desk to the waiters, it couldn't have been better. I love this hotel. I will come again and stay much longer.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with at least a bath and one-half.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear elisesmom:

We are so pleased that you discovered one of our favorite rooms here at the Hawthorne Hotel. With 13 differing room types, there is definitely something here for everyone – and we are always most happy to have our guests get the room that serves their needs in a perfect way.

We are also pleased that you enjoyed the food and the service in our Tavern on the Green – the casual restaurant in our hotel that serves a full menu from 11 am to 11 pm daily.

Last but not least, it is so nice of you to mention your delight with the amazing staff here. It is the one constant that we hear from every guest – just how warm, welcoming and hospitable our entire staff is to each and every customer.

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write this glowing review.

Most sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,069 - 1,075 of 2,031 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Just spent a night at the Hawthorne with a group I'm with.From the moment I walked in I felt a happy comfortable feeling,The Hotel looked very nice inside and the staff at the front counter that night and the night before when I went in for pre set up of work we were doing were very helpful,and friendly,they truly knew the true meaning of customer service and hospitality..
The following night when we were preparing for our work,the catering dept were very courteous and helpful.
I stayed in room 325 that night,(one of the most haunted rooms).and when I returned to my room at around 2am the only eyebrow raiser was when I closed the shower door and it opened back up by itself,other then that minor question I had a very comfortable bed and slept very good.no water running or lights going on and off by itself.
I had a very enjoyable time at the Hawthorne and would definitely stay there again,from the ambiance and staff this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in and I have stayed in many not just here in the states but also in Europe,thanks to Juli and her wonderful staff you are the ones who set the standards of others to follow you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mchlsmth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear mchlsmth:

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our hotel, and our team members you encountered. We all work very hard to delight our guests, and when we read reviews such as yours all of that work we do seems worthwhile.

I am very happy that you had a comfortable rest in our made-in-Salem beds, and that while you were interested in a ghostly experience and did not have one, you were still enchanted by your visit with us.

I will pass along your comments to our banquet and catering staff members so that they can see how much you appreciated their efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

From the moment we walked through the doors we knew our stay was going to be comfortable. I first noticed the tavern as we entered the hotel which was a welcome site. After our tours around town we returned to our room which was very clean and quaint. Food and service in the tavern was incredible, the bartenders even offered to Google some recipes for drinks they hadn't heard of. Beds and pillows were some of the best we'd slept on.
During breakfast the next morning the Manager visited our table to discuss our stay and offer any suggestions on how to approve - very impressive.
Highly recommended, we hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Andy Ml:

While your review is brief, it is very special in our eyes, as you touched upon all of the items that we try very hard to make “perfect” for our guests. I so enjoyed meeting you at breakfast that day, and am happy to see that you ended your visit with us in the same perfect way it began.

Thank you especially for noticing how clean our hotel is, as well as the excellence in customer service that you received. I will be sure to share your review with our team members.

We do sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

One of the most beautiful and elegant hotels I've ever had the privilege of staying in. Just gorgeous in every detail, with every service one could wish for and located right in the center of historic Salem. The room was huge and even had two separate bathrooms! Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Probably try to get a room with a view, but the building is well located and probably every room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 855alane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Alan E:

Wow, what a lovely succinct review. You certainly hit on the highlights of a visit to the historic Hawthorne Hotel

Those of us who work with reservations and guest room accommodations here do find that the rooms with two bathrooms or even those with a bathroom and one-half, are certainly some of the best rooms in the hotel, especially if there is more than one person travelling.

Thank you so much for your very kind review. As much as you cannot wait to return, we feel the same way – we cannot wait to welcome you back again.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A great time at Hawthorne again this past Halloween, great place to stay, warm great feeling, nothing like a warm cozy feeling when you are away from home, everyone right down to the guest are so neat, the hotel does a great job in taking care of everyone, my husband and I look forward to our time at the Hawthorne, rooms are soooooooo!!! very clean, and everything you could need is at the hotel, love the location , the view, and the restaurants are very good, we will see the Hawthorne Hotel and all its great people next year!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Any room is good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karena U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Hotel and all its great people next year!!!!!!!
Dear Karena U :

One of the best things we believe we can do for our guests is to make certain that the hotel is very clean, especially our guest rooms. Thank you so much for noticing that they are—I will be sure to let our housekeeping team see your kind comments.

Thank you also for noticing how good the two restaurants are here at the Hawthorne Hotel, and for taking the time to write a separate review for one of them.

We do sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Most sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I have enjoyed our stay for the Halloween festivities for 10 years now. We have had the best experience at this hotel each and every year! The staff is very accommodating and strive to meet the guests' every need. This is a historic hotel with some age, but every year the general manage,r Julie, makes wonderful capital improvements to the property to enhance the visitors stay without compromising the historic qualities that make this a nostalgic and unique hotel stay. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. We would like to recognize the outstanding service we have received consistently over the years form several staff members, although everyone is great: Lee, Allison, DJ, Andy, Helena, and of course, Julie the general manager. Thank you for continuing to deliver an extraordinary experience at this most busy time of year for you and making each guest feel the seamless delivery of service. Your service is morning, noon, and night and always with a smile.
Sincerely,

Martha and Doug
North Carolina

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Martha and Doug,

Thank you for writing such a heartfelt review of the Hawthorne Hotel. It is guests like you, who have stayed with us many times over the years, who can truly speak to the Hawthorne experience, and we appreciate you taking the time to share that experience with us and fellow Trip Advisor readers.

You of course touched on so many aspects of our Hotel that we think make us what we are, from our unique, charming atmosphere, to the focus we place on our guests and improving their stays with us, to our wonderful Hawthorne team. Thank you for recognizing the efforts and friendly attitudes of Lee, Allison, DJ, Andy, and Helen! I am happy to pass along your compliments to them and to the rest of our staff.

We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

They gave us a nice room on the 6th floor with a view of the common. The package included 2 free museum passes, we went to the house of 7 gables great tour. The package included a great breakfast and the package was reasonably priced. The staff was friendly and it was a very nice "old world" atmosphere. They say its haunted but we did not run into any ghosts. We went in mid November. after Halloween season the rates and the crowds drop dramatically. But it is still a nice time to walk around. Every place we wanted to go to was open and not crowded. I highly recommend it

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear George P,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m pleased that you took advantage of one of our many great packages, allowing you to enjoy not only our charming hotel, but this wonderful city and all it has to offer.

You are so correct in your assessment of how nice a destination Salem is in the “off season” – we try to recommend this as a great time to visit to anyone seeking to come here during the very “high season” that is October. It was nice of you to point this out to future guests.

I am certain your first-hand recommendation will be helpful to others, so thank you again for writing this.

Best,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
0.4 mi away
The Salem Inn
The Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: £99 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing