We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd come back to Salem just to stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

After a long road trip across 13 states, I can safely say that the Salem Waterfront Hotel was one of the best hotels we encountered, and we had a wonderful time here. Being a group of three friends, it is often difficult to get accommodation that suits, and has enough space for our needs. The Salem Waterfront have everything we required - the attention to detail was amazing within the rooms (robes, lamps, information booklets etc.), and customer service was impeccable. There were only a couple of little niggles - the first being there was no-one to assist us with our bags when we arrived and we had to move these ourselves, and second that there was no fridge in the room. These are small complaints because I know that if we'd been more patient, we would have had our bags delivered, and had we requested a fridge, one would have been provided (as per other reviews). The restaurant was nice, the location was fabulous, and the free parking was a real bonus. We enjoyed the spaciousness of our room - plenty of space for luggage and us, and the sofa seating provided a nice change to simple rooms with beds. The Salem Waterfront is located only steps from the Marina and all the wonderful little stores and restaurants on offer across Salem. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Our triple room on the third floor faced the car park, and was very quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MsFickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 1,717 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

We just returned from a three night stay at the Salem Hotel and Marina and were extremely pleased. The lobby is lovely, the rooms are modern, extremely clean, and spacious for the area and cost. The front desk staff was wonderful...on our first evening there we returned to our room to find we had been chosen as the "Wow Moment of the Day" and a sweet note, stuffed monkey witch for our son and trolley tickets for our family were left for us. My son was THRILLED and we all thought it was a lovely gesture and great start to the trip. We enjoyed the pool and the location was great- close to all the major attractions and even walkable to the commuter train station for a trip to Boston. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank AmandaS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The Salem Waterfront Hotel was very nice, clean and walking distances to most of Salem's attractions. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The one downfall was we had the king suite and the pull out sofa bed was very uncomfortable, need new mattress on the sofa bed. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed two nights midweek and was very pleased with this beautiful hotel. The front desk personnel were terrific. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. I asked for a mini-fridge and it was brought to the room immediately. The hotel is is centrally located to all the Salem attractions. When I opened our door the following morning, a lovely gift bag was there. What a nice surprise! Inside was a locally crafted wooden plaque, nice key chain and Salem sticker. I was very impressed they took the time to welcome us so nicely. Highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: My room was on floor 4. Didn't hear a peep,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peachpeg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We've stayed at this hotel a few times over the years - it is in a great location to stroll around the little harbor, the Maritime Park nearby and it's within walking distance to restaurants, museums and quaint streets. The front desk staff, as usual, was very nice. We were disappointed in the parking lot staff this time, they seemed like they were just doing their job - no enthusiasm on any of the five days we were booked here. Also, my husband and I swim every morning but were actually uncomfortable using the pool with its five days of murky water. Just want to comment on the pool windows: we are avid swimmers and always try to book at hotels with pools and feel very SAFE at this swimming pool because there are huge windows.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodboyboise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My friend and I have stayed numerous times at the Salem Waterfront and find it to be a charming and comfortable place to see. One has the opportunities to enjoy all the Salem activities by simply walking from the hotel. We usually get a rental car in Boston, drive to Salem and then return the car with very little mileage on it.

The food at the hotel is great in the restaurant --excellent clam cowder. Also there are several restaurants nearby and lots of little shops to visit...

We enjoy the beautiful views and the hotel employees are outstanding. Even in October when they are so busy, they are lovely and make one feel at home.

Come over for the Halloween holiday Oct 1-31. Book early... and enjoy the plesantries of this lovely location right on the waterfront.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and so comfortable. We like one that looks out onto the front parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ollie88888T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

THE GOOD: the property was very clean, attractive, and well-maintained. The staff was extremely helpful to the point of calling cabs for us, printing out directions to walk to nearby attractions, and providing us with a commuter rail schedule. The location was perfect, close to the wharf and all of the tourist attractions. Everything was in walking distance of the hotel. Parking was free, unlike hotels in Boston. We were permitted to leave our car in the lot until 2 pm on the day we left, even though checkout time was 11. They even gave us an extra parking pass for a family member who met up with us to spend the day touring. THE MEH: the pool was an added bonus for our kids as no other hotel in Salem has one. It was small but more than adequate for them. But it was very close quarters around the pool. Tables and chairs were provided, but were in such close proximity that nearly every time a kid jumped in or an adult swam by using a kick stroke, you got splashed. Also, the pool is on street level with windows all around. The curtains were never closed. Anyone could walk by and look in. Not a big deal for the kids, but it was for me. The first few days we did not have enough towels for our family of four. Again, not a big deal; we managed but it was kind of odd getting only 2 washcloths and 3 bath towels. The room had a Keurig coffee machine, which was great, but again, for a couple of days we did not have enough supplies for the amount of coffee. 4 K-cups but no cream/sugar packs. Maybe we were the last stop on the maid's route? We could not make the hair dryer work even after setting and resetting the ground fault switch on the cord several times. Again, not a big deal because I always bring my own, but strange when you start adding up all these little things. And maybe I'm being a little picky on this, but the shower curtain just grazed the edge of the tub. It was cut about 2" too short, so every time someone took a shower, the rubber curtain slipped out of the tub and we had to clean up puddles of water on the floor. THE UGLY: the pullout couch in the junior suite. I wanted a room with 2 beds, but when I booked in July for an August stay, all that was left was the junior suite, which is a king size bed, a pullout couch, and a refrigerator. To me, a pullout couch is what you crash on in a college friend's musty basement. When I mentioned that to the desk clerk taking my reservation, she assured me it was comfortable. Let me tell you: it most definitely is NOT. Thin mattress, popping springs, no support, extremely uncomfortable. We wound up putting our 8 year old in the king bed with us and giving the 12 year old the couch because 2 people absolutely could not sleep on it. As it was, with one person in it, it resembled a hot dog in a roll. 3 people to a bed for several nights does not make for a great night's sleep. And for $200 a night, I wanted better than that. So even though there were many good things about the hotel, I have to give it just an average rating because of the many "meh" aspects and that godawful couch.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have a small view of the harbor. Do not book a junior or king suite if you have more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chinacat87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,013 reviews
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
0.4 mi away
The Salem Inn
The Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: £118 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing