We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wedding”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We ahd our daughters wedding at the hotel on Aug. 12, 2011.
Everything was so wonderful starting at check in.
The hotel rooms were elegant, the food was fit for a king. The grand ballroom was beutifully decorated, the staff was like this wedding was there own.
I highly recommend the Salem Waterfront Hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear RichardP,

We were so pleased to share in your family's special day when we hosted your daughters wedding! One benefit of being in the hospitality industry is the opportunity to be part of memories that will last a lifetime! We wish your daughter all the best of luck!

Best regards,

Jonathan Arruda
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    426
    110
    43
    43
See reviews for
552
566
53
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This is clearly one of the best, if not the best, of the modern hotels in Salem. On our first trip here 16 years ago, my wife and I were on our honeymoon and stayed in a B&B. Now we have a child and a B&B would really not work. This wonderful hotel gave us a large two-room suite with a full kitchen area at a very reasonable price. Since I have food allergies, being able to prepare my own meals is very important to me. This is also the only hotel in town with a swimming pool - a big plus for my daughter. The staff were friendly. The room was kept clean. Everything seemed consistent with a premium hotel. The location is perfect to walk to everything in Salem.

Room Tip: We had a better price with one of the specials that included extra meals over the regular rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank RLS-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wharton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
157 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I stayed there with my 15 yr old daughter this summer. There arent many hotels in Salem itself ,and the ones that are, are mostly set up like a B+B with one bed. You can get separate beds here.The rooms were clean and spacious. That staff was great. There was complimentary coffee in the AM (aside from a coffeemaker in your room)and lemonade and cookies in the afternoon in the lobby. The location is great . It's within walking distance to everything. A lot of the other hotels also have a minimum night stay,when we went this one did not which was a defininte plus.Its also across the street from the Grapevine which is a great place to eat.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank BGarbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Dear BGarbus,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad that you chose to stay with us knowing the fact that we offer many different room types, including rooms with two double beds. The lemonade and cookies are certainly a treat when returning from a long day of exploring Salem from our great central location, aren't they?!? Many guests like the option of either getting coffee in our lobby or brewing it in their room. Thanks again for the great review and we hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

Jonathan Arruda
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The Salem Waterfront Hotel has a convenient location: you can get to the witch house and the wax museum in minutes, the post office is only a few blocks away, and restaurants are abound. While I haven't been too much to the pier and the waterfront, it's literally next to the hotel - so you'd have no troubles whatsoever getting there.

The rooms are generously sized. I had a room with a "Dry Bar", because the other room types were taken, and so had a microwave and a fridge in the room. I don't even remember hearing the fridge, so it must have been very quiet - it definitely was convenient for storing drinks from Walgreens, in any case.
The United States of America doesn't like their walls: just like in the other hotels I've been to, you can hear anything that happens outside in the hallway through your door. However, the rooms are actually large enough to - together with the AC - drown that noise.
The bathroom is equipped with a hair dryer, towels, toothbrush and toothpaste. The shower could also dub as a small bath tub. Shampoo and conditioner are in tiny bottles next to the sink. They did not have complimentary shower gel like many other hotels, just a regular soap bar. Granted, they might have provided one upon request; I didn't ask.

The staff and their service really stood out. I checked in way early (2-3 hours I believe) - not a problem. They had the room ready, let me right in, no extra charge. When I asked for directions, the staff was helpful and forthcoming - something I missed in other hotels. You really get the feeling that they try their best to accommodate you.
One of the tours had cheaper tickets online, but I only had my laptop and couldn't print they receipt. No problem for the staff - they printed it for me, complimentary, of course. In other hotels I had to pay for that same service.

Wired and wireless Internet is available; it's reliable and free. Upon logging in, it asks you for how long you're staying, and you're all set. What's nice is that the service they use didn't prompt you for that information over and over again - once you entered it, it remembers it and doesn't bother you again. I did not do any speed tests, but downloads and VPN both worked with low latency and low jitter.

Anyhow, the only drawback I can think of are the "thin" doors. This isn't as bad as it sounds though, because most of the noise is drowned by the room's size and the AC (which is barely noticeable). On the plus side, you're close to anything downtown Salem, you have friendly staff that's there to help you out, and good rooms. If I go to Salem again, I wouldn't even think about taking chances picking anything else - I'd go here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sewiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Dear sewiee,

Many guests enjoy our great central location and I am glad that you had the opportunity to as well. It seems that you stayed in one of our rooms with the Dry Bar which is very popular with families due to the fact that it has a microwave and a refrigerator. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our outstanding staff here at the Hotel. They truly strive to go above and beyond our guests expectations to provide them with a memorable experience. We hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

Jonathan Arruda
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My girlfriend and I don't live far from Salem but decided to take a day off and get away somewhere for the night. After some research we decided on The Salem Waterfront Hotel. We couldn't have been happier with the overall experience. The only cons are that the room availability was tight so we had to stay in a suite that was a little pricier than I expected. However, the room, staff, and experience was great so I didn't have much of an issue paying what I would for a larger hotel in a bigger city. I highly recommend this hotel for everything it offers and the convenience of being near shops, great restaurants, water etc. We did hope that our room had a view of the waterfront, but it wasn't the end of the world. Good dining in the hotel as well...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bobby O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Dear BobbyO,

We are glad that you chose to stay with us when you were looking to get away for a little rest and relaxation. We have been experiencing a very busy summer here in at the Hotel which explains why all of the other room types were booked. I am glad that you enjoyed your suite when you stayed with us. While the suites are a bit more expensive, they really give our guests to spread out and enjoy some pretty lavish accommodations. It is also great to hear that you got the opportunity to capitalize on our central location. Thanks again for the great review! We hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

Jonathan Arruda
Assistant General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My friend and I wanted to get away for a day. So we planned a trip to our favorite city Salem, Mass. We've stayed at many hotels and B&B's in Salem and surrounding area but this was my first time at the Waterfront Hotel. It was awesome! Everything was clean, comfortable and relaxing. The staff was fabulous! The friendliest people you could meet! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PastelPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Dear PastelPenguin,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent trip to Salem! I am glad that you took your return trip to Salem as the opportunity to stay with us for the first time! We can't wait to have you stay with us again when you return to Salem!

Best regards,

Jonathan Arruda
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed for one night at the end of a Boston vacation. We arrived in the early afternoon and our room was ready. Our toddler was asleep in the car, so the front desk made sure the crib was already in the room. That was awesome - we've never had that before. We were able to get into the room without disrupting the nap!

The room was quiet and breakfast the next morning was fast with great service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vtcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear vtcheryl,

We are so glad that not only you but the entire family enjoyed your stay with us! We are very popular with families due to our central location and by having the only pool in a hotel in Salem. It is great to hear that your little one was able to remain asleep during the entire arrival experience! We hope to see you and your family soon!

Best regards,
Jonathan Arruda
Assistant General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,902 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
16.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing