We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food here”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Scratch Kitchen

Scratch Kitchen
Ranked #32 of 232 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New restaurant.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

It's all about the ingredients - delicious sandwiches, soups, sweets too. I carry out sandwiches from here regularly, as it is just down the street. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    86
    36
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
926 reviews
660 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Hearty meal on a gloomy day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Scratch Kitchen lives up to its reputation. Everything down to the ketchup is homemade or from a local source. The Maine Root sodas are excellent and had a grilled cheese with Vermont cheddar with their homemade bacon that was excellent and the perfect comfort food on a cold night. The fries are fresh and cooked to perfection. The dessert was a freshly baked bacon chocolate cookie that was a perfect end to the meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BEST LUNCH OF MY LIFE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My brother had lunch here before we made our trip back home...HOLY MOLY do they have good food. I got the "Vegetable Warm"...oh my goodness, do I recommend!! The best sandwich I've ever had. My only complaint would be that the service was subpar. They weren't very attentive, seemed to care more about hanging out with their friends in the kitchen. However the food made up for the lack of service in every way!! haha

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bfriedersdorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Food and drinks were great, although a little pricey. The place was quaint and inviting. The employees were very inviting and polite. Also, they carry so many pickles! Would return!

Helpful?
Thank SpontaneousUniq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springville, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Interesting Place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Everything here is organic or freshly made on site. We both enjoyed cheeseburgers, they were great sizes, and the menu was very diverse, had something for everyone.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Scratch Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing