We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Well Taken Care Of at Morning Glory B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2007

We found a jewel when we decided to move from our over-priced hotel to this charming B&B. It is located across the street from the famous Seven Gables house on a quiet street several blocks from the water. We stayed three nights in the third floor suite and were treated to a breakfast of homemade baked breads and scones, yogurts, fruit, cereals, juice and coffee and tea. Bob and his wife Mary Anne were filling is as hosts for their son who runs the place and we felt very well taken care of. Bob even drove us to the train station and offered to pick us up. When we go back to Salem or Boston, this is the place we will stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tamzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,194 - 1,200 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2007

This was the second time my wife and I have stayed at the Morning Glory B&B. As before, we found that our stay was very enjoyable. The accomendations are excellent. We felt very much at home during our 2 nights there and enjoyed the homemade pastries prepared by Mrs. Shea. We appreciated the attention paid to us by Mr. Shea and his advise on getting discount tickets on the "T" to getting discount tickets to the MFA in Boston. His personal chauffeur service provided to us to the "T" Terminal in Salem was greatly appreciated. We look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PainterManSyracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2007

We stumbled upon Morning Glory through purpleroofs.com and are sooooo glad we did! Being relative newcomers to B&B's, I thought that in planning our trip we'd take a chance. We're so glad we did! Bob gives the best combination of making us feel like we had our privacy and making us feel well taken care of. Superb, clean room, excellent breakfast, good advice for area activities. Best of all, the location was fantastic - almost AT the House of the Seven Gables, and just a stone's throw from Pickering Wharf. We're definitely coming back!

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank JKLWeLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2007

We stayed 6 nights at The Morning Glory in Salem and had a wonderful stay. Chocolate kisses arranged in a teacup for us when we arrived and a Duraflame log in the fireplace ready to be set alight in our cozy room with adjoining bath - what could be better than this on a cold, blustery day in March? The common area outside our room provided coffee pot, small fridge and microwave as well as a computer to use. Wireless internet access was provided so that our laptop was easy to use in our room. Continental breakfast was served downstairs in the owner's dining room which is a lovely room with large windows.

The location was great too. Near the water, right across the street from the House of the Seven Gables and just down the street from the Ye Olde Pepper Company - the oldest operating candy store in the US. Yum, yum. We were also within walking distance of the Salem Cinema and other shops and restaurants.

There is parking in the back of the building as well as a small garden area with tables for dining outside on warm days.

Bob Shea, the owner, was very helpful. He is a great host and a truly nice guy.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank eugenialeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2007

Every time we return to the Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, and it’s been at least 10 times now, it feels like we’ve come home! Our host and now good friend, Bob Shea, has made us feel so incredibly welcome over the years that we feel like part of his family. The rooms are as beautiful and clean as they were when we first stayed there over three years ago, and Bob’s delightful breakfasts, with delicious pastries, are as glorious as ever! David, Olivia and I wouldn’t “dream” of staying anywhere else while visiting Salem.

Jeanne K.
Chicago

Stayed: March 2007
Thank KellyBellyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2007

My wife and I stayed for a weekend, it was great! Morning Glory was incredibly clean, within walking distance to everything, it had parking on site, and we could see the water from our window .Our host, Bob, was the best. The breakfast was fresh and delicious, the atmosphere in the dining room perfect with soft music and a beautifully set table. We would go back again any time.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nzcdlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2007

Stayed in a lovely private room with private bath with a view of Salem Harbor. The home takes you back in time. The host, Bob She is most accommodating. A convenient walk to all that Salem has to offer.

Stayed: February 2007
Thank CDSprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.3 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.7 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
0.6 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast

Address: 22 Hardy St, Salem, MA 01970-5656
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Hotel Salem
Morning Glory Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing