We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

When you walk into this hotel you feel the feeling of Salem. When I went tot the counter to check in the staff were overly friendly making you feel a little out of place. Our room was not ready yet so we went into the tavern on the green the bar in the hotel. We had so much fun and the bar tender AJ was really great. He made us feel welcomed and we did not have to wait for our drinks I can not say the same for the hotel.m our room was nice but the air conditioner I'd not cool the room down so we were hot the entire evening. When we were waiting on our friends in the lobby I went to the front desk to get the wifi code the staff were having a meeting right there and I was asked to give them a few minutes but gem look on my face made the stop and ask what they could do for me. If you need to have a meeting you should go in the back and leave a staff member to assist YOUR paying guests . When we checked out I stated he the air did not cool and stated that our stay was not what I expected the front desk just nodded and did not want to know why. I would not stay here again it was over priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Paula M:
Thank you so much for writing to us. We are so sorry that you were not happy with the temperature of your room during your stay, and that you had problems with the front desk in trying to get the Wi-Fi code upon your arrival. We clearly understand that our customers come first.

We did have a complete failure of our computer systems on the afternoon you arrived, and in fact when you came to the desk we had just discovered that we would have to operate the hotel without computers, for up to a week at best, and we were trying to figure out what to do. That clearly was not your problem, but we want to be honest with you and tell you that is not the way we usually take care of our guests – we were in near-panic mode at that time, and we were just trying to figure out what to do to keep the hotel “afloat” as it were.

We will be contacting you directly to make amends for the issues you encountered. In the meantime, please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to deliver the ultimate in comfort and hospitality which we usually are able to provide. We feel miserable at having let you down.

On a positive note, we are so happy to see that AJ made you feel welcomed in the Tavern, and that you at least enjoyed that part of our hospitality. Luckily the restaurant computers were unaffected, so it was business as usual there. We were grateful for that one saving grace.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,258
    450
    117
    34
    44
See reviews for
519
715
98
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I have lived in Salem for over 40 years. I now live a stone's throw away from the Hawthorne. Yes, the location couldn't be better for tourists. Until they built the waterfront hotel by Pickering Wharf, this was the only large hotel in Salem for many many years. During halloween, this hotel sees hundreds of thousands visitors due to the festivities in the city, especially the costume ball they have at this hotel. They also do a few other events related to halloween, one of which is what they call a "psychic-medium" show. which I attended. It was held way down in the basement area of the hotel in a very small and overcrowded room. The advertisemen said it was a "world re-known medium." I was witha group of women, all of which thought it would, at least, be entertaining. The host of the performance stood in front of us, in a stand-up comedian-style performance, and laughed at the brown water dripping directly on him from the leaking celieng above him. Apparently, this was his way of trying to explain to us that this was all part of the "performance." The "medium" tried to perform a few of his so called "magic tricks", all of which did not work, and he quickly kept moving on. It was dreadful. He had no entertainment value of any kind, as his demeanor was unsociable and tried to purvey his personality as "worldly mysterious", None of his tricks were working and this was obviously making him embarrassed and angry. At the end, the lights went out for about 45 seconds. When they came back, he was standing on the other end of the room, saying he will now answer some of the questions that people wrote on a piece of paper and put in a glass bowl, which was directly behind him. We, apparently, are not supposed to be quick enough to figure that one out. What I don't get is, how can a hotel of such history even think of having such an awful performance? Why did they advertise this as a "world re-known" entertainer? It was an expensive event, way over crowded, in a room that needed extensive repairs, and the whole thing just wreaked disaster.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Chris D:

We are usually very grateful for guests who take the time to write TripAdvisor reviews. Unfortunately in the case of this review, we are not, and we want you and others who might read this review and response to know the reasons why.

This review is entirely based on your experience in attending an event held by an outside third party who rented one of our function rooms. At no time did the Hawthorne Hotel represent itself as having sponsored or hosted this event. This was purely a rental of a function room.
The quality of an event held in the Hawthorne Hotel should not reflect upon the hotel if the only thing we are doing is engaging in a financial transaction with the renter. That was the case here.

The quantity of tickets the renter sells (and therefore how “crowded” the room might seem), as long as the posted occupancy is not exceeded, is up to the renter. That was the case with this event, so to criticize the Hawthorne Hotel for the room being overcrowded is unfair and irrelevant.

How the entertainer advertises him or herself is not up to us, and therefore criticizing the Hawthorne Hotel for the level of hyperbole in this advertisement is also unfair. This was not our event.

The kind of entertainment the renter provides is up to that entertainer – we did not hire this entertainer, and therefore criticizing the Hawthorne Hotel for the quality of his entertainment is unfair to us.

The one thing you can fairly criticize the hotel for is the leak which we encountered. Clearly plumbing in an old building can fail, and that was what happened – the drain line in the bar above this function room had a leak. But writing such a horrible review overall for one plumbing incident is also unfair.

We believe that after reading what the true facts are in this review that you will consider directing your ire about an event that took place over 8 months ago in another direction – that is toward the entertainer who booked, advertised, and put on this entertainment, and not at the good team members who work so hard to provide excellent hospitality and a nice place for our guests to stay.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel. Just being in a hotel with such history was great. The staff was very professional and accommodating. Our room was available early which was a big plus. We stayed in a derby room, which was perfect as it had 2 bathrooms. The rooms tend to be smaller, so keep that in mind when picking a room size. Beds were very comfortable and the pillows were awesome. We also ate in the tavern both nights and it was very relaxing with great food. Everything is in walking distance from this hotel, we did not get into our car until it was time to leave. You won't be disappointed if you stay here, it will be the highlight of your trip.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank wannago30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear wannago30,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciated the Hawthorne’s charm and historic atmosphere. As you mentioned, our rooms do differ from those of a modern chain hotel, and this is excellent to note for those who may not have stayed with us before. Descriptions of each of our thirteen room types, including approximate square footage, can be found on our website. The Derby Suite is one of our favorite room types for the very reason you mentioned—some of these rooms come with two bathrooms or a bath and a half-bath, which is always a plus when traveling with your family!

We are very lucky to be ideally located in historic Salem, allowing our guests to park their car and walk to any of the city’s many wonderful attractions. I’m pleased you seem to have taken advantage of this during your visit.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Everything was just right. Andy and Ian at the front desk were personable, professional and attentive. There was a slight mix up with our check in and Andy fixed it immediately and upgraded our room for the very small inconvenience. Cody and Jonathan in the dining rooms were just great. The entire staff was friendly and professional. Room service was prompt and friendly (cant remember his or her name). It was a birthday vacation for my 10 year old daughter and so there were many special deliveries and well-wishes coming in and they were all handled with great care by the staff. The room was neat and clean. Was a very homey place at the same time as being run professionally. Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morethanthat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear morethanthat63,

Happy birthday to your daughter! We love to hear from our guests that they felt so welcome and at home in our Hotel, and there are few compliments that we can think of that would surpass your daughter’s desire to spend her birthday with us, let alone to live here! I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and that Andy was able to correct the small issue you had when checking in. I will be certain to pass along your compliments to him and to the rest of our team.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I can't express enough how much we enjoyed our stay here, and so did my nine pound morkie Jack! He ordered twice off the doggie room-service menu. Also, the hotel is located right next to a beautiful park. So needless to say he was happy about that as well. The staff at the Hawthorne all very friendly and professional. The general manager came and introduced herself to us while we were eating breakfast in one of the hotel's two on site restaurants. We discovered that we had the same breed of dog, and she later took a pic of me and my little guy and posted it to the hotel's Facebook page.

Aside, from being extremely pet friendly and cheerful hosts I would recommend the Hawthorne for other conveniences as well. The location is perfect for walking to anywhere in the city. The rooms are very spacious. We had two double beds and a couch with two chairs in our room. It was kind of like a little studio. Also, they have free coffee and lemonade for the guests all day long which was nice after being out walking around in the July sun. Free Wi-Fi and free parking!

Also, they have a very generous military/government discount. Make sure to ask!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_J0hns0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Ms_J0hns0n,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. It was such a pleasure to meet you and Jack. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you took advantage of the beautiful Salem Common located next to the Hotel.

As you mentioned, the Hawthorne is one of the few pet-friendly accommodations in the North Shore area. We were even named Fido’s Favorite by BringFido.com because our VIPs (Very Important Pets!) are treated with the same friendliness as any human guest would expect from the Hawthorne.

We hope to welcome you and Jack back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our company hosted an international symposium at the Hawthorne hotel in Salem during mid-July. The hotel is conveniently located for anyone who is flying into Boston which was an important consideration for us as we had scientists and professors from different parts of Europe and US attending the event. I am so impressed with the ambience, people, food and arrangements that I am short of superlatives to describe the experience. The hotel staff meticulously planned every aspect of the event based on our requirements and was also kind enough to accommodate our last minute changes. I would definitely go back to them for our next meeting and strongly recommend the venue to anyone who is looking for an affordable but high quality venue around Boston.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBC045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear SBC045,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. As I’m sure you can imagine, we host a number of events, both big and small, throughout the Hotel. Whether we are helping to arrange a meeting, a conference, or a dinner, our team enjoys their role in making the event run as smoothly as possible -- from the time of inquiry until our guests go home. I’m pleased that you found this to be true and will pass along your compliments to our excellent Catering and Banquets departments.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed two nights here while house hunting for our own move to the North shore. Hotel is in the heart of the historic downtown. Hotel is very clean for a historic hotel. Do keep in mind because it is a older hotel the rooms tend to be smaller but come with all the amenities you would expect.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Chris K,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I hope that your house hunting proved successful.

As you noted, the Hawthorne is one of the Historic Hotels of America. For this reason, our rooms differ from those of a standard chain hotel in that we offer thirteen different room types of varying sizes and styles. Each one is individually furnished and well-kept by our excellent Housekeeping team to ensure our guests feel comfortable and welcomed during their stay with us. Though we take pride in our historic atmosphere, we are also aware of the modern needs of our guests and, as you mentioned, offer excellent amenities such as true high-def flat-panel televisions, smartphone docking stations, complimentary Wi-Fi and much, much more.

We hope to welcome you back again for a stay or, should you find yourselves our neighbors soon, for a bite to eat in one of our great restaurants!

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
3.0 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Property: Hawthorne Hotel
Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing