We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Convenient, clean, comfortable , quiet ( check out their policy of fining people who make too much noise). Restaurant was below average. This and the Hawthorne are the only hotels in town. Overpriced but worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swimmer1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The room was nice as was the staff, who told us we had one of the better limited waterfront views. The only water we could see from our room was condensation from A/C units at the nearby shops. The only water you see from the hotel at all are not ocean, but possibly the little area where a few small boats come in (boat lane not visible) and tie down in a very enclosed space. Hotel was fine for just a hotel. Waterfront views are a total misrepresentation.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at the Salem Waterfront Hotel for a wedding (which also happened to be our one-year wedding anniversary weekend) and had an incredible experience! My husband worked with Gina, Michelle, and Ryan to ensure that everything was perfect. When we arrived, champagne, chocolates, and red roses were waiting in the room for us! I was beyond impressed and can't thank them enough for making that weekend so special. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This hotel has very nice rooms for reasonable prices. The hotel is in a great location. We were able to walk to all attractions we wanted to see in Salem. There are also several good restaurants within walking distance.
The rooms were clean and well kept. Unusually, they provide a toothbrush and toothpaste in the bathroom in case you have forgotten yours. The house keeper arranged my daughter's blanket and stuffed animal on her bed.
I don't know if I will be back in Salem but if I do go back, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KHBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The managers booked a party for a celebrity basketball player and decided to give them the whole restuarant which left the other customers to fend for themselves and we couldn't dine where we paid good money to. Then they took the bar away from a wedding party and gave it to the basketball player. Guess what? We had the whole wedding party in the room next to us slamming doors and making us miserable untill 3am . To add insult to injury they gave us a room above the loading dock and they started getting very noisy deliveries at 6am on a Sunday morning. All things considered it was a horrible stay and we demanded a refund. They gave us a refund but I would rather have a good time and pay for it. We wont stay there again. Nice looking hotel but managed very poorly.

Room Tip: Ask not to be near the loading dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

After a long road trip across 13 states, I can safely say that the Salem Waterfront Hotel was one of the best hotels we encountered, and we had a wonderful time here. Being a group of three friends, it is often difficult to get accommodation that suits, and has enough space for our needs. The Salem Waterfront have everything we required - the attention to detail was amazing within the rooms (robes, lamps, information booklets etc.), and customer service was impeccable. There were only a couple of little niggles - the first being there was no-one to assist us with our bags when we arrived and we had to move these ourselves, and second that there was no fridge in the room. These are small complaints because I know that if we'd been more patient, we would have had our bags delivered, and had we requested a fridge, one would have been provided (as per other reviews). The restaurant was nice, the location was fabulous, and the free parking was a real bonus. We enjoyed the spaciousness of our room - plenty of space for luggage and us, and the sofa seating provided a nice change to simple rooms with beds. The Salem Waterfront is located only steps from the Marina and all the wonderful little stores and restaurants on offer across Salem. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Our triple room on the third floor faced the car park, and was very quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MsFickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We just returned from a three night stay at the Salem Hotel and Marina and were extremely pleased. The lobby is lovely, the rooms are modern, extremely clean, and spacious for the area and cost. The front desk staff was wonderful...on our first evening there we returned to our room to find we had been chosen as the "Wow Moment of the Day" and a sweet note, stuffed monkey witch for our son and trolley tickets for our family were left for us. My son was THRILLED and we all thought it was a lovely gesture and great start to the trip. We enjoyed the pool and the location was great- close to all the major attractions and even walkable to the commuter train station for a trip to Boston. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank AmandaS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,013 reviews
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
0.4 mi away
The Salem Inn
The Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: £118 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing