We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, just Wow” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clipper Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clipper Ship Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow, just Wow”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed there a while ago and have just gotten around to writing a review. So here goes nothing. Let me first set the scene. My sister and I booked a suite for our first time stay in Salem. After driving 6 hours in traffic the GPS informed us that we had reached our destination. Really that little electronic female voice must be lying. This is a building with the roof partially covered in a tarp. It looks more like temporary housing for the homeless than a functioning inn. We walked into the cluttered and dirty reception area and after 10 minutes of listening to the woman behind the desk talk on the phone without acknowledging us we were finally addressed. During that 10 minutes I was at least able to get my expression under control because if she had helped us right away I don’t know if I could have looked at her with a straight face while she was wearing that neon blue velour sweat suit. As momma always taught us we smiled and asked to check in. It only went downhill from there. We were informed that we could not have the suite I explained that we had booked two months in advance and was told that other people needed it more since there were more people in their party. I asked if that meant they were paying more. She said it didn’t matter we were just 2 people and did not need the two bedroom suite. Well I have had hotels upgrade me but to be downgraded this was a first. No offence but I didn’t like to sleep in the same room as my sister when we were kids and being adults has not changed that. I inquired why they did not contact us in advance if they knew this was going to happen to which she replied “there is only one room take it or leave it” then she added with a smile good luck finding another room in Salem everything’s been booked for months. We checked in further without incident and made our way to our room. There were stains on the carpet and the door did not lock properly. There was no chain or bar lock to go across so after an unsuccessful call to the front desk, not that I held out much hope when the phone rang was on the 12th ring and no one had yet answered, we just propped the chair up against it. The room was dirty and had a lingering smell that we could not, not that I am sure that I would have wanted to know even if I could, figure out. I ended up sleeping on top of the blanket in my clothes using my sweatshirt as a pillow. If we hadn't driven 6 hours to get to Salem I probably would have just turned around and gone home. Ruining a trip does not even begin to explain this place. I travel extensively and have never had a hotel experience quite like this one. Do yourself a favor and book somewhere else. This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    100
    61
    34
    67
See reviews for
116
105
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We try to visit Salem every year for the Bizarre Bazaar and this year we made our reservations a wee bit late so our choices were limited. We did, however, find a two room suite available at the Clipper Ship Inn. It was a little farther from downtown Salem than we are accustomed to, but the walk was fine. The rooms were clean and it was nice having a well stocked Keurig coffee maker! The beds were a little less than comfortable but all in all we had a very pleasant stay. Loved the company of the cat as well!

Room Tip: Definitely call ahead to check to see if pets are welcome. We were told that in the month of Octobe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottemermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

This was our first time in Salem and we enjoyed our stay at the clipper ship inn, we were greeted at the front desk by a friendly woman and salem the black cat. Our room was spacious, warm and clean. There was a Kurig stocked with all coffee flavors, and we received gift cards for the dunkin donuts across the street. This inn was close to everything about a 15 min walk into town which is very scenic or a 6 dollar cab ride. We will be booking next years stay at the clipper ship!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaquelynG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio City, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

It was a decent place to stay in Salem just wish it was a little closer to the center of town but otherwise it was a great place to stay. Office staff was lovely and couldn't have been nicer.

Great deal for a place in Salem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyndee6368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We planned our Salem "Haunted Happenings" trip late in the year so when it came time to book a room, we had very little choice. Either stay in a hotel in another nearby town or stay at the Clipper Ship in the heart of Salem. We chose to stay centrally located in Salem. The location is perfect for those of you who don't rent a car as it is fairly close to downtown Salem. If you are looking for luxurious ameneties, the Clipper Ship is not for you. Simple, yet clean rooms; ordinary decor with the bare minimums and just very old-fashioned. The staff, however, is VERY friendly and accommodating and they went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Beautiful grounds and surroundings and the house cat "Salem" will be there to greet you upon your arrival!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom - with living room, microwave, small refer, second sink, sofa bed - large rooms , clean with basic furnishings and bath with tub and extra towels..there is a coffee pot with individual cup dispenser and variety of coffee choices, helpful staff and professional. We walked the half mile to Visitor Center and took Trolley city tour- no need to drive. WI FI at hotel was slow, Dunkin Doughnuts across the street with WI FI. Another Italian restaurant next door- also Yoga studio there. We were returning rental car to Boston airport and Front desk gave us better directions than Mapquest. This is a family owned business and personal attention. There is a train near, but we did not hear any sounds of train. Very quiet and we were on second floor-


  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinevalues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford,Qc.,Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We got a very clean large room with microwave, fridge, table, chairs and a couch for a great price all within a few minutes of the visitors center and all the Salem attractions. Check here before you go anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.9 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
3.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Boston - Peabody
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clipper Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clipper Ship Inn

Property: Clipper Ship Inn
Address: 40 Bridge Street, Route 1A, Salem, MA 01970
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Clipper Ship Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Clipper Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clipper Ship Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing