We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Fun but a Bit Outdated”

The DoSeum - San Antonio's Museum for Kids
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.00*
and up
Half Day San Antonio Afternoon Grand Historic Tour
Ranked #25 of 266 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Now open! The DoSeum is San Antonio's newest cultural attraction and is fun for the whole family! Designed for kids age 0-10, The DoSeum features 6 major exhibit halls and 2 outdoor yards for all day fun and learning. Come on out and see why The DoSeum is the place to be this summer!
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase
San Antonio, TX
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Downtown Fun but a Bit Outdated”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Took my grand daughter and daughter-in-law here for something different for the little one. There were many different stimuli for children, but the whole place looked like it could use a fresh coat of paint. Some of the exhibits were not available. There was no paper in the 'art studio' ... the whole place seemed very 'closed in'.

I think this place needs a little tlc and a little more for younger ones to peak their interest (say 2 to 5-year olds). I was thankful I had a groupon.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    102
    55
    21
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Not bad”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A bit small and dated. Some of the exhibits were broken. The children really seemed to enjoy the "grocery shopping" in the basement. The birthday party they attended was well organized with cake and an activity. (They made kaleidoscopes.) The museum seemed small and had fewer activites than we expected, although my children could easily have spent most of the day there. However, I have to say that I felt we overpaid for the experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kawika1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun for my toddler!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Great Muesum for the price!! Has many activities for young kids. My daughter always enjoys the HEB area where she can pretend she's grocery shopping and checking people out. Have been to a birthday party here and it seemed very easy none stressful. Looking into having our own party there as we'll!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jessr868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“some fun for the kiddos”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The museum has a few different areas for children to learn through play like airport area, dramatic play corner, instruments, shopping center, under the water, construction, art center etc. My daughter enjoyed art class the most - they made a small piece of leaf art using ink. She played with small plastic balls in the area right by the entrance/exit too. There are a few animals there as well - snakes, lizards, and fish. You can spend a couple hours there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joannav82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The kids loved it!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We were just on vacation in Austin, and wanted to go to San Antonio for the day. Since the weather wasnt so great, we did some research on tripadvisor to see what our options were. The kids were more than pleased with our decision to head to the
Children's museam. They are 5 and 2 1/2 and both had a great time! It's not huge, the perfect size for kids to run around without being too worried because it wasnt over crowded. Great little place!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cbs3383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The DoSeum - San Antonio's Museum for Kids also viewed

 

Been to The DoSeum - San Antonio's Museum for Kids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing