We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, service, and hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value, service, and hospitality!”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The rooms were great! Clean, big enough, and beautiful! They came with the usual bottles of shampoo, soap,and lotion. They have cookies and lemonade at the front desk...cute touch! We got a $25 gift card for breakfast the next morning w/our package. It was great and the food was fresh and amazing. Fresh chocolate chip pancakes is what my fiance got and I got a fresh baked blueberry muffin. Yummy! Really nice people working there and very comfy beds. The only thing is that my fiance and I both woke up around 3 am b/c it was very hot, but I think that's common in many hotels. Anyway. Amazing!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank reviewer198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Salem Waterfront. The Bed & Breakfast package is one of our most popular packages and I am glad you were able to take advantage of the great offer! Thank you for also recognizing our outstanding staff and the little touches that they do to make our guests' experiences that much more special! We hope to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,020
    433
    112
    43
    45
See reviews for
563
573
53
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Really good night's sleep in comfortable beds with good air con. All you could ask for. Nice shower too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jandono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
This review is great! Short and sweet and to the point. It really hits on everything that is great about the Salem Waterfront! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My family stayed here in February. At that time, my then 3 month old son was sick with a flu. As new parents we were very worried and the front desk staff really took care of things. They made sure we got to the nearest hospital and checked in with us throughout our stay. The manager Bill was so sincere and went ABOVE AND BEYOND for our family.

The main lobby was filled with the smell of fresh lilies, the hotel was beautiful and the food was awesome. The woman working at the pub was very sweet and took really great care of us too. You've got to try the poutine on the menu. YUM!

Don't even get me started on how comfortable the beds were :)

Great hotel, but the best part by far is the staff. AMAZING.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank espiachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this very detailed and excellent review! Also, thank you for recognizing our outstanding General Manger Bill. Since coming on board with us, he has really built a great team of people who strive to make each guest's experience one like you expereinced! Our Front Office and Pub teams were excited when I shared your kind words with them. Once again, thank you for the great review and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed at the Salem waterfront hotel when I visited Salem for the first time last summer. The rooms were very nice and clean and the hotel was conveniently located in the heart of downtown Salem and close to the waterfront.

The staff were also fantastic! They were helpful and kind. I even had a chance to meet the manager of the hotel and he was very nice and even suggested a restaurant for me and my boyfriend to check out, which turned out to be our favorite of the trip.

When I visit Salem next, I will most definitely be staying here again! A big thanks to the staff for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sefry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Manager, Jim Carroll, only came to our aid AFTER he was told that because the room that we had booked in JANUARY we were going to leave. I then told him I would also report this on Trip Advisor. Within five minutes he was knocking on the door of " the room he had left". Suddenly after my Trip Advisor comment he came up with a suite for us!
It may have been a suite but the carpets were disgustingly dirty. The maid was hurrying us out even though we were given a late check out, and the "suites" was right next to the noise of the vending machine and ice machine.
I am happy to say I will not ever be returning to deal with this hotel or Bill Carroll.

Room Tip: As I stated above, apparently it doesn't matter what you do to get the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucy6232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We came early and the hotel was able to accomodate us anyway. The adjoining rooms we booked were clean & attractive & had microwaves . The staff was super friendly & helpful. The hotel was walking distance from everything and in the midst of a picturesque little shopping village and the harbor. And last but not least...there was plenty of counter space in the bathroom! (Not a little thing when traveling with one adult woman & a teenage girl!)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank travelingnana2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Salem turned out to be the unexpected gem of our New England summer family trip. Staying at Salem Waterfront Hotel made our touring of the town's many attractions, both historic and shopping, an easy walk in all directions. Would like an outdoor pool at such a property, but understand that that's really only important for families with young children. The indoor pool was adequate.
Very nice furnishings, very clean, lobby area had beautiful flower arrangements, attractive furniture, good front desk staff, a good coffeemaker and a very helpful modern touch: ipads for guest use conveniently located in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank adharman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,941 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
515 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing