We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it... perfect ending to our New England Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved it... perfect ending to our New England Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

The facility was very very clean and comfortable. The only downside was the beds in the rooms were a little uncomfortable, but nothing that would ruin the facility. In the heart of the Salem Waterfront, near the ferry and the best ice cream shop I have ever had (Captain Dusty's Ice Cream). Walking distance to everything in Salem. After 2 weeks of being on a road trip, this was the first facility that had a decent gym... it's nice to be able to keep up your physical fitness while being on the road. My only suggestion would be to have hot tea available in the lobby and a regular coffee station...that would be the topping on the cake. We will certainly stay here when we return to Salem this fall.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    423
    106
    40
    43
See reviews for
548
560
52
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed in a beautiful junior suite. We received a letter saying we were chosen as VIP's and were given a box of truffles, bottled water and a $10 gift card to The Regatta Pub. What a thoughtful gesture. We enjoyed our first evening in Salem - the next day as we were getting ready to leave, housekeeping came and we told them to come back later. On our way out I mentioned to the front desk that housekeeping could clean the room. Upon our return late in the day, I found the room unmade. I called the desk and they sent someone promptly. We got up early the next day for breakfast, returned later to get ready for our day and assumed it was too early. When we returned to get ready to go for dinner (6 pm) the beds had been made, but there was no replacement coffee, shampoo/conditioner/soap or towels. Again - I had to call the front desk. Shortly after, a gift card was given to us and upon check out we received a discount. This was very thoughtful and a wonderful way of showing that we were valued customers. We do understand that things happen and we won't let this dissuade us from staying at the Salem Waterfront again. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We used to have a vacation home in Salem, therefore I know the Salem Waterfront is the newest hotel in town, however this is the first time I got to stay there. The hotel is in a great location, close to shops and the ferry to Boston runs to the beginning of November and I would highly recommend it. Our room was clean, the staff was friendly, they have a pool and a gym. And we also received a $25 voucher to use in the restaurant. My only complaint would be the air conditioner was little noisy and the pillows were horrible. When I asked the front desk if they could provide a couple down pillows, the representative advised me "that's what's in my room". If they were down, I would like to see that duck! I would definiately stay again, and I would recommend, I would just bring my own pillow next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We recently stayed at the Salem Waterfront Hotel for the week with our three small children. We had the one Bedroom King Suite which comfortable fit our family. The location is great and it was wonderful to get up every morning and walk through Salem. Parking is free and is extremely convenient. Loved: That the bed was so comfortable and the sheets wrapped the blanket (very important to me). Could be improved: Not enough shelf/counter space and places in general to store luggage and bathroom items. There wasn't a dresser in the room.
BUT overall we had an excellent experiance, would highly recommend and would also stay there again with my family, or with just my husband.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Nicole012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llano, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Nice hotel with good hotel staff - we were happy with our choice. One thing we did not know is that this hotel is NOT on the water. The Waterfront is actually the area that it is in - the warf is built up so that the hotel is not within seeing distance to the water. We thought it was a good choice anyway, despite that fact, because we could walk anywhere we needed to go. Rooms were large and very clean with nice amenities. We scored a corner room with nice windows. The staff was very friendly and nice. The only negative was our experience in the Regatta restaurant. Our lunch was slow in arriving, and the next morning we went in for breakfast and found a very disorganized scene with some people complaining because they had not been waited on. Note to breakfast restaurant staff - people want to be acknowedged and coffee poured right away! We left and went someplace else. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and recommend the hotel - we would stay there again. Salem is a neat town; it was our first time there.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room - they looked a little larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LlanoSher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

The hotel is wonderful. We stayed there for our hotel and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only thing I was disappointed was in the promise the advertising made of getting a room upgrade if you we 'liked' them on Facebook. We never received this upgrade.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KatieErickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

My bridal party and I stayed here for my bachelorette party and it was so amazing. Everyone was extreemly helpful and kind, the rooms were beautiful and very clean. Hands down this is one of the best hotels in the area!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
3.1 mi away
The Wylie Inn and Conference Center at Endicott College
16.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing