We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This bore wouldn't frighten a 2 year old child”
Review of Nightmare Factory

Nightmare Factory
Ranked #14 of 41 Shopping in Salem
Attraction details
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This bore wouldn't frighten a 2 year old child”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We visited the Nightmare Factory on 10/29/12 and can honestly describe it as a TOTAL waste of time. If getting frightened is in your repertoire of fun things to do while in Salem (and mine is), then do not walk, but RUN away from this ridiculous not-scary bunch of nothing. It's located in a "mall" - but I'm not quite sure what kind of a mall it is since I saw no popular stores in it. The "factory" consisted of a darkened maze of nothing but people wearing dark/black clothes, most not even wearing a costume, who basically screamed at you when you walked through the maze. If anyone screamed back at the workers (perhaps out of fright, but I seriously doubt it), the workers (I cannot even call them "actors" as no costumes) would scream back at the person screaming. Talk about a joke! It was like a living nightmare walking through this garbage...and that was the only nightmare. In the future, I would not walk through this place for free and do not recommend it to anyone who desires to walk through a truly scary haunted factory.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    14
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must See Attraction”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Awesome attraction! Takes about 15 minutes to go through. Price is right ( do the grave hopper pass). Rivals a lot of larger haunted attractions I have been to.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty scary, worth the admission price.”
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

My 13 year old and his 16 year old sister and 9 year old friend went into the Nightmare Gallery. They enjoyed the attraction and found it scary and fun. Maybe a little heavy on the strobe lights and a little short (about 4 minutes). But, overall scary fun:)

Helpful?
4 Thank JulesDee1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nightmare Factory is #1”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We just spent the weekend haunting Salem....walked through a number of haunts - Nightmare Factory, Frankenstein's Laboratory & the Haunted Witch Village to name a few. There were 10 in our group and we all agreed that THE NIGHTMARE FACTORY located in the Museum Place Mall was THE BEST OF THE BUNCH. Frightful, creepy, intense, truly a good scare. Artistry and imagination combined with super special effects made this the scariest #1 haunt. I recommend it to everyone. Truly a MUST SEE.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good time!”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We were looking for something quick and fun to do while we awaited our scheduled evening tour. The kids (boys aged 10 and 7) were looking for a good scare, so we decided to check this out. It wasn't cheap (22 bucks for the 3 of us) and it only took about 5 minutes to walk through. However, it was pretty intense the whole time, so 5 minutes felt like it was enough time. We were constantly on our heels as we made our way through the dark maze . . . people and things seemed to be popping out at us at every turn! This made it very fun though, and overall, it was much better (and scarier) than other haunted houses I've been to. The kids absolutely loved it as well. It was just scary enough, but not overwhelming . . . there was lots of laughter and screams but no tears! The workers were friendly and good-natured . . . they never touch or grab you. Overall, it was a fun way to kill a little time. We all enjoyed ourselves.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank curleys_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nightmare Factory also viewed

 

Been to Nightmare Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing