We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect central location.”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the Hawthorne on the night of 21st July 2014.

Our room was well appointed, comfortable and we slept very well. The restaurant served us a delightful dinner and the waitress could not have been more charming. After this, we enjoyed a glass of port from the bar in the main lounge area, a perfect end to the day in excellent surroundings. The hotel is situated in the middle of Salem, and we took advantage of the museum offers.

On arrival, we went to the reception to book in, and the process took way too long. The receptionist, one of two constantly answered the ‘phone interrupting the process many times, to the point of being insulting. I have no doubt that she was acting to instruction, but the reception does set the tone for a stay in a hotel, and logically is the first direct point of contact. Earlier, we had arrived too early to have our rooms, and that was perfectly understandable, but the young man on reception also incessantly answered the ‘phone and also seemed to have to ask his female colleague for constant advice. We all have to learn, but it was frustrating having driven a long way to be dealt with less than efficiently. As a visitor to the United States I did exercise restraint in a way I certainly would not, had this been a British hotel.

Maybe, we arrived at reception at a bad time (both times?) and our experience is not typical, but it did take the shine off our stay in the Hawthorne. Checking out, I’m delighted to say was trouble free with no delays.

I would return here, but would not look forward to booking in.

Room Tip: Contact direct and ask about the museum packages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rod_B552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, Front Office Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Rod_B552,

Thank you for your review of the Historic Hawthorne Hotel. I am happy to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and that you enjoyed the prime location of the hotel. I am also pleased to know that you enjoyed your experience in our fine dining restaurant Nathaniel’s, as well as your after dinner drink in our Tavern on the Green. We take pride in providing excellent service in both of these restaurants, and I am happy that you were able to experience this during your stay.

I apologize about the difficulties you encountered upon checking in to the hotel. This is certainly not typical; however it seems that you did catch us on a day when we were training some newer staff members. I can understand your frustration with the prolonged process and the interruptions related to phone calls. Since the date that you stayed, we have adjusted our staffing patterns to include an additional “reservation clerk” who can handle phone calls during our check-in hours. This change, along with the continued growth of our newer staff members, will certainly expedite the process for you on future stays.

I thank you for your patience with our front desk team throughout the process, and would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade to your guest room upon your next visit, based of course on our availability in the hotel. You may contact me directly by email at aseidel@hawthornehotel.com or by phone at (978) 825-4322 to make the arrangements for this upgrade. Simply reference this response to your review and I will be glad to assist you.

Sincerely,

Andy Seidel
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

858 - 864 of 2,013 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We wanted a hotel with great location, which this hotel has. Rooms were very nicely appointed, beds quite comfortable, and the best part, each of the two rooms had two separate bathrooms, which made for great comfort.
Price to value was very good, food at Nathaniel's was pleasant and service polite and expeditious. The tavern was great for a late night supper and drinks with our traveling partners.
The hotel contributed a lot to make our Salem experience memorable.

Room Tip: Book the Deluxe D2NS room that has the two bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GusRipol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear GusRipol:

Wow, what a nice review! You certainly experienced a perfect stay.

You are correct in your assessment of the Derby Rooms that have two baths or a 1-1/2 baths as being the most convenient rooms for families and friends traveling together. It makes getting ready so much easier.

Thank you for your kind comments about our two restaurants as well. We especially appreciate the fact that you took the time to also write separate reviews on each of these restaurants review sites as well, since guests just looking for a place to eat may not necessarily go to the Hawthorne Hotel listings.

Thank you again for taking the time to write and let us know what pleased you about a stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have been to the Hawthorne Hotel on three separate visits since 2010 specifically to attend a conference. The detailed attention to quality service for each guest is superior.

Its location is also a huge benefit & being right next to the park provides a versatility of fun.

Be sure to check the local paper for weekend events. Many events are ongoing & fun to find on the spur of the moment.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Deb D:

The highest compliment one can pay to any business is to return to patronize that business again. Since you have been to stay with us on three differing occasions, you certainly know what you are talking about when you write this kind of review. We are so grateful, both for your loyalty and your kind words right here.

You are certainly correct in that we place a high “attention to detail” factor in everything we do, so we are especially glad to have you notice our successes.

Last but not least, you are also “spot-on” when you point out to future travelers the fact that there are so many things to do in Salem. In addition to the local newspapers for this source of information, we are always putting this kind of post on our Hawthorne Hotel FaceBook page so our guests have an easy way of learning about what is going on.

Thank you so much for writing.

Best wishes,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night but I wish we stayed longer! The staff is very friendly and helpful. You can't beat the location. Walkable to anywhere you'd want to go in Salem. It's a beautiful, historic hotel. You feel like you are taken back in time. The room was spacious and very clean. The bathrooms are clean and updated. There's room service available and free bottled water. Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harik1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Harik1977:

We find this over and over again – guests coming to Salem for just one night, and then realizing how much there is to do and see in Salem and the surrounding area. This location is not only convenient for walking to virtually all there is to see and do in our fair city, but it also makes a great “spoke and hub” location for those guests wanting to see Rockport, Newburyport, Gloucester, Danvers, Saugus, Concord, Lexington, and many other places on the North Shore.

Thank you so much for your kind comments about our hotel’s cleanliness and free amenities. We also find this is a theme of these reviews – that we offer so much to our guests, which makes staying here a great value.

As you can’t wait to return, we also cannot wait to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

As a historic site, the rooms and bathrooms quite small, but liveable. Soaps and shampoo are high quality. There are only two, old school (read: small) elevators and walking into the lobby is like stepping back in time. All of the staff was pleasant and attentive.

You can't beat the location in the center of the historic area, walking distance to everything; parking is right behind the hotel.

We'll stay here again should our path take us back to Salem.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Steve H:

It is so kind of you to write a review here to share your experience with other travelers. We are especially pleased that you would stay with us again, and that you noted how pleasant and attentive our team members are.

You are certainly correct in noting the convenience of our location, as well as the guaranteed complimentary parking that we offer to all our overnight guests.

With 13 different room types within the Hawthorne Hotel property, we have many differing room sizes. If the size of the room needs to be on the larger size, we have those, and the key is to either review the square footage on our on-line hotel reservations site, or to discuss room size when you call the hotel to reserve.

Thank you so much for writing. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again soon.

Kind regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I loved this hotel. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. The room was a little small, but it was tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. The bathroom was gorgeous! Thank you so much-- my stay here was perfect.

Room Tip: My room was a little small, so if you prefer, or need, space, I would ask for a larger, standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear SuzanneSF,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found your room to be welcoming. Because we operate a historic hotel our room sizes do vary from those of a contemporary chain hotel, but we feel we make up for that in our unique charm and atmosphere. Some of our rooms even have two bathrooms or one full bathroom and a half-bathroom.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Old hotel charm, staff friendly, tavern restaurant good. Rooms leave a lot to be desired, ours was so small we couldn't even unpack without bumping into one another.
Walking distance to cool places in Salem.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newmaninseinfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear newmaninseinfeld,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m glad that you enjoyed the charm of our Hotel and our friendly staff.

Because we are a historic hotel, our rooms vary from the standard rooms you would find in a contemporary chain hotel. As opposed to two or three different room types, we offer thirteen different room types, all varying in size and style. Should you stay with us again, please feel free to explain your needs to our Front Desk team and they will find you a room that best suits you. Our website is also an excellent resource as it offers descriptions of each room type, including approximate square footage. We even include the square footage in our confirmation letters when you make your reservations directly with the hotel, whether by phone on our own website.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
0.4 mi away
The Salem Inn
The Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: £114 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing