We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

As a local resident, I have needed a hotel a few times over the years for parties or special events. I LOVE this hotel because of the exceptional customer service, convenient and walkable location, and comfortable rooms. If you are visiting Salem for any reason, I would highly recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winddiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 1,730 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

While visiting Salem for a long weekend we stayed at the Salem Waterfront Hotel. The location is perfect for walking around Salem. The hotel staff was terrific. I arrived early and wasn't expecting to get a room before 3 but they took my phone number and called as soon as a room was available. The rooms are nice and clean. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

When we first arrived Katie and Briana welcomed us like we were long time returning customers. They were all smiles and very professional. they informed us that we were the "OH WOW" winners for the day!!!!!! We went to our room and it was wonderful, everything we hoped it would be. The entire staff went above and beyond our expectations, thanks for an awesome time!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LittleMomma63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We just got back home from a week long stay at the Salem Waterfront Hotel and I can not say enough wonderful things bout this place. We were late getting in from the airport and Katie at the front desk pointed out the late night places to go for dinner as soon as we mentioned food. I wish I knew more of the front desk staff by name because they were all so welcoming and helpful- whether it was giving me directions for an early morning run, where to get the best food, or just giving us extra coffee. Also the little after noon treats of cookies and punch were a nice touch. The rooms were large and always cleaned well. The food is good and not expensive for the area. Kaitlin in the bar was great. She took great care of us. You also can't get a better location. Everything is within walking distance. There is also a great little coffee place Jaho's just a block away. I honestly can not recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katidid988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Hotel is in a great location for exploring Salem. Short walk to train station for our day trip to Boston.
This was one of the nicest hotels in our 26 day travel around USA. Everything was just right including pastries available in the lobby. We were disappointed that they didn't have refrigerator in the room.
The diner opposite 'The Scratch Kitchen' was a very nice place to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

It was wonderful to walk out the front door of the hotel and be minutes from all the attractions, restaurants and gift shops. The rooms are big, bright and clean. And, I was most impressed by the friendliness of the young women at the front desk! I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarilynJ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I recently stayed in this hotel for a wedding. They did a fantastic job hosting the reception and my room was great. It was huge, very clean, and stocked with great amenities. Although my view wasn't waterfront, I honestly didn't care because the beds were very comfortable. I ordered room service in the morning and it didn't cost me an arm and a leg. The food was pretty decent for the price too.

The only reason I didn't give a five star rating was that I had to call several times to confirm and correct my reservation, however they were very accommodating. Also, on the day of departure I had to call down to the front desk several times for the bellman to bring up the cart thingy for my bags. They eventually did and apologized for the delay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,029 reviews
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
0.4 mi away
The Salem Inn
The Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: £109 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing