We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Classic Hotel”
Review of Hawthorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This heritage hotel has an older charm, we had a nicely appointed room, good amenities, and we tried their convenient on-site restaurants for lunch and breakfast. On site parking available. Easy walking distance to many shops and restaurants and beautiful park across the road. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JJTravels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear JJTravels2014:

While your review might be succinct, you really cover all the pertinent facts to describe a visit to the historic Hawthorne Hotel. Thank you so much for your lovely words, and for taking the time to create this review. We sincerely appreciate it.

I would love to visit with you to learn what it was about our “service” that did not merit full marks since you gave us just 3 stars out of a possible 5 stars. If you have a few moments to drop me an email at info@hawthornehotel.com or call me at 978-744-4080 I would appreciate it. Since there was no mention in your narrative of what we could do to improve in that area, and since we generally receive really high accolades about our personalized service, and since we are always working to do better by listening to our guests, we are very curious.

Thank you in advance,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

849 - 855 of 2,038 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife and I had our wedding reception/party at the Hawthorne and stayed the night in a two-room suite. The hotel has a lot of historic charm, the service was great and the room was very comfortable. Had dinner at the Tavern and breakfast the next morning at Sofia's. Food was excellent. Would definitely recommend the Hawthorne to anyone visiting Salem.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Dave N,

Congratulations to you and your wife! I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that your reception was everything you had hoped for. Our Banquets team takes pride in their part in making a special day that much more so.

I’m glad that you also enjoyed dining with us and will be certain to pass along your compliments to our Chef.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Our family spent a night in room 626. Got a quiet peaceful night of sleep. The room itself was a very nice size. The bathrooms and elevators will seem small too many visitors, but this is an older that appears to have been well maintained. The hotel staff was very friendly. The hotel is within walking distance of all attractions in Salem.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJ1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear RJ1710,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciated the Hawthorne’s history. As you noted, we do our best to maintain our charming atmosphere while still providing a high-quality environment that accommodates the modern needs of our guests.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

EVERYONE at this hotel was happy friendly and very helpful and knowledgeable about the city and surrounding towns. I would definitely stay here again. Room was cozy and very comfortable. The lobby was warm and inviting. Coffee and water available ALL day. Did not eat at any of the restaurants.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Mmannke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Mmannke,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff was accommodating and helpful as you planned your time in Salem. There is so much to do around town and in the North Shore area—I hope you had a lovely time!

In addition to complimentary coffee available in our Lobby in the mornings or from our restaurants throughout the day, we also offer complimentary lemonade in the summertime and delicious cider in the fall and winter—just a couple of little touches we know our guests love.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I stayed at the Hawthorne for my brother's wedding in February, 2013 (Sorry, TripAdvisor doesn't allow me to go back that far).

It was the first time in a very long time that I stayed in a hotel in MA. The hotel is right down the street from the Salem Witch Museum, and is walking distance from shops, restaurants, House of the Seven Gables, and many other historic landmarks.

The staff at the Hawthorne are amazing. They really go out of their way for their guests. Now, I admit the room I had for the wedding was probably not the "standard" room, but it was AMAZING. I had a huge room with a dining table and everything.

The lobby of the hotel is very well done. I loved the vintage decor (which is probably all original).

I would love to stay at the Hawthorne again one day.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DannyA3579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear DannyA3579,

Thank you for your review of the Hawthorne Hotel. I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that your brother’s wedding was just as wonderful. As a historic hotel, we take pride in our unique atmosphere, and so I’m glad that this added to the enjoyment of your visit.

As you mentioned, the Hawthorne is ideally located in downtown Salem, placing us within walking distance of the city’s many excellent museums, shops, and other attractions. I hope you had some time to enjoy the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Location, Ambiance, Historical Value, Cleanliness, Quality, Charm, Value, Elegance, Amenities, Comfort ... CHECK! And above & beyond this hotel excels in it's HOSPITALITY! I've travelled the world over (several times!) & have stayed in hotels too numerous to count--NOwhere have I enjoyed the courtesy, integrity and genuine warmth that my wife and I received at the Hawthorne. Mia at the front desk was SO helpful in guiding us around town and suggesting how best to experience Salem. The wait staff at the two WONDERFUL restaurants on site (especially Jasmine, Helen & Beau) made us feel at home and the food was the best we found in all of Salem. Even the general manager visited our table to ensure we were enjoying the best the hotel had to offer! UNheard of in the hotel biz! We will DEFINITELY come back to the Hawthorne and we'll find something to do in Salem while we're there ... our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: My wife is handicapped and the hotel was more than accommodating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Gary R,

We are just overwhelmed by your wonderful review! I’m so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our team members made such a strong impression. We take great care to choose staff who we know share our belief that we are not in the hotel business but in the hospitality business. I will be certain to share your compliments with Mia, Jasmina, Helen, Beau, and the rest of our team.

It was delightful to meet you, and I appreciate your recognizing that not every hotel general manager does take the time to truly get to know the guests. I enjoy doing that immensely, as I learn so much about how we are doing as a team.

Thank you again for sharing your lovely compliments for our Hotel, our two restaurants, and our excellent staff. We hope to welcome your and your wife back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed 1 night in a suite. The hotel is charming and elegant. The suite had a bedroom and separate living room with pullout couch. There were nice flat screen tv's in both rooms. room service nachos were awesome! The bathroom has a door into the bedroom and a door into the foyer. The windows are very large and look out onto Essex St. The fridge was a good size. No mini bar. High quality bath products. The key access is using RFID technology, so you just wave your key card in front of it, which is super convenient. The room temp was fine, it's a central heating and cooling system and they provide instructions if you need to adjust it. They allowed us to bring our dog, which was wonderful. The only negative was it looked like the curtain in the bedroom window had some dark spots on it on one side, but everything else was so beautifully decorated it didn't matter. Free lobby coffee was nice.

Room Tip: Room 612 is on the top floor corner with a view down Essex St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GreenFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Hawthorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear GreenFoody:

Wow, thank you so much for the excellent review. We do sincerely appreciate your taking the time to write in such detail, as these kinds of reviews are so helpful to future travelers.

Thank you especially for providing enough detail that we can look at the one small negative that you notes, and endeavor to correct it.

We will be sure to share your kind comments with the rest of the team here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmly,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
13 reviews
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
5.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 9 in Danvers
56 reviews
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Hotel

Address: 18 Washington Sq, On Salem Common, Salem, MA 01970-4056
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: £96 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Salem, Massachusetts hotel provides 93 rooms including 6 suites all individually furnished and tastefully appointed; ideal for business and leisure travelers to the Salem or Boston area. All of our rooms come standard with hand-crafted Gartner Mattress© beds, Hypo-allergenic Beyond Down pillows, all natural and organic Pharmacopia Bath products and CubieTime alarm clock with USB power outlets. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking; complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel; complimentary lobby coffee and free use of the local YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing