We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soup's on!”

New England Soup Factory
Ranked #31 of 236 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
West Chester, PA
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Soup's on!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Good variety of soups you can even sample them before ordering. Also tried veggie sandwich that was delicious. Small place with lots to offer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank padingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    45
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
1,357 reviews
519 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 596 helpful votes
“Possibly the best clam chowder I’ve ever eaten”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

On the chilly October day when we had lunch at the New England Soup Factory we had been put into a foul mood by persistent rain, heavy traffic, and scarce parking. Thankfully, the wonderful soup we had there put us into a much better frame of mind. The counterman who waited on us was very friendly and helped us decide what to order. My clam chowder was absolutely delicious, perhaps the best I’ve ever had. This small establishment was absolutely packed, but the atmosphere was convivial. I’d eat there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Citallwic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great place for soups”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

On a cold winter's day, the Soup Factory is a blessing. They make their soups from scratch, and will allow you to sample the various flavors available each day. My favorite is the chicken vegetable (carrots and onion). They put noodles in to order, you tell the server when to stop adding the noodles. They also have a great clam and corn chowder. It's New England Style and very thick.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank idlewood4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best clam chowder... anywhere!!!!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

I'm from New Orleans and this place rocks!!!!! The best soup in region!!!! We also loved the chilli...wholly molly!!! The real deal here!!!
WHO DAT nation approved!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank miremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Stop”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

After taking in some of the museums in Salem we went looking for a place to have lunch. After looking at a few menus we saw the Soup Factory. It was hard to see the menu because of the condensation on the windows, but we saw enough to step inside. As soon as you walk in you know you made a good choice. Something for everyone. Even salads and some sandwiches. I had the Lobster Corn Chowder which was just AMAZING!!! My wife had the Chicken Vegetable with noodles. ( You can get it with or without ). The wait staff were very friendly and helpful. It seemed like a lot of the local people ate here for lunch. I would definitely recommend this place to take a break.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raxel7851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New England Soup Factory also viewed

 

Been to New England Soup Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing