We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cobble Stone Streets are a Step Back in Time”

Ranked #28 of 78 things to do in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cobble Stone Streets are a Step Back in Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

In the summer my friend Sherry and I took a flight to Boston MA and traveled about 12 miles or so up the road to Salem MA. It was beautiful. The place that we stayed was in walking distance to all of the site seeing adventures. We stayed 7 days and never had a boring moment. All the shops, the tours,the history of the town, the ghost nightly tours, the smell of the ocean and yes we even took a walk through the cemetary. This place is worth the vacation time to learn a little history and visit the many sites such as dead horse beach. The story behind the beach is sad, but interesting. And to learn about the underground tunnels.Did you know the Boston Strangler was walked underground in the tunnels from Boston and housed in the Salem jail? I also learned about that while in Salem.The houses are beautiful and many have the widows walk. Never knew about the widows walk until my visit to Salem. This trip was a lot of fun and if all works out I'll be back for the Halloween in Salem 2013.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate49002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    22
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great During October!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We visited the mall every day we were in Salem. The storefronts in the mall are not particularly exciting, but the street vendors out during the month of October are great! You also see lots of great costumes. This is a must if you happen to be in Salem near Halloween.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ScarlettO39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Love this street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Some of my favorite places are on the pedestrian mall... the Broom Closet, Omen, Crow Haven Corner, Rockefellas, Rita's...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenDeGennaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

I found it to be very interesting and fascinating. It was great to see all the displays and people in costume walking around.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank krich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Mountain
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Junk”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

This mall feels and looks old and dirty. The stores look like they are selling cheap junk but not at cheap prices. Everything is higher than it should be. I stood in line for 30 min. for the womens restrooms. Only 3 women at a time can use this restroom and it is the only restroom in the mall. Cheap looking t-shirts should be the theme of this mall with little else to offer. Don't waste your time,

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tallgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Essex Street Pedestrian Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing