We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No witches, only Excellence!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Bordeaux, Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“No witches, only Excellence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great location, large room (mine was unfortunately with parking view and not seaview), excellent bed room, friendly staff, good breakfast, nice swimming pool. I did not have the occasion to have dinner.
I-pads available for free use (or was it a dream ? :-)).
Make sure to get a seaview room, if you plan to go.
Enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    422
    106
    40
    43
See reviews for
548
559
52
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have stayed before when my husband has business in Salem. It's always been delightful, but they outdid themselves this time. When we arrived (4 hours before posted check-in time) we were told our room was ready; but when we got there, oops! not quite ready. We returned to the desk, and never was there a mention of the fact that we were there long before they "had to" let us in; instead, they were apologetic for the mix-up and immediately upgraded us. Hotel is comfortable, convenient, and has lovely bathroom amenities. Special cheers to the terrific women at the front desk: Briana, Gina, and Montana. Thank you for making everything so easy and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keepmovingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I got married here on May 24, 2014. It was literally the best day of our lives and that had A LOT to do with how wonderful the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina staff were (from beginning to end). Everything went so smoothly and our guests cannot stop raving about how beautiful and classy the venue/setup was. I cannot say enough about the Sales Manager Robyn Sheather. The day before our wedding we got a last minute call from our limo company canceling our vehicles (Lynette's limo NEVER use them as they were recently shut down by the Feds). This caused our last minute limo booking to have to end our service an hour earlier than originally planned. We were not taking our photos very far from the hotel, (but it was still far enough for two brides in poofy dresses to not want to walk). Robyn was so observant that she noticed when our limos drove away from the site of the photos. She then instructed the hotel staff to drive over to where we were taking photos and to pick us up in the hotel golf cart to bring us over to the reception. It was so sweet and our photographer caught a great photo of us driving away on the back of the cart. Do not hesitate to have your wedding here. It was worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denae19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I spent a few days in Salem. I have family that live nearby and staying here is close to them. We have stayed here before many times. The rooms are nice and there are several sized floor plans to choose from. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch & dinner. There is an indoor pool and weight room. This hotel is walking distance to other restaurants, historic areas and shops.

Room Tip: Go for the 2 room suite. There is plenty of room for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exfedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have stayed at the Salem Waterfront numerous times and have just come to write this review. My visit was last week. Every time I visit Salem I debate on trying some place new, but I can't. The Salem Waterfront has a great atmosphere, easy access to local dining, and a great staff. I have noticed that the pub has really come to life and has a beautiful patio with awesome fire pits. The menu is pretty kid friendly which is also a plus. Cheers to them for really making my stay worth while this time around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandwich mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed at the Salem waterfront hotel over this passes week... AMAZING. The only thing that stopper a 5***** tauting was the beds, time to upgrade. They are hard, springy and just down right old :/ if not for this I would have nothing bad to say. The service on the other hand deserves a 100000!!!! From the entire front desk staff to the onsite pub and everyone in between, fantastic. Check in is at 3 but we had a room ready for us at 12 and check in was a breeze! We had 2 cars and were asked to park one in the offsite lot, don't wanna walk back?? They have golf carts to give ypi rides in. So cool. We could have parked both cars in that lot because we never needed the car. Everything (I mean EVERYTHING) is in walking distance. We were here for a wedding so we didn't have a Ton of free time to do the whole tourist thing.

The rooms are large and bathrooms are big as well. They supply you with great shampoo and conditioner, toothpaste and even bottles of h2o. Forget your toothbrush? They have those too among other things, my scatter brain fiancée forgot his deodorant and they even had that, only men's though???? Kinda strange. The rooms are really clean and the AC was cool (no pun intended)

The onsite pub was FANTASTIC for breakfast and so so for lunch , kind of slow and we were the only ones in at the time, once the food came out it was good, not great, and kind of overpriced $13(ish) for 2 tiny fish tacos but the cob salad made up for it and it was almost to pretty to eat. Service was stellar to say the least. Breakfast is extremely convienent, food was great and the value was very reasonable. We had Meagan on both days and she truely started our day off on a good note. She suggested the daily special which was a lobster Benedict and we both got it, loved it and almost licked the plate clean... YUM YUM YUMMY. She was extremely busy Monday morning but didn't miss a beat
Huge asset to your establishment.
Thank you Salem waterfront hotel for your amazing hotel, staff and hospitality. Being from less than 2 hours away we will be back this summer to do The whole tourist thing and we will stay here!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saweeeeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The short: Beautiful views, close to shopping and historical locations, clean rooms, wonderful staff. The hotel restaurant/pub is also great, with wonderful food (the fish and chips and fish tacos are musts) and amazing service.

The long: Found this hotel online when we decided to make a spontaneous trip to Salem. The pictures online looked nice, and we loved the idea of staying near the harbor. From the moment we arrived, the service has been amazing, and the accommodations outstanding. We had a small problem with our first room's air conditioner not functioning correctly, but the staff was incredibly friendly and prompt with moving us to another room, including moving our suitcases for us so we wouldn't be troubled. Ryan and Brie at the desk have been wonderful about questions we had, going out of their way to find us things we were looking for, and then getting those things up to our rooms. The food in the pub is superb; we've had Becky and Dave (David Gorynski) as servers, and they were both great about remembering our preferences. Dave especially has been wonderfully accommodating, telling us the best places for sight-seeing and shopping, and even took time to drive us down the road to a store we wanted to visit. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough; I'm actually very sorry to leave, and I hope to get back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaytikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Wylie Inn and Conference Center at Endicott College
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
16.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing