We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing cafe with homey environment.”
Review of Alpine Alley

Alpine Alley
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Description: Wonderful new diner, concentrates on quality. Great local hangout, breakfasts and lunches.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing cafe with homey environment.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I had the "deb" and "Casey sunrise" this morning. The deb was an egg, ham, and cheese English muffin. It was delicious. The Casey sunrise was an orange juice, crab/raspberry, blackberry drink. It was delicious as well. The environment was very home with lounge chairs and bookshelves throughout. Only downfall is the early hours with a close time of 2:00 pm and they're closed Sunday's

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    13
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountainair, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hometown, friendly cafe”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Simple food -breakfast and lunch, sandwiches, soups made well. Cozy atmosphere. Sit down and read awhile. No hurry here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, good food”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Very friendly owners/staff and a nice mix of locals and visitors when we stopped in. We sat at a table for lunch, but there were also comfortable chairs and couches for enjoying a cup of coffee. An interested old building and furnishings/decorations. My breakfast burrito was excellent and my husband was very happy with his sandwich choice. Good coffee also. We are glad we stopped here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MeganAnn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Yummy food, cozy atmosphere, friendly service”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

After many drives through Mountainair, I finally found my way to Alpine Alley. I placed a to go order because it was near closing time, but Mary was so kind, and invited me to enjoy my lunch in the café. I'm glad I accepted her offer.

The menu is plentiful, with many affordable options so that you can customize your meal whether it's breakfast, soup, salad, sandwich or a wrap. There is a good coffee, espresso, tea and hot cocoa selection. The soup of the day, green chile stew, was homemade and yummy. The reuben sandwich was made with fresh ingredients and was delicious. There are fresh pastries; I selected a tasty blueberry scone.

All of this can be enjoyed in peaceful, warm atmosphere. There are comfy chairs and sofas, shelves filled with books, a gas log stove, and WiFi. Locally made jams and jellies, along with greeting cards, are available for purchase.

Best of all is Mary and the friendly service making a first-timer feel at home. It's worth a detour to Alpine Alley even if Mountainair isn't on your intended route. Thank you, Mary, for a great experience!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kidita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountainair, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Coming Home”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Walking into Alpine Alley is like coming home. The friendly owners, Scott and Mary, the feel of the place is like coming home and visiting with friends. Great coffee, specialty drinks, and great sandwiches, wraps, and homemade soup. And of course, Reuben Tuesdays for those great Reuben sandwiches. You will never go wrong making this a stop on your trip through Mountainair.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alpine Alley also viewed

Been to Alpine Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing