We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Bed & Breakfast should concentrate on "bed" and "breakfast"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coach House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coach House Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Bed & Breakfast should concentrate on "bed" and "breakfast"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

The Coach House Inn is a old style Inn that gives a look and feel of old times. The decorations, the furniture, all beautiful. The staff were all extremely friendly, and the breakfast showed up in this cute picnic basket every morning and was very good. My only complaint was the bed; it was extremely uncomfortable, I was tossing and turning all night, and I woke up with a very sore back. The Coach House gets a 3/5 for this because the "feel" of the inn is not a necessity, it is a plus. This bed and breakfast should work on the "bed" because if we all didn't require beds to sleep in there would be no bed and breakfast anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    40
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
31
91
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I recently visited the city of Salem, Massachusetts and were delighted with our stay at the Coach House Inn. The owner, Patricia, was very accommodating and she shared a lot of information with us about the area and what was going on that weekend. The bed and breakfast is located in an old neighborhood in town and while it is a little ways away from sites like the Salem Witch Museum and the House of the Seven Gables, we were happy to have a chance to see a part of town (an old neighborhood) that most visitors probably overlook. The breakfast was nice and we enjoyed having the opportunity to have it delivered to our room each morning. Not too filling - just the right combination of fruits and pastries. Ultimately, we are very much looking forward to our next visit to Salem and we hope to be able to stay at the Coach House Inn again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

The Coach House knows how to balance magnificent architecture and cozy hospitality that you would expect from a 19th century inn. My wife and I are deeply grateful to the Inn for making our already special getaway almost perfect. The owner has obviously poured passion into every detail while keeping a reasonable overall price.

Some might find the location too far from the main Salem attractions (20-minute walk), but we appreciated its residential vibe and being a little away from the more touristy scene. The only thing that could've been better — considering the distance — the in-room coffee and the adorable breakfast basket could've been a little better. One extra perk that we look forward to taking advantage of next time though is the Spa directly across the street.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gretchenandcarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is a stunning coach house, the decor makes it feel like stepping back in time. Beautifully kept. The breakfast provided was ample, orange juice, fruit, pastries in a basket delivered at 8.30 to your door, although there is little flexibility with this.
The location is on a main street into Salem centre but this is a good 20 min walk so was a bit tiring after a day sight seeing, we were not keen on the lower Lafeyette district - lots of young men hanging around in the streets. (We were lady travellers).
The room had very comfortable beds, TV, coffee and tea making facilitites and a small en-suite. There is use of a free phone for local calls.
All in all, liked the hotel for its decor, not so much its location and the owner whilst very polite seemed a little on edge, we stepped in the door and had to pay for the full stay which was odd and changing breakfast by half an hour was a little bit of a put out (we were leaving early).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We had a lovely room with a private bath - the beds were not perfect - making the charm even better - modern accommodations such as the AC, internet and TV made the stay more comfortable - the house is gorgeous! The only thing I had wished for was a suitcase stand and some protein in our breakfast basket.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

From the moment we arrive the hostess treated us like we were the only two people staying there. We felt like we were family member visiting for the night. We were made to feel very welcomed at the Coach House Inn.
The House is located in the charming historic housing district of Salem. The house is tastefully decorated, very warm and inviting. It gives you the feel of stepping back into the early 1880s, but with modern convinces. It is nice waking up after a great night’s sleep to a basket of warm muffins, and fresh fruit. The only bad thing about the Coach House Inn is having to leave. If you’re planning a visit to the Salem area give the Coach House Inn a serious look.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We very much liked this inn. The proprietor was friendly and very helpful. Our room was very clean. We enjoyed the continental breakfast brought to our room every morning. The location was good - we walked downtown in 15 minutes. We would recommend this inn to anyone and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.8 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
0.9 mi away
Salem Inn
Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Inn

Property: Coach House Inn
Address: 284 Lafayette St, Salem, MA 01970-5462
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing