We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give this Hotel your Business!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

What a nice place to stay! The hotel is very eye appealing as soon as you enter the lobby. Be sure to check out the mantle. I took a picture and plan to copy it. We were there to celebrate our anniversary, which my husband mentioned when making the reservation. We received a lovely gift box on our arrival, and chocolate dipped strawberries were delivered to our room, gratis! Our room was spacious and nicely appointed. Here are the things I care about most in my hotel room: clean as a whistle..check, comfortable bed..check, lots of nice pillows..check, comfortable temperature...check, quiet..check, nice bathroom with a good shower..check, safety..check. Surrounding the hotel are several nice places to get a nice meal with water views, and seeing the sights are easily accessible on foot. Salem is fun and interesting. I understand Halloween time is really busy, but it's nice to visit during other times of the year...maybe better!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank IrishRoseSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Room was spotless, beds were great and the hotel was near many restaurants and the major city attractions. Staff was friendly and attentive. Hotel provides on premises parking right near the entrance for easy access.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Salem was a stop over on our trip to Maine and this hotel (and the city) were so inviting that we immediately opted to make a reservation to stop again on the way home. The hotel was able to accommodate our request for a refrigerator Ian the room and it was waiting for us when we got there. The hotel is a large motor court style building right on the waterfront and very close (walking distance) to all the attractions in Salem. We were greeted as we drove up, directed to a parking spot and offered help with our luggage. The front desk staff checked us in and offered information on the sites and suggestions for what to do. Each time we passed the front desk we were greeted warmly. The room was large, clean and well maintained and the bed very comfortable after a day's drive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sbstee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was a great hotel. It is located within walking distance of just about everything you would want to see in Salem. It rained the whole first day we were here, and the staff at the front desk handed us giant golf umbrellas on our way out the door. Very clean, easy to get to, and centrally located, I am very happy that we chose to stay here.

Room Tip: we had a room on the second floor. All floors seemed equal in quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My thanks to this hotel for a wonderful stay. Arriving late at night, Ryan and Brie provided us with exceptional customer service. The location and cleanliness are outstanding and I highly recommend using this hotel as you Salem base.

Room Tip: I believe all are a good value. We enjoyed the Kig Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel was beyond expectations. The staff was very friendly and Gina at the front desk was extremely helpful providing info for places to go. Housekeeping was very quick bringing us extra items for the room,and the beds were comfortable. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Salem Waterfront Hotel was a very pleasant surprise! We were visiting the area with our daughter and grandsons In conjunction with a tour of MIT. We were there over 4 nights. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. We ate breakfast in the hotel every morning and it was excellent. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. I would highly recommend staying here as an alternative to staying in Boston or Cambridge. It is a short walk to the ferry that leaves you at Boston's Inner Harbor, or you could take the train into downtown Boston. This hotel is a great value, and we all agreed we would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TJMcD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,048 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
13 reviews
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
13 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
258 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: £99 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing