We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No B&B!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Coach House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coach House Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No B&B!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

First of all, I've never seen a B&B with a full range installed! Looked more like a boarding house than a bed and breakfast. Place was clean enough, but smelled like gas. Could have been coming from the stove, or oven? The decor was definitely from years past, old wallpaper, bed comforters, etc.. The bathroom was clean though. Inn keeper wasn't too friendly towards us. Not very inviting at all. Left early the next morning for a flight, so no review of the continental breakfast. Would I recommend this place to others, absolutely not. Hawthorne Hotel is supposedly the nicest place in Salem, but they would not let a room for a one night stay..........

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Baer 09,
It is not unusual to find a kitchenette in a B&B and in many fine hotel rooms across the country. In our case, the kitchenette is discreetly hidden behind louvre doors and is not an intrusive presence in the room. Since the range has been disconnected for a number of years I can't account for the gas smell you thought you detected.

There are many photos posted on Trip Advisor by guests that have stayed with us, which depict an accurate view of the decor. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we wish you well in your travels.

Sincerely,
Patricia Kessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    40
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
31
91
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manomet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

My room at this inn was quite nice, although somewhat noisy from street noise. The designation "b&b" for the inn is a misnomer,though, as there is no dining room or sitting area. The bed was comfy and the fresh fruit tasty. Breakfast was a bit of a picnic from a basket, which I ate on a tv tray in my room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paradox1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Paradox 1995,

Thank you for your comments. The designation B&B for our Inn is not a misnomer. For example, the Wikipedia definition of a bed and breakfast says, "breakfast is served in the bedroom, a dining room, or the host's kitchen".

The "tv tray" you reference is actually a replica of a hand painted metal tray reminiscent of the Victorian era.

We wish you well in your travels.

Kind regards,
Patricia Kessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

This house is a historical beauty. If you are not bothered by walking 20 minutes into town or breakfast stay here. The host is lovely as well. But this should not be listed as a Bed and Breakfast. In the morning we received a basket full of muffins, juice in a plastic cup with a foil lid (like the ones on airplanes), and croisants. All of it seemed to be from Costco or something. We also had to make our own coffee in the room. If I am staying in a B&B it is for the home cooked hot breakfast and a nice chat with the host in the morning. Yes, the picnic basket is cute. But this was just not ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FOODIE_JOJO_54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Jolyne C,

Thank you for your comments. While our continental breakfast is not served in a dining room, most of our guests enjoy the departure from a common room atmosphere to that of a warm breakfast in bed, or at least, in the privacy of their rooms.

I must say, I am surprised by your comments about the food itself since the muffins are made by a local Salem bakery, family owned and operated for more than fifty years. The croissants are from Sara Lee. There is nothing in the basket from Costco or similar outlets.

One of the joys of having been the hostess at The Coach House Inn for the past 32 years has been the enriching experience of spending time with my guests from around the country and around the world.

Best wishes,
Patricia Kessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed here a few weeks back while doing some wedding shopping in the area. Our stay was great, clean rooms, & Pat the innkeeper was so nice & very knowledgeable and helpful. Our room was cozy & clean, and breakfast in the morning was great, Pat even gave it to us to go because we had to leave early. I'd recommend staying here, and would defiantly go back for another stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura0299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Our room was on the third floor facing the street. There was some traffic noise but this did not disrupt our sleep---the window was closed at bedtime and the air conditioner/fan was turned on. I have stayed in many B&B's and would rate this as one of my favorites. Ms. Kessler was helpful and accommodating. The decor is beautiful and highly detailed. The location was convenient--close to everything. We felt right at home!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Standish, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

There is something about having breakfast delivered to your door in a basket... warm croissants and muffins, strawberries, fruits and juice: a refreshing start to the day. Room was clean and comfortable and suitably quaint. They even arranged a late check-in for us.
Gentlemen, bring your significant other here if you are visiting Salem, and watch her eyes light up when she sees the fine decor, and of course - the romantic picnic breakfast in bed!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank searcoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

This bed & breakfast was very nice. the staff was nice and quiet. The house is on the 100 year old side but I would stay here again in a heart beat. The breakfast was sent to the room in a basket and the muffins and pastries were nice and warm right out of the oven. I thought I would hear every bump in the night but it was so quiet. The floors were spotless. i thought my socks would be a little discolored on the bottom but my socks were still bright white after a night of walking around the rooms. Made me feel like royality with the decor.

Room Tip: i was in room 11 which was on the side of the house. The only thing is during the day a lot of traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjoli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.8 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
9.3 mi away
Winthrop Arms Hotel
Winthrop Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stepping Stone Inn
Stepping Stone Inn
#4 of 9 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Inn

Property: Coach House Inn
Address: 284 Lafayette St, Salem, MA 01970-5462
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing