We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful views”

Finz Seafood & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Finz Seafood & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 232 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: new derby
Transit: Train service: Newburyport/Rockport Commuter Rail Line from Boston"s North Station; Bus service: Bus Route 450; Salem Depot - Boston Via Highland & Western Ave; Bus Route 455/459; Salem Depot - Haymarket or Downtown Crossing Via Loring Ave.,Central Sq.,Lynn & Western Ave.;Bus Route 451; North Beverly - Salem Depot Via Cabot St. or Sohier Rd.
Description: Award winning Seafood restaurant, located on Historic Pickering Wharf, Waterfront Dining, outside deck. Fresh Local Seafood, Raw Bar, full Grill menu, Chef inspired Menu using Local ingredients and Daily Specials. Lively Bar featuring a large selection of Local Micro-Brews.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful views”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This was my third trip to this restaurant and it was great as usual. We always sit outdoors weather permitting and with summer like weather and seafood with local beer, one cannot ask for more. Lovely staff and great food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bombay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    381
    142
    44
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Some of the best seafood in town!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Bright cheerful restaurant right on the water; excellent service staff and delicious food...all you could want from a seafood restaurant!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MarilynJ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful harbour with decent service, disappointing food :(”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

After reading several reviews by the locals of Salem, I was sold on the idea of skipping going to a Shanty restaurant that was recently featured on the Food Network. I was advised that "Finz" was where the locals go and that the other "Shanty" was a tourist trap. I can see the charm of Finz as it is located in a wonderful spot with a patio that located on the water. However, I can see why the locals love it as well. Along with the aging community of Salem, Finz is very dated in its recipes and charm. Its decor is reminiscent of my family trips to Myrtle Beach and Florida with my family as a child. The food was equally dated as well. I ordered the Lobster Mac and Cheese, although it wasn't inedible, it was far from what I expected. The cheese was closer to an alfredo sauce in taste and could have used more truffle oil (as stated in menu) along with a harder cheese for the sauce. I must give credit to the raw bar, the selection of oysters is fairly wide and pleasing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swampscott
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Finz”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lively atmosphere, great food and service make this a routine dining experience for us. Recently attended a party in a great function room upstairs.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulnotringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wonderful lunch”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went to Finz for lunch and was amazed and the wonderful choices. I got the thai chili shrimp. It was fresh, generous in size and light and crispy. I could not even finish the whole portion. My son got the buffalo calamari which was perfectly cooked with just the right amount of spices. Again the portion was more than adequate. The service was good and I would definitely return for either lunch or dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mkr46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Finz Seafood & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing