We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude”

Winter Island Park Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Winter Island Park Campground
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The girls in the main office were the rudest girls I've ever had to deal with. They did not care about customer service. In the entrance we asked the girl if we could check out the location she said yes. As honest people we offered to pay and she said she would take it and if we decided to leave she would refund us. After only 45mins of exploring the grounds, we decided it was an average location for camping but not for beach, which is what we where there for, so went towards the exit asking for our refund back since we were not staying and she said no even though that was our agreement, she said we'd been there over an hour,so we went to the main office to complain but she had already paged the manager telling another story. They refused to refund us, which made me so angry because she had lied and didnt not respect what we had agreed. I wouldnt recommend this location, because if $15 is worth more then customer service, they shoudnt deserve any business.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mchle0ram925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed from Fri-Sun on the grassy portion of campground. It's exactly what we thought it would be..parked the trailer and slept there. Since the trolley cost $15 per person ($60 for us) for the day, we decided to drive into Salem. We lucked out and was able to park in a permit only parking lot, got a ticket for $25 and called it a day. We did walk around the grounds and it does have nice views, bathrooms were clean and dumping station was at the sewer plant next door. I wouldn't recommend the parking lot, very noisy and lots of activity going on. Although the woman running the front gate was very helpful and friendly, the marine store was horrible. The girl at the desk was the most rude and unfriendly person there. She was more involved with her Iphone than customer service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ftjk04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The best reason to stay here in your RV is that it is relatively easy to travel into Boston from this location. We took a taxi from the RV park to the commuter rail station and then traveled by train to the North Station in Boston where we could then get on the Boston subway system.

RV sites are located in both a marina side parking lot and a field out of sight of the marina. There is only one bathroom facility and it was not particularly clean nor well equipped with hooks, benches, etc.

In addition one of the young women, who appeared to have seniority, in the park office was very unfriendly. Her subordinate was much more helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank astrobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We were indeed on water front as we had been told but on a parking lot, crowded and very noise at all times (since there is a factiry close to it). Sites very close to one another. Showers .
No dumping site.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

This recreational spot at first appears to be a parking lot. When you settle down in your RV however, the view of the bay, water and boats is spectacular. Now there is the old power plant that spoils the scenery, but the beach and general area is lovely. The staff are friendly and there is lots to do in Salem.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank trader99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This place was really different and we enjoyed it. We camped on the blacktop portion which actually was cool because we brought our 2 dogs and it was October and our feet didnt' get all wet. I usually have to put down tarps on the ground outside the camper door but I didn't have to do it there. Apparently, this place was an old little airport. and it's right on the water!! The water was beautiful and it was a delight to step out of the camper and see the ocean. The weather was cold in October with temp going down into the 30's so close to the ocean. The bathrooms haven't been updated but clean. It served it's purpose. I would stay there again for price and convenience. We brought our pop-up camper with us. We stayed in October, 2012 and will do it again in October, 2013.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadgo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

This is NOT a hotel.
It is a waterfront recreation park & campground.
I'm a Salem resident & I go all of the time.
Nice place to sit by the water & relax.
At the very far left end of Waikiki Beach away from the crying kids & noise.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
7  Thank adrienne666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
1.1 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,038 reviews
8.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Boston - Logan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
13 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clipper Ship Inn
Clipper Ship Inn
#9 of 9 in Salem
433 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coach House Inn
Coach House Inn
#7 of 9 in Salem
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Island Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Island Park Campground

Address: 50 Winter Island Rd, Salem, MA 01970-5767
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Salem
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing