We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ugh!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown South
Ranked #265 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
1 review
“Ugh!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We booked what looked like a suite we get here and they say no that it was the "websites" fault fir that, then we find 2 not 1 but 2 baby roaches, the dresser looks like its falling apart the stupid toilet kept me up all night making some loud waterfall noise scared me awake every time, they have NO laundry bags, I stayed in a smoking room lost my liter and no matches at the desk, the breakfast was good lol just no coffee lids no big deal so overall not happy

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_vtx466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    16
    11
    7
    19
See reviews for
30
14
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We came with the family during Labor day weekend and everything was perfect from check in to check out...great hot breakfast, clean rooms and clean pool and a very friendly and accomodating staff!! Just a 5 minute drive to the Riverwalk. We will stay here again next year!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candym677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

I was appalled by what I encountered with this hotel. First, it is located in a VERY rough part of town. The surrounding buildings are covered in graffiti, and the windows have bars over them.

The first room I was given had the door ajar when I approached it. I didn't even open it. I went straight back to the office and requested a different room. The second room I was given was horrible, and that is putting it lightly.

The furniture is dated, dirty, and extremly worn. The remote for the tv had so much grime on it, we refused to use it. The microwave was dirty inside and out. The toiletry tray had dried soap scum on it from the previous guest. The iron was broken, and the cord was dirty.

There was still a bottle of beer in the fridge which goes to show that the cleaning lady didn't even check the fridge when cleaning the room. The walls had numerous holes in them, and last but not least, the security lock on the door was broken.

I had checked into the hotel for a seven night stay; however, I checked out the next morning and changed to a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanSproutAndMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We traveled with the family to San Antonio for a 4 day summer vacation and had a fabulous stay at this Econo Lodge. Close to the Riverwalk and a short drive to Sea World. We came for our cousin's graduation at Lackland Air Force base and found everything to be just within 10-15 minute drive from the hotel. Staff was friendly, rooms were clean and comfortable and the pool was sparkling. Breakfast was awesome with eggs, waffles, etc...will be back again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 954James_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

The pool was clean & Room was nice size (suite) for the price we paid. Great value. Shower had no hot water & staff suggested we didn't know how to turn the knob. When the sink had no hot water either, we were rebuffed again that we had to "just let it run a while." It had been on the entire time...waiting....running...cold. Well, into the night my husband demanded a refund & we would leave to another hotel that had hot water as he was told we could have a small room but no price adjustment would be made (suite vs. small room). We were told 'no refund.' After an 8 hour journey, we needed a shower! Finally he called AGAIN and demanded something be done immediately & that no hot water is just unacceptable. Once again we were told by maintenance, over the phone, that "hot showers are not really good for you anyway." That was the last straw for us. After a series of intense phone conversations we had hot water. Great location to downtown sites, suite is surprisingly large compared to price paid. Quiet & clean. Housekeeping did not show up & garbage built up until we took it out ourselves. Had to call for linens/towels. Might stay at an Econolodge again since this issue seemed quite specific & the rest of the stay was great.

Room Tip: The suite was a great value. Experienced situational issues but location was close to downtown sites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

we stayed for 4 days and it was what we expected. from day one to last day. breakfast was great, beds comfy, a/c worked so no complaints here. Would definitely stay again. its is close to downtown, to the mission trail and not far from Sea World. Right off the I-35 so e

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J14C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for a graduation in the area and made the trip into a vacation. The hotel is in close proximity to the Alamo, Six Flags and many other local attractions. Having never stayed at an Econo Lodge, I was pleasantly surprised with the level of service. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. i was definitely surprised by the quality for the value received and would stay here again if ever back in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
2.8 mi away
Value Place San Antonio, Texas (South)
Value Place San Antonio, Texas (...
#218 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
5.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown Northeast
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtow...
#165 of 354 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
7.5 mi away
Budget Lodge Fort Sam
Budget Lodge Fort Sam
#258 of 354 in San Antonio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Super 8 San Antonio/Alamodome Area
4.4 mi away
Super 8 San Antonio/Riverwalk Area
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio South Hotel
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio ...
#180 of 354 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown South

Property: Econo Lodge Downtown South
Address: 606 Division Avenue, I-35 South/Exit #152A, San Antonio, TX 78214 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Downtown South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Downtown South Hotel San Antonio
Quality Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Quality Inn
Econo Lodge Downtown South San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing