We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Texas!!”
Review of Witte Museum

Witte Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.00*
and up
Half Day San Antonio Afternoon Grand Historic Tour
Ranked #43 of 265 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Witte Museum has the gorgeous Fiesta gowns, but also a special science treehouse just for kids.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Taste of Texas!!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Loved the dinosaur exhibit, it was fantastic! However, my favorite was the American Indian and Cowboy exhibits. Very well done and very, very interesting. THis is a must see on yoiur next trip to San Antonio.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shadowit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    107
    66
    17
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great hidden San Antonio Gem”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

They currently have a really neat dinosaur exhibit but not sure how much longer that will be there. What is awesome is the Texas ecology exhibits and the cowboy museum section. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I toured this museum with a large family group of all ages. Everyone had a great time! The dinosaur exhibit was surprisingly interesting and educational. The Texas history presented throughout the museum was impressive - so glad my teenagers were able to enjoy the day and learn so much! Go early and plan to spend plenty of time. There is so much to see here. Truly a gem!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Okieqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Historical and Fun!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had heard a negative re this museum but went anyway. I am so glad we did. We paid the extra to see the Dinosaurs. Well worth it! They moved and "talked". There were rooms exhibiting dresses from Texas parades, magic lanterns, S. Texas wildlife, mummies and others. Outside are buildings to visit, a log cabin and such. Then in another building is art work and more Texas history. All in all, well worth the price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“some parts were interesting”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Enjoyable visit. HEB Tree House was a disappointment. Nothing was working the day we visited.
It did become very crowded.
Go early to beat the crowds.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank botanicalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Witte Museum also viewed

 

Been to Witte Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing