We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“getting a facelift”

Japanese Tea Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
San Antonio Electric Scooter tour to The Japanese Tea Garden
Ranked #13 of 265 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Originally a rock quarry, part of the tea garden came from a donation by George W. Brackenridge and another section from Emma Koehler. In 1915 Ray Lambert, city parks commissioner, thought it would make a nice location for a lily pond. Ultimately, it grew to become a tea garden. The latest renovations began in 2007 and cost about $1.6 million, compared with the $7,000 Lambert originally spent to open the park. It is a Registered Texas Historic Landmark and on the National Register of Historic Places.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“getting a facelift”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The gardens were beautiful, but the ponds were being emptied when we were there. Good thing it was free! Being from Houston I thought it was interesting to be able to compare the Tea Gardens from Houston with the one in San Antonio.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 77mdare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    724
    333
    95
    28
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best place to take pictures”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I had my some of my senior pictures taken here and we were very pleased with the results! (I think there may be a picture permit fee)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle_jimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
304 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place- although it's under renovation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Located in Breckenridge Park, this beautiful former quarry has fascinating gardens. It is currently under renovation and several of the ponds have been drained, so I can only imagine how much better is it when in full operation. The winding stone steps can be quite steep in some areas, so it might be difficult for someone with disabilities to make it through all of the areas. The flowers were lovely and the koi ponds teaming with fish. There is a sign for a Tea House, although it was closed when we arrived late in the day. The gardens are open from dawn to dusk and there is no admission charged.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank realst8ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Its hard to believe that this is a free attraction! Absolutely beautiful place to visit. When we went, it appears as if one of their ponds were empty. However, that did not detract from the beauty of the garden. Be prepared to climb a lot of steps (depending on how much you wish to see).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Budman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Neat Place - Be Sure to Read the Chinese Gate Placard at the Front”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Hey it's free, neat to see all the flowers, and the steps are built into the stone. Fun, quick adventure to walk through.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TimmyTwoTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Japanese Tea Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Japanese Tea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing