We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My girlfriend and I don't live far from Salem but decided to take a day off and get away somewhere for the night. After some research we decided on The Salem Waterfront Hotel. We couldn't have been happier with the overall experience. The only cons are that the room availability was tight so we had to stay in a suite that was a little pricier than I expected. However, the room, staff, and experience was great so I didn't have much of an issue paying what I would for a larger hotel in a bigger city. I highly recommend this hotel for everything it offers and the convenience of being near shops, great restaurants, water etc. We did hope that our room had a view of the waterfront, but it wasn't the end of the world. Good dining in the hotel as well...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Bobby O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear BobbyO,

We are glad that you chose to stay with us when you were looking to get away for a little rest and relaxation. We have been experiencing a very busy summer here in at the Hotel which explains why all of the other room types were booked. I am glad that you enjoyed your suite when you stayed with us. While the suites are a bit more expensive, they really give our guests to spread out and enjoy some pretty lavish accommodations. It is also great to hear that you got the opportunity to capitalize on our central location. Thanks again for the great review! We hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

Jonathan Arruda
Assistant General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,408 - 1,414 of 1,743 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

My friend and I wanted to get away for a day. So we planned a trip to our favorite city Salem, Mass. We've stayed at many hotels and B&B's in Salem and surrounding area but this was my first time at the Waterfront Hotel. It was awesome! Everything was clean, comfortable and relaxing. The staff was fabulous! The friendliest people you could meet! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PastelPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear PastelPenguin,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent trip to Salem! I am glad that you took your return trip to Salem as the opportunity to stay with us for the first time! We can't wait to have you stay with us again when you return to Salem!

Best regards,

Jonathan Arruda
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed for one night at the end of a Boston vacation. We arrived in the early afternoon and our room was ready. Our toddler was asleep in the car, so the front desk made sure the crib was already in the room. That was awesome - we've never had that before. We were able to get into the room without disrupting the nap!

The room was quiet and breakfast the next morning was fast with great service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vtcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear vtcheryl,

We are so glad that not only you but the entire family enjoyed your stay with us! We are very popular with families due to our central location and by having the only pool in a hotel in Salem. It is great to hear that your little one was able to remain asleep during the entire arrival experience! We hope to see you and your family soon!

Best regards,
Jonathan Arruda
Assistant General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We spent two nights at the Salem Waterfront Hotel and the only problem was we hadn't planned to stay longer. We loved everything about our stay - room, service, location, restaurant. I'm a personal fitness trainer and would have liked a better equipped fitness room but this is a hotel, not a health club. We would highly recommend this hotel and Salem is a very tourist-friendly city worth visiting.

Room Tip: Call to make a reservation and make your request directly with the person you are speaking with. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear Larry,

What a great review! It is great to see that you enjoyed everything that the Salem Waterfront has to offer. We do have a fitness facility as well as a indoor pool both of which get used often by guests looking to stay active while away from home. We hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

Jonathan Arruda
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed with my family for 1 night to see Historic Salem. Hotel is in a great location, walk to everything. Near restaurants and docks. Staff was very nice and friendly. Regatta Pub had great food. Nice swimming pool for kids.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear John,

We are glad that you and your family enjoyed staying with us while discovering Salem! It is true that we are walking distance to Pickering Wharf as well as all of the restaurants in Downtown Salem. I'm glad that you got a chance to utilize the indoor pool!

Best regards,

Jonathan Arruda
Assistant General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We were very pleased with the hotel. Nice, big rooms with all the amenities; great location. Food at the Regatta Pub was average at best -- I have a feeling they had some kitchen issues the morning we dined there as the waitresses seemed a bit stressed (but still provided good service). The food issue is the only reason I didn't rate them Excellent. Overall, we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blumeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This hotel in the heart of Salem was a great find. Located near the waterfront, it was a relaxing place with a real attention to detail. The staff was as friendly as they were professional; lemonade and cookies were a welcome daily treat; our room was immaculate and we could walk to all the attractions. If we ever journey to Salem again, we'd definitely stay here. They even upgraded (they offered) our reservation to a mini-suite at no extra charge. They exemplify what hospitality should be about!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank doodles202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,050 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
17 reviews
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
268 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Boston Danvers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: £106 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing