We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 4th of July weekend!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stephen Daniels House
Ranked #8 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My 4th of July weekend!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Once again, I stayed at the Stephen Daniels Inn. I was welcomed back by Kay and Robin. I stayed from July 3rd through July 7th. Kay and Robin are the best. I enjoyed having breakfast in the morning wtih them. I love listening to Kays stories, and looking at all the antiques all throughout the house. On Sunday morning, I enjoyed breakfast with a couple from Maryland. Kay, Robin, the couple and I ended talking for 3 hours. I'm moving up to Salem shortly, but, won't forget to stop by and visit my new friends Kay & Robin. Go and enjoy the experience!!

Room Tip: leave it up to Kay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    21
    11
    7
    11
See reviews for
21
63
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you are going to Salem, this is the place to stay!! My brother and I stayed here for a night(May 24th-May 25th) and it was a trip we will never forget. We were greeted by the wonderful Kay, she was so friendly and sooooo funny! She gave us a short tour, and the best word to describe the house is...STUNNING. It is so rich with history and antiques. She and her assistant Robin made us feel 100% at home. Breakfast was great, with the fireplace going, Robin made us fresh baked muffins and fresh fruit! Such a perfect start to our morning, we didn't want to leave! Everything was so clean and comfortable. And it is located in the perfect spot, walking distance to everything!! It seriously doesn't get any better than the Daniels House!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bfriedersdorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Stephen Daniels House is as close as one can get to spending the night in the House of Seven Gables. The charming mid-1600's home has HUGE fireplaces, comfy four poster beds, colonial furnishings, yummy yummy yummy muffins, and a staircase that is all but secret! We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, and we made good use of our personal fireplace, relaxing with wine, antique puzzles, and a good book. The B&B is located just steps from the House of Seven Gables and many other historical attractions in Salem. We particularly enjoyed exploring the port area's museums, shops, and delicious restaurants. Once we arrived, we did not have to drive at all. For the adventurous traveler who wishes to experience history first hand, this is the place to stay. Thankfully, it is not just another national-hotel-chain experience. Staying at the Stephen Daniels House is exciting, enchanting, unique, and exquisite.

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelIsMyLifeNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Kay Gill and Gal Robin delivered a wonderful experience to me and my wife and dear Sister and Brother-In-Law John on our Thanksgiving Holiday in Salem. Kay offered a beautiful view of life in Salem and welcomed us into her Historical Home. Her Stories added a special bonus to our stay with her. And just a word about Robin. She could package and sell those muffins that she custom made each morning. We enjoyed our cozy suite of rooms and warm fireplace that warmed our morning and evening conversations.
When next we return to Salem we will return to this wonderful taste of Early America. Don't stay here if you are looking a cushy Marriott setting, for the money this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Look on the Website. The rooms are what they are. Warm, Cozy and full of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Bluff, Arkansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Bed was very uncomfortable, stairs were too steep for elderly people, and when we got up the next morning, there was no one around, and no breakfast. We left and walked around town, had some breakfast, and came back, and told them we had decided not to stay another night because of the steep steps and they were decidedly less friendly, and she tacked an extra $100 to our rate. It definitely was not worth $300 for one night, and nothing like we expected. Will not be going back there. Our first bed and breakfast experience was not a nice one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin m, Manager at Stephen Daniels House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
I am really sorry you feel they way you do, I thought we were quite accommodating the way I recall, usually we charge full price when someone cancels without notice on a weekend in October, the busiest time of year for us. I got you a deal and Kay only charged you half price. We serve a beautiful delicious breakfast at 9:00 a.m. sharp with a warm and cozy fire, I saw you at 8:00 a.m. and asked you if you wanted breakfast then and you declined. As far as the stairs are concerned they are up to code, they are like any other ordinary pair of stairs, there are three sets of stairs so if you didn't like one you could of chose another. If you have never stayed at a B & B and you are new to the experience, what are you basing your review on?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My daughter and her two friends just checked out of this inn and were asked to pay double the quoted price. $425.- per night instead of for the two-night stay. It's a good thing my daughter stood her ground and only paid the promised rate. I called the inn asking what the room rates were and was told that that particular room was $165.- per night plus tax. Thank God she didn't pay the $850!!!!! that was asked for upon check-out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paradores102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are on a road trip through New England and as usual we just turned up on spec with no pre-bookings in Salem. Every inn we asked are fully booked and luckily stumbled across this characterful abode. We were greeted by its hospitable owner Kay Gills who gave us a brief history of the house which is full of antiques in keeping with the age and style of the property. The house manager Robin prepared a wonderful breakfast and gave us even more detail of the house. Overall an excellent stay and well recommended to anyone who would like to sleep in history. We will surely be back again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,932 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
0.2 mi away
Stepping Stone Inn
Stepping Stone Inn
#4 of 9 in Salem
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Salem Inn
The Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stephen Daniels House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stephen Daniels House

Property: Stephen Daniels House
Address: 1 Daniels St, Salem, MA 01970-5214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home was converted to a restaurant and inn in 1945 by the Hallers. Current owner Catherine Gill, affectionately known as Kay, purchased the inn in 1962 and has proudly served as innkeeper and caretaker during 49 years . Making us Salem's oldest running Bed&Breakfast! Upon entering the home one is immediately enthralled by the sheer number of antiques and collectibles that cover most every conceivable nook and cranny. Antique pottery next to historic English puppets, laced with cross-stitch art works, majestic portraits, antique toys and so much more. A life time of Kay's world travels and collecting. It is an eclectic feast for the senses. The home itself is a living museum where guests can take a step back in time as they touch and see, feel and explore and get a true sense of the history and romance that abounds throughout the entire home. Our goal is focused on providing you with an enjoyable and memorable experience and not merely a comfortable place to relax and rest your head. We may not be Salem's most modern inn but we are the most unique! Our suites are furnished with period four poster canopy beds and decorated with genuine antiques. There are no velvet ropes here! If history and ambiance is what you seek than the Daniels House is the place to stay. Come and meet your hosts Kay Gill and Robin McDonald. Enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast of fresh baked muffins, juice, cereals, coffee, teas and pleasant conversation. Child and pet friendly. Thank you for visiting and hope to meet you at the Inn.Owner and operator for over 49 years Kay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stephen Daniels House Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing