We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Small”
Review of The Salem Museum

The Salem Museum
Ranked #35 of 78 things to do in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Salem Museum is the only museum dedicated to telling the whole story of Salem's long and rich history. It uses large, colorful displays to reveal Salem from its founding in the 1620's to the 20th century. Learn about the Golden Age of Sail, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Salem at war, the witch trials and much, much more!And its FREE!
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Small”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was a quick visit,
The location is small but has a few artifacts to see during your visit, personnel was very knowledgeable and I gave a donation =)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    16
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“not what i expected”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

although the other reviews are correct, its free and the pirate at the door is very knowledgeable, in essence what it is, is one giant room with posters encased in glass, detailing all about the witch trials. i was not expecting to stand there and read and read and read, i think it would be better if it was mixed up a little with some costumed characters more artifacts to look at. some video perhaps.

it was however informative, just not what i was expecting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H, Creative Director at The Salem Museum, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Hi Tricia,
Reading your review I just wanted to make sure we are talking about the same museum. The Salem Museum in Old Town Hall does have an exhibit that depicts the Salem witch trials, however there are a dozen other displays that present a wide array of other historic people and events, such as, the Great Salem Fire, the founding of Salem, the Great Age of Sail, Salem in the Revolutionary and Civil Wars, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Nathaniel Bowditch and others.
Also, the displays are large, colorful fabric banners with extensive visuals, photos, paintings and other illustrations -- not posters behind glass. There is some text, as in most museums, but the banners are primarily visuals. New displays will be added periodically. We hope you will come back again some time in the future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very Informative, Neat Displays.....And Free!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Popped in here simply by chance during our recent trip to Salem while walking around the tourist areas. It's a free (suggested donation - $3) museum that has numerous displays/artifacts, etc., all dedicated to the entire history of Salem.

Worth a quick stop in as you can dedicate as much --- or as little --- time as you like.

My favourite display was probably the room dedicated to Parker Brothers, the board game company that was founded in Salem. However, there were also some really neat (and old!) artificats that were worth seeing as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank BramptonMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A whole lot of history!!”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This museum is free to the public and offers a large about of Salem history. Please take the time to enjoy it, learn about the past and talk to the Pirate that greets you at the door. He is rich with knowledge and experiences.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cbprn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Only museum with history of Salem”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This museum is free and gives the rich history of Salem: shipping industry, first millionaire in US lived here, witch trials, Nathaniel Hawthorne, many more. You are greeted by a pirate and others dressed in costumes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank shehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Salem Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Salem Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing