We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian!”
Review of Bella Verona

Bella Verona
Ranked #15 of 238 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Over a two week period in New England, we ate at several Italian places; Bella Verona was by far the best. The food served there is as good as what you get in Italy and the intimate setting is perfect.
There was also a good level of service.
Definitely recommended if in Salem.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank krowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila m, Owner at Bella Verona, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Authentic Italian,what a compliment.Giorgio hails from lake Garda,Italy and grew up in the restaurant business. We are so pleased you enjoyed New Enngland and especially Bella Verona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 194 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for a family birthday dinner after a long day of tours in the city. The food was great but the service was a little on the slow side. We were going to order dessert but decided to ask for the bill instead as we didn't want to wait any longer.

Thank Dawnilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila m, Owner at Bella Verona, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you so much for the positive spin on the food. So sorry you had slow service after a tiring day of touring. Unfortunately the day you were in there was a last minute call out and then we were busier than normal. Hope to see you next time and offer you that desert you didn't get. We have great deserts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Have been to Italy many times and Bella Verona has the feel of a place that the locals recommend; the atmosphere and decor are intimate, the wait staff is friendly (ours spoke Italian), the menu stretches beyond pasta into frutti di mare and Italian desserts and liqueurs. Priced low enough to eat there regularly, but nice enough for a special occasion as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila m, Owner at Bella Verona, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

It's so nice to hear from one of the salem locals.again that's what we like to be known as ,a local neighborhood restaurant with great food,service and no fuss. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was in Salem recently visiting the Peabody Essex Museum. Many of the locals highly recommended Bella Verona restaurant for dinner, situated in front of the Hawthorne hotel.
My nephew and I were pleasantly surprised. Upon entering the small, cozy restaurant we were greeted by Giorgio, the owner who hails from lake Garda in northern Italy.
Since I myself lived in Rome for many years, it brought back memories being in a authentic Italian restaurant.
The menu was so diverse, and the blackboard filled with so specials that we had a hard time choosing. Finally I opted for the caponata as an app. a delicious medley of vegetables, a great summer dish. My nephew elected the baked calamari truly full of taste.
Our entrees were grilled seafood platter consisting of 2 jumbo grilled shrimps, swordfish and salmon, all cooked to perfection and with great flavor.
My nephew elected pasta amatriciana which was probably the best he ever tasted, he said.
We accompanied our meal with a bottle of Lugana from the special board, a delicious crisp white wine. We were so full that we shared a tiramisu.
We will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Concepcion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila m, Owner at Bella Verona, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

One of your best meals. well that's hard to beat. We hope you will stop in again when you make it to Salem. We always appreciate hearing from our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have eaten here twice and loved it each time. Tiny, authentic, friendly. Very reasonably priced for the excellent food, most attractively presented. Our favorite.

Thank keepmovingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila m, Owner at Bella Verona, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

I hope you make it back to Salem. It sounds like you really love great food. we will try and make your next visit memorable. A presto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bella Verona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing