We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Snow Ball - An Evening to Remember”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Malden, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Snow Ball - An Evening to Remember”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Hello Juli:

I wanted to send you a quick note for an on behalf of one of your employee's, Melissa who serves at your front desk. She is a lovely, personable person with whom I made our reservations with for the Snow Ball this past Friday. She not only handle this reservation with such ease and made sure when I called on Friday morning that it would be possible for not only myself and my husband but another reservation I made for the Morrison's that we were able to check in early. She also was kind enough to make sure that we received the room rate for the Snow Ball

I think that when an employee goes above and beyond the call of duty and treat your guests with such kindness not only on the telephone but especially upon meeting Melissa in person on Friday, deserve to be made mention of.

I just wanted you to know that such a lovely young lady is a true asset to the Hathorwne Hotel.

I might want to mention that breakfast in the morning was delicious.

Happy Holidays!

Warm Regards,

Janet Pilleri
Pilleri Romano PC

Sent from my iPad

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the common at Christmas!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Janet,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a warm experience at the Hawthorne Hotel! I’m pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and hope that the Salem Snowball was just as enjoyable.

We also appreciate you recognizing Melissa for her friendly and helpful approach in making your reservation, and in greeting you upon your arrival. We take great care in choosing staff who we believe will offer our guests the true hospitality that we strive for at the Hawthorne, and it is through feedback such as yours that we know we are doing just that. I will be certain to share your compliments with Melissa and the rest of our Front Desk team.

Thank you again. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    467
    121
    35
    44
See reviews for
537
732
102
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheboygan, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We had nine crazy women stay at the Hawthorne for the Witches' Weekend in October. The hotel itself is very cool...old world elegance, but it was the staff that made the stay a wonderful experience. They were so courteous, quick to help whenever needed, and very funny!!!! We can't wait to go again, and would stay nowhere else, but the Hawthorne! Thank you for a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Rooms 612 and 325 are haunted if you are looking for a "spooktacular" stay! Not a bad roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear jill k,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. October is certainly a unique time to visit Salem and the Hawthorne, and I’m pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. I also appreciate your compliments for our excellent staff. We pride ourselves on the hospitality that we offer our guests, and reviews such as yours let us know that we are on the right track.

I wonder if you know about our annual Halloween Party? It is our biggest event at the Hotel, and one of our favorites. The 2014 Halloween Party is set for October 25, and we are already looking forward to it!

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabot, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

To celebrate my mother's 75th birthday, several of us traveled from all directions and met at the Hawthorne for the weekend (We booked 2 rooms). We thoroughly enjoyed Salem and the hotel was comfortable with really nice amenities. I am a linens snob (true) and loved the sheets and pillows! A big plus. I got free YMCA passes so I could swim laps on the visit. Another huge plus. The location is convenient and parking is plentiful. Really, this was just a fantastic weekend. I'd definitely go back. Did I mention the coffee in the lobby in the morning and the delicious hot cider in the lobby in the afternoon? Nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Wendy S,

We are honored that you chose to celebrate such a momentous family occasion at the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found your room and bed to be comfortable. We take great care when choosing the mattresses and bedding for our guestrooms, and so I appreciate your feedback.

It’s wonderful that you took advantage of the complimentary passes we offer to the local YMCA. In addition to their two swimming pools, they also offer a large exercise facility, and we are glad to be able to offer this great amenity to our guests.

We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had a recent opportunity to spend a couple of nights at the Hawthorne Hotel in Salem,Massachusetts. The immediate feeling we had was that the staff was really committed to making their guests feel welcomed. It was a surprise to have such a youthful staff in such an older hotel.
The cleanliness of the facility combined with the friendliness of the front desk employees as well as the restaurant staff and housekeepers made our stay very enjoyable and would surely plan on staying at "The Hawthorne" on our next visit to Boston's North Shore.

Room Tip: A corner room is a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear John F,

Thank you for sharing such a lovely review of the Hawthorne Hotel and our staff. We believe that it is important to remember that we are in the hospitality business, not the hotel business, and we choose our staff accordingly. Kind words such as yours help us to know that we are on track, and I will be certain to pass along your compliments to our wonderful team!

Thank you especially for noticing the people who sometimes are not noticed – the housekeepers – who work so hard to maintain our clean rooms. We know that cleanliness is one of the most important things we must provide to our guests, and having you note that aspect so prominently is very fulfilling to us. I will be certain to share your comments with the entire team.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I was very impressed with my stay at Hawthorne. We wanted some ghostly activity but werent so lucky. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the food was excellent!!! I would stay here anytime I am ever in Salem again. The prices are very reasonable. I was even the VIP customer of the day when I stayed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Sabrina B,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. We love the way in which our VIP Guest program is allowing us to get to know and interact with our guests a little bit more, and so I’m glad this enhanced your stay.

I’m also pleased you enjoyed dining with us. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our Chef and Dining Services team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

When we arrived at the hotel to check in the parking lots were completely full and there was no parking available on the side streets. We were going to a wedding reception at another location with no parking. The hotel was very busy with functions.
The young lady at the front desk was very helpful and gave us a parking pass that allowed us to leave our car in front of the hotel while we attended the reception and when we returned we moved the car to the lot. She also helped us with directions to our reception.
We stayed in room 417. It was good sized with a small but clean bathroom. This is expected in a historic hotel. Beds were comfortable and the room was very quiet despite the business of the hotel.

Room Tip: We liked 417.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Jan M,

We appreciate you sharing your lovely experience with us. I’m glad that not only did you find our front desk team friendly and welcoming, but that the clerk who checked you in was able to make your night easier by offering directions to the reception you were attending, and a temporary parking solution as well.

Our Deliverance Room, a deluxe room with two queen beds, is certainly comfortable, and I’m pleased that you found it clean and quiet. Our housekeeping team does an excellent job in maintaining our rooms, and I will be sure to pass along your compliments to them.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drexel Hill
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My family recently stayed at the Hawthorne Hotel and must say it was just wonderful. The people at the front desk were very helpful, the room was spotless and loves the lobby area with coffee and the newspaper in the morning. We received a call from the lobby that our lights were left on and thank the staff for informing us. Location was perfect too and the best hotel to stay in Salem!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear T G,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. We pride ourselves on offering true hospitality to our guests, and love to hear when our employees are doing just that. It’s great to know you found our front desk clerks to be welcoming and helpful during your visit. I’m especially pleased to know we saved you some hassle when we discovered you had left your car lights on!

We are very lucky to be centrally located in downtown Salem, just a short walk from the city’s many great attractions. As it seems you stayed with us in August, I hope you had a chance to visit the Peabody Essex Museum’s wonderful Faberge exhibit while it was here.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
3.0 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Property: Hawthorne Hotel
Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing