We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit...just keeps getting better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This was our third stay at this hotel, and there are good reasons that we keep coming back! The property is immaculate, which is very important to me. The room was spotless, spacious, and very quiet at night. The staff is professional and friendly. We received a gift card upon check in for breakfast during our stay (probably could have used it any time of day). We sat outside in the lovely breeze with flowers all around us and enjoyed a relaxing start to the day. The wait staff were very busy, but attentive. We usually just grab a quick bite before sightseeing, so the full breakfast was a treat! The chef did a terrific job on our Eggs Benedict...yum! Coffee was fresh and plentiful. The location of the Salem Waterfront cannot be beat! We love to stay here because once we check in and park the car, we don't need it again until it's time to depart. It is centrally located, so we can head out in one direction, pop back in to drop off packages or take a rest, and then head out again in another direction. The afternoon lemonade and cookies are a nice touch, as is the coffee in the lobby in the morning. Our experience at this hotel was once again terrific, and we will return on our next visit to Salem.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Tipsmaketravelfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,430 - 1,436 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

The staff at the hotel were eager to be of service. We truly enjoyed the hotel and the city of Salem.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LJ3543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Dad, age 90, and I stopped at this hotel while touring the coast of Cape Ann. Everyone was extremely friendly and accomodating. Our room was right by the elevator and the complimentary parking was just outside the entrance. We ate at the hotel restaurant where the food was excellent. There is an outside and inside entrance to the restaurant. The place was spotless and appeared brand new. Plenty of towels and toiletries including a toothbrush and toothpaste! The outside of the building even has, in large letters, "public restrooms".

The only set back was waiting for someone to pick up our luggage; however, when the maid saw us still waiting she contacted someone and a lovely lady came up to help. I imagine everyone was busy at the time and it really wasn't an issue for us.

The price was more than we usually pay but I understand it was the going rate and the tourist industry has to make a living.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank amhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

On our way to Boston, we detoured through Salem to learn more about the Witch Trials and the history of the city. This hotel was wonderful. Just a few minutes after we checked in we received a call from the front desk to make sure everything was fine with the room and to see if we needed anything. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to or passing by Salem.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ccdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed for 4 days and never any major issues. The hotel is perfectly located to all Salem attractions. This is why we picked this hotel. Sure its a little pricey but the location and cleanliness sure made up for it. I looked at the other hotels in town and this is by far the best. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sleepeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The room looked nice...until you really stayed there. They door knobs fell off, the towel rack was hanging off the wall, the table wasnt clean, the AC didn't work.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank photogurl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The location of this hotel can't be beat; it is walking distance to all the major attractions in Salem and restaurants. It's a little pricey but we were not disappointed with the room or the service. Everyone was nice, the room was pretty big and clean. On one cold day it was nice that there was complimentary hot apple cider in the lobby. I would stay here again if I return to Salem.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMC062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
13 reviews
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: £104 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing