We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed”
Review of The Salem Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Salem Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I visited this bed and breakfast last October a week before Halloween. We stayed in the Curen house in a honeymoon suite. There was no curtain's or blinds on the windows and they faced another building. I asked the management and she said she would have someone install some shades the next day. Never happened. I have never been a fan of jacuzzi tubs, prefer soaking tubs, but this one was particularly nasty.The jett's looked like they had never been cleaned.
Also the breakfast looked and tasted like frozen food from Cosco.
None of the employees seem to care about any of my concerns. I would skip this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pauletteAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    190
    78
    51
    60
See reviews for
153
287
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband and my sister and her husband stayed for 3 nights on the top floor apartment of the Peabody house. It was very open and spacious. We could easily have fit another couple with us. They even had a pull out trundle bed. A nice little kitchen with full size fridge and microwave was nice to have available to us. This house is very close to all attractions. We parked the car and walked to everything. They provided breakfast from 8 to 10 am. The quiche was pretty good. I definitely would recommend staying here if you want to see the town of Salem.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mommysboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Marys, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My first visit to the Inn was in 1994, at age 13. I returned in July 2013, at 32, with my husband. We stayed in the family suite on the fourth floor of the main house, even though we do not have children. (We like as much space as possible wherever we stay.) The stairs are very steep and narrow. If you have any issues with climbing or heights, ask for a room on the first floor. There is no elevator. Our suite was perfectly decorated, relaxing, and comfortable. The staff was friendly, never intrusive, and brought up towels and collected trash at our request. They even came up to spray a wasp that had found its way in through the balcony door. The temperatures in July neared 100 and even with the AC turned on fully, the room was still a tad hot. The bedding was clean and in good shape. The fourth floor has skylights, so when the sun rises at 4:30am you will be woken up too. The Inn offers an authentic, historical experience. It's different from the other area hotels...in a good way. It has charm, character, and is in the midst of Salem. The prices are very reasonable and I would absolutely return again to the Inn for a third visit. Make sure to request lodging in the main house or else you may end up at another property. Excellent Inn where memories can be made and where the past and the present co-exist nicely!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SWalker43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at the Salem inn for two nights this last weekend in April. The room was a big front room overlooking the main street with a king bed, fireplace, and a private bath. The room was very clean, the bed very comfortable, and the breakfast was plain, plenty, and the coffee was excellent. The staff in the evenings were very kind and helpful. I would definitely stay here again if ever we return to Salem.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 53 in the main house which was down the hall and through a separate doorway. It wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PattyG614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Salem Inn. We were only in town for 1 night on a rainy weekend in March with dog and child in tow. The innkeepers were very accommodating. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the suite and the common rooms were given that the property accepts dogs. Our family suite was spacious, clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was more than sufficient. And the staff were very helpful with directions, parking, fixing the cable tv settings, etc. Thank you - we would come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RD_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 5 days in October. We loved it. Our room was located in the Peabody house. My wife and I heard some noises through the night like someone was moving furniture. At one point we heard footsteps. As we were checking out, we learned that no one was staying above us. This made us smile as we were hoping to see or hear something. The room was beautiful. The staff was very courteous. We couldn't of asked for a better place to stay during our first trip to Salem. I would recommend The Salem Inn to anyone traveling to Salem. It was absolutely beautiful.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Savannah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

There is actually more than one building. Three I believe. The main house is nice but the other two buildings are good as well. Breakfast is only served in the main house. The walk isn't far, about 2-3 blocks. The rooms are of adequate size. Our room had a fireplace and fake logs are complementary. If you ask nicely they will bring you more. The bathrooms are decent. Our bathroom was in our room. The Salem Inn is located on the outer part of the main section of town. Most places and attractions are within walking distance. If you go to Salem, skip the Salem Witch Museum ( http://www.salemwitchmuseum.com/ ) and head over to the House of Seven Gables.
( http://www.7gables.org/ ). It has a really cool tour. If you decide to visit Boston, don't go on Sunday. The entire city shuts down and there's nothing to do.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJMaverick25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.4 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
4.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Boston Danvers
0.1 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salem Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salem Inn

Property: The Salem Inn
Address: 7 Summer St, Salem, MA 01970-3315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Salem Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three elegantly restored historic homes in heart of downtown Salem. Just a few minute's walk to restaurants, attractions, museums and waterfront. We offer forty charming, unique guest rooms with private baths. Family Suites with kitchenettes are perfect for families or extended stays. Complimentary breakfast (including an omelet bar), sherry night cap, free wi-fi, and YMCA passes available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Salem Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing