We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Stepping Stone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stepping Stone Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My family and I planned this trip to Salem on the fly. Matt and Kelly were more than welcoming. The Inn is warm and cozy. We stayed in the Big Sur room, which was big and had enough room for all of us. The Inn is close to everything and didn't have to drive anywhere. Hope I return and stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Jbouch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay! It's warm cozy and very comfortable! .. The owners are great people who make you feel warm and welcome .. True Salem charm! The inn was built in the build 1846 ! Must come to stay ! They do have two cats so if you don't like them, then it's not for you .. They are very friendly animals !

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Relatively no-frills room, but clean with en suite. Very convenient to all Salem attractions. Lovely sitting room with helpful Salem information. Breakfast was good with many options. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seacoasttchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were lucky to find a vacancy here late afternoon. Our host was very helpful re parking, sightseeing etc. Bathroom was not ensuite. Next door to Witch Museum, a bit noisy. Breakfast was good. We felt the building needed an extensive spruce up.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pwayland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbrick111, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

thank you for the review and want to wish you a happy new year an a healthy new year. we are going to do ljust that and as you would say fresh up the Inn. I work to please all my guests and will continue to do just that, Have a good day and safe traveks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very nice and personable. We had to miss breakfast the second morning because we needed to be on the road by 6 am. , so he packed us nut bread,bananas, and cheese to eat on the road.He was also interesting to talk to.great visit.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the top floor. Stairs are steep and narrow. Other than that the room was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbrick111, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

I just wanted to say thank you for taking the time to write your experience in Salem and lyou brief stay with me at the stepping stone inn. Your right the stairs are steep and it comes with these old historic homes in Salem. It was a good heads up for other travels who may not like going lup the stairs. Have a wonderful holiday weekend and next time will put you on the 2nd floor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

If you're going to party with the Witches in Salem, MA, you MUST stay at the Stepping Stone Inn.
The Inn is situated in the perfect location in the downtown historic district where the Halloween events take place. EVERYTHING is in walking distance. NO PLACE is too far to walk from the Inn. I Couldn't ask for a better place to stay. I've stayed there MANY times since 1995. I WILL return again for Halloween!!!

Rooms and bathrooms are CLEAN and cozy.
John Brick, the proprietor, is kind, helpful and quite accomodating. He even helped me get dressed for Halloween night and took pictures of my costume for me!

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FlyingWitch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbrick111, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Sean as always your costumes are the best and shows all the work & effort you put in to halloween and I always look forward to seeing you and really say thank lyou for staying with me thank you for taking the time to share lyour stay here and I can hardly wait to see you again soon May you have a great Holiday weekend and happy new year thanks again John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at the Stepping Stone Inn last week, through Halloween. The Inn was great! It was within walking distance to everything. John, the inn keeper gave us passes to the Witch Museum right next door..which we really enjoyed.

We stayed in the attic room which was very spacious with two queen size beds and a sitting room with great skylight. John was a very helpful and pleasant host..he even helped us carry our bags up to the third floor.

This B&B is very clean and centrally located. I highly recommend it.

Doris

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbrick111, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

thank you so m uch for taking the time to write your Halloween experience and all the tings you got to do while here I thank you for your review and It was a pleasure to have you here and I hopefully I will see y ou again some time in the future. Have a good winter & good health thanks again John Stepping Stone Inn another season over time flyes by quickly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,013 reviews
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
1.0 mi away
Coach House Inn
Coach House Inn
#7 of 9 in Salem
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stepping Stone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stepping Stone Inn

Address: 19 Washington Square North, Salem, MA 01970
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range: £139 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stepping Stone Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having the very best location in Salem, the Stepping Stone Inn boasts six beautiful and newly-renovated guest rooms, each with private bath, iPhone charging alarm clocks, free wifi, free parking, fresh flowers and tasteful decor. We are right next door to the Salem Witch Museum and across the street from the Salem Common and the Hawthorne Hotel. Ditch the car and walk absolutely everywhere! Under brand new ownership, the Stepping Stone Inn warmly invites you to enjoy the spacious parlor and the cozy dining room with free 24-hour gourmet coffee, tea and hot chocolate service, which is the perfect ending to your lovely evening out in charming, historic Salem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Stepping Stone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing