We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bangor
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Flora made us feel comfortable and right at home. She was welcoming, and friendly. Her Fresh cooked breakfasts were delicious, and created by Flora herself. Our room was on the first floor level. The room was beautiful and clean. The B&B was a short walk to the center of the town. When you book a B&B, make sure they have on site parking, ours did. The train station was just a bit further. We took the train into Boston to meet some friends for dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay At the Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast. We would highly recommend this B&B if you visit Salem MA.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curly1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    63
    13
    10
    9
See reviews for
168
395
34
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Flora was welcoming, helpful and friendly. Freshly cooked breakfasts were delicious, everything baked by Flora. Rooms varied, one room on the kitchen floor was beautiful and very convenient, the garden room was clean and fresh, a bit more basic but not disappointing, perhaps small for more than one person. Well located, about a ten minute walk to train or town. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: Not the garden room
See more room tips
Green Features: Very Eco friendly but removing shoes is an inconvenience in a very small foyer
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northey, Owner at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm so glad you all had an enjoyable stay. It was a pleasure to meet you folks and get to know you all a bit. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfasts and our accommodations. The Garden room is the smallest and the newest of our rooms, but is well thought out. I'm glad it met your needs. Hope our paths will cross again. Until then, I wish you all the best.

Shalom,
Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed at Northey Street in April 2014. From the moment we arrived we felt completely at home. Flora is so kind and makes sure you have everything you need. The room was spotless and cozy, complete with a fireplace (non-working, but so beautiful) and candles. The bed and bedding was perfect to fall into after a long day of exploring Salem. The Inn was a short (and beautiful) walk to downtown Salem. We absolutely loved every minute of our visit!!

Green Features: Recycle bin in the room which was nice for water bottles, etc.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northey, Owner at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We're so glad you felt "completely at home", exactly how we'd like every guest to feel. It was so nice to meet you and your daughter. I'm glad you got to see a lot of what Salem had to offer. Believe me, there is a lot more to uncover here. Hope you'll be back for more discoveries. I wish you all the very best.

Shalom,
Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
東京
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The room was clean, especially because we are supposed to take off our shoes before we enter the room. We Japanese felt at home with the rule. Flora was a very nice person and she had our breakfast ready for us when we got back the night before we left, knowing we had to leave early the next morning. Also we were lucky enough to see beautiful stars at night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank シュナラ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northey, Owner at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review for us. So glad you enjoyed your stay, our breakfasts, & the garden. I really enjoyed watching your time-lapsed movie of the stars moving over the house. If I had a time-lapsed camera, I'd love to point it at the little pond to see what kind of critters & birds go to take a drink. You two are the perfect guests and I hope that the Northey B&B may be of service to you again. I wish you both the very best.

Shalom,
Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We reached Northey Inn at night and as soon as we stepped in our room, we instantly felt at home. It was warm, cozy and welcoming, not to mention spotless clean. Flora was here to welcome us even though we were a few hours late.
Breakfast was delicious and made by Flora herself. We sat down and had a nice chat before leaving. I will definitely come back to stay at Northey Inn again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northey, Owner at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
It was such a pleasure to meet you and your family. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and found everything clean and comfortable. I hope our paths will cross again.

Shalom,
Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We traveled to Salem, MA for Halloween in 2013, and stayed with Flora at the Northey Street House B&B. The food was wonderful, the accommodations were quaint and cozy, and the location relative to town was perfect. Highly recommend a Fall trip to Salem, the house is just a few blocks from the town square, the Salem Witch Museum, and all the great restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northey, Owner at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to post a review. It's always gratifying to be able to share all that this great city has to offer. Fall is a particularly magical time. I'm so glad you both enjoyed your stay and found it easy to navigate to all the attractions. Hope you'll return to visit again as there are many exciting new things happening in Salem. Take care.

Shalom,
Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The room was warm and inviting, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was something to look forward to every morning (homemade scones and muffins with delicious fritata!). The host was fantastic as well, very helpful and nice the whole time. It is the perfect distance away from downtown Salem, just a few minutes walk and yet almost no traffic on the street. If we stay in Salem again, it will be here.

Green Features: Flora does the best she can to be energy efficient and use green products, which I really appreciated!
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stepford-Siren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northey, Owner at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your experience here. We're delighted to hear you "found the room inviting" as we warmly welcome all all guests and strive to give all our rooms that inviting atmosphere and decor. Thank you also for noticing that we strive to minimally impact the environment in how we run our business. Your comments are much appreciated.

Shalom,
Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.5 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,940 reviews
5.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
2.8 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 30 Northey St, Salem, MA 01970-3905
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best B&B: Winner of the 2011 & 2010 Best of the Northshore (readers choice)! Rated 5-stars on TripAdvisor.com. 1809 Federal, short walk to all attractions. Private baths, parking, AC, cable, WIFI. Smoke-free. Hearty breakfast. Open year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northey Street House Hotel Salem
Northey Street House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing