We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Favorite Dinner Spot”
Review of Bella Verona

Bella Verona
Ranked #18 of 237 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The best Italian restaurant in Salem!
From the moment you walk in until the time you leave ...eccellente!

The restaurant is beautifully decorated I felt like I was back in Italy with my husband.
We were greeted by an Italian man and his beautiful wife and they sat us right away in what seemed like the best table in the house! I think they were probably the owners-They were the perfect hosts.

Our waitress was introduced a minute later (we thought she looked like that actress Natalie Portman) She gave us a breakdown of the specials on this really cute little chalk board
(very clever) and brought us a carafe of wine to share, it was perfect.
Service was impeccable. She was attentive the whole time and we appreciated her knowledge of the menu from top to the bottom. She kept the flow of our dinner going perfectly throughout the night too!


We started with a Bella Verona salad. It was so fresh and had potatoes, mozzarella, tomatoes, eggs and grilled chicken. It was delicious!
To add to it they brought us this warm bread from heaven.
I say if the restaurant offers good bread right from the beginning- it's a good sign it's going to be a good dinner- I was right!!!

Our dinner was sooooo delicious! My husband and I found ourselves eating off each others plates and feeding each other, the combined flavors and textures perfectly complemented each other. The ambiance was romantic and the Italian music delightful. I couldn't have asked for a better date night.

THANK YOU BELLA VERONA!

We will definitely be back, reservation for next week?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila m, Owner at Bella Verona, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thankyou very much for your over the top 5 star review. it makes us so happy when our dinner is really a divine experience and the main event. hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 184 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

The food and service go beyond the typical neighborhood restaurant. There is an attempt to customize dishes to individual needs. Enjoy!

Thank gourmetgirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila m, Owner at Bella Verona, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review. You hit it on the head.that is exactly what we are striving for,a neighborhood restaurant that will make all our guests feel like friends and neighbors.when you visit our home we found you to have a great food experience without being too fussy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I had authentic pasta Bolognese here that was fantastic. Really small but worth the cramped quarters. Food and ambience are great.

Thank 626ethelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila m, Owner at Bella Verona, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you so much. Delicious is about as good as it gets. We strive to provide an excellent level of service as well as that authentic food from Italy always using the freshest,seasonal ingredients.please come again when you are back in salem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Over a two week period in New England, we ate at several Italian places; Bella Verona was by far the best. The food served there is as good as what you get in Italy and the intimate setting is perfect.
There was also a good level of service.
Definitely recommended if in Salem.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank krowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila m, Owner at Bella Verona, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Authentic Italian,what a compliment.Giorgio hails from lake Garda,Italy and grew up in the restaurant business. We are so pleased you enjoyed New Enngland and especially Bella Verona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for a family birthday dinner after a long day of tours in the city. The food was great but the service was a little on the slow side. We were going to order dessert but decided to ask for the bill instead as we didn't want to wait any longer.

Thank Dawnilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila m, Owner at Bella Verona, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you so much for the positive spin on the food. So sorry you had slow service after a tiring day of touring. Unfortunately the day you were in there was a last minute call out and then we were busier than normal. Hope to see you next time and offer you that desert you didn't get. We have great deserts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bella Verona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing