We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location! Location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Location! Location! Location!”
Reviewed 30 May 2006

Thanks again, Bob for a glorious four night stay in the Sarah Good room at your beautiful B&B. What a terrific place to stay whether you plan to explore Salem and the area (Lexington and Concord), or you want to day trip to Boston to do the Freedom Trail.

PROS: First of all, the location. We could practically fall out of bed and be at the House of the Seven Gables it was so close. We could see the water from our room and from the roof top terrace. And for walking around historic Salem, or picking up the Hop-On/Hop-Off trolley tour (thanks for the discount tickets!), it couldn't be more convenient. Easy walk to the magnificent Peabody-Essex museum (don't miss the Chinese House exhibit, or the Painting Summer in New England exhibit!). Great restaurants within easy walking distance. And if Boston's your thing, getting over to the Salem train station to take the commuter into North Station in Boston is easy, cheap (buy tickets on the train), a short train ride, and places you right on the edge of the Freedom Trail. Plan your sightseeing so that you end your day in the North End at one of their wonderful Italian restaurants, and then it's an easy walk back to the train.

The Sarah Good room occupies the entire third floor of the house and is the best! It comes with it's own private sitting room with TV, microwave, mini-fridge. The bedroom is large with pretty views to the water, tho there are a couple of homes in-between. It has a private rooftop entrance as well, from the parking lot.

The rooms on the second floor are equally delightful, tho smaller. But the second floor has a warm and inviting lounge or sitting area, with reading material, brochures, TV, mini-fridge and microwave if you need coffee before breakfast. Each room is beautifully decorated.

Bob is a delightful host, warm and welcoming.. Very helpful with directions, recommendations for dining and sightseeing, and attentive to your needs including hauling your overpacked luggage up to your bedroom. The house is immaculate and wonderfully decorated. He serves a lovely, generous continental breakfast in the morning, starting at 830am. Fresh cut fruit medley cup, coffee or tea (with a variety of teas to choose from!), a cold cereal selection if you're interested, and two types of homemade breads or muffins (mom makes them!). After my first morning there, a teapot was always ready and waiting for me at my place.

Parking is spacious and free. Follow Bob's directions for getting to the MorningGlory. Ignore your rental car's GPS! It's easy from Logan Airport, but Salem has lot's of one way streets. Bob will get you there quickly and easily! Park and you probably won't need your car again soon!

CONS: There are none. Well, okay, perhaps he could warm the fresh breads a little, if you like that sort of thing. I was too busy eating my share to care!

This is a great choice for enjoying a waterfront town with lots of history, great scenery, and none of the congestion and traffic of the big city. It would be a wonderful, romantic couples getaway spot, or terrific for a family reunion. Have a great time! We did.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,244
    54
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
125
820
74
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 May 2006

We have just visited Boston and decided to spend the nigth at salem, to be honest our first reason were the cheaper alternatives to the expensive high season room prices on Bostons hotels, but at the end this alternative turned into an very nice experience: The Morning Glory is a beautyful place, we were given a warm welcome by the owner, Bob and he gave us a room on the upper floor. The Room was very confortable, with an increidle bed, lots of well mantained old furniture and a real firewood stove. It captures perfectly the spirit of Salem which is actaually a very nice short trip if you are spending a couple of days on Boston.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 May 2006

At the risk of being redundant ... we loved the Morning Glory! A superior B&B experience: a spotless, relaxing room with great views (read: roofdeck) and a simple yet satisfying breakfast (mmm ... homemade Irish soda bread ). The location is also ideal; the street (steps from the water) is quiet but within walking distance of the House of the Seven Gables, the Peabody Essex Museum and a good selection of restaurants. Bob the host is charming, helpful and never intrusive. We'll definitely be coming back!

Alicia and Peter
Boston

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 May 2006

We loved this beautiful Bed & Breakfast located on a side street right near the House of Seven Gables. The owner, Bob, was a courteous and thoughtful host who has decorated this very homey space tastefully and with a country flair. The rooms were glorious and each had a bathroom attached. The views from the upstairs deck were delightful. Our breakfast was wonderful and filled with stimulating conversation. We enjoyed our stay at this lovely Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 May 2006

A few days ago I returned from a long weekend in Salem, Massachusetts and a Glorious stay at the Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast. The Morning Glory is the coziest place I have ever stayed and is located within walking distance of all of the best that Salem has to offer.

I stayed in the Sarah Good suite which was beautifully decorated, comfortable and clean. After hours of touring around and shopping it was always a pleasure to go back and relax until the next shopping trip. Located just outside the suite is a spacious deck with a magnificent view of Salem Harbor. It's great for sunning or just plain relaxing!

Breakfast was served in a bright, sunny room through the kitchen and consisted of fresh fruit, coffee laced with cinnamon, juice and fresh baked goods that were baked by Bob’s mother. Bob Shea who is the owner, is perfect in his role as host. He is bright, funny, accommodating and like any good Angel, he is always there if you need him but never intrusive. It doesn’t take much to see that Bob loves what he does and that is the magic that pulls everything together at the Morning Glory. This was my first stay but definitely not my last! Thanks Bob!!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 May 2006

There are not enough kind things I can say about Bob, his parents, and the Morning Glory B&B. We traveled in October, in the midst of a noreaster, and still managed to be utterly thrilled. We were welcomed with opened arms, and Bob went out of his way to make us feel at home. I've never been to a B&B where I genuinely felt as though I were visiting the home of a friend.

Our room was stunning. It was neat, clean, and beautifully decorated. It did not have a TV in it, which, in our opinion, added to the warmth of the place. Rather, in the common room, there was a TV the guests could share. This was a great way to get to know the other guests. (It was also a big draw that Bob kept a bowl of Kit-Kat bars on the table...)

The proximity to...well, EVERYTHING, was great. The Morning Glory is in the center of everything, and we really only used our rental car to get there and back. The House of the Seven Gables is steps away, and there are plenty of quaint shops nearby. Bob keeps tons of information about the local attractions on hand.

The breakfasts are made up of cereals, juice, coffee, fruit, and Bob's delicious home-baked treats. He makes the most wonderful breads and muffins, and sells a small recipe book containing some of his signature delights.

I cannot emphasize enough how special a place this is. Bob is a treasure, his home a delight, and time spent there a joy. My partner and I will be returning this fall.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayette County, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2006

One of the most comfortable and well maintained inns, we have ever had the pleasure to enjoy. We will come back soon!
Garrett & Sharon

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GARRETT K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,952 reviews
5.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
0.6 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast

Property: Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
Address: 22 Hardy St, Salem, MA 01970-5656
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Hotel Salem
Morning Glory Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing