We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drive a little farther”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)
Ranked #40 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here in June 2013 for BMT first the pros: location is extremely close to the base and the front desk personnel were top notch. Now the cons: location is extremely close to the base; translation, depressed area with nothing to do/see outside of the hotel. Although the restaurant opens at 0530 during graduation you will be hard pressed to get in/out in a timely manner even with 1-2 tables occupied. There was no 24hr coffee service available, as a result if you're a morning coffee person you will shell out over(2) $5.00 for small styrofoam cups of coffee to go from the restaurant. There are no DD, Starbucks or gas station mini-marts enroute to the base. In short, drive the extra 15 mins (it really won't make a difference regarding graduation) and stay a little farther from the base.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrkgreenohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKTA P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio), responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. Your feedback will be addressed with the department to ensure we are providing the best stay for guests at all times.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future

Akta Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Most of the staff was great we had a bad situation with the waitress after waiting forever for food as well as to b sat I got up to us the restroom just to c our waitress coming out of the stale she begun picking at her face after some time she left without washing her hands. I was a nurse for 25 years and there r so many things you can catch from someone not washing their hands she looked to be a iv drug user so she could have hep c or worse she could have washed her hands. I would not let this young lady wait on us or on your family her name was Sonia shorter with what looks to be shoulder length hair. She has a deep Dimple in one of her cheeks. We ate there after that one night believe me we made sure she wasn't there. The waitress we had that night was a sweetheart she knew her stuff we were trying to find a movie place where we could get some dessert as well as a beer age gave me good direction. Her name was I believe melyssa. I have half mind to call health inspection to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannathomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKTA P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio), responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review we take our guest feedback seriously. I am elated that melissa service exceeded your expectations. However, I do apologize for the other server was less than satisfactory at the hotel during your stay. Your feedback will be addressed with the appropriate departments to ensure we are providing the best stay for guests at all times.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future.

Akta Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Although the customer service was excellent and the room clean, the hotel is in need of an update. As we spent over 18 hours in a car, I was looking forward to relaxing in the hot tub. There was only one fully working jet. Making it little more than a warm tub. Therefore, many parents felt it was the kiddie pool. Unfortunately, we paid extra for this, so in hind sight we should have booked the cheaper room from the hotel next door.

The walls are very thin. Not only could we hear the heavy footed upstairs guest, but also the road noise from outside.

On the bright side, we were visiting the Lackland, AFB, so the location was superb Less than 5 minutes with easy access. However, the neighborhood was not one I would walk at night.

Although the staff was friendly and attempted to accommodate overall it was a disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Book the top floor if you do not like to hear your upstairs neighbors walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio), responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear G B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. I am elated that the staff service provided and clean rooms exceeded your expectations. However, I do apologize that the tub was less than satisfactory and you were able to hear noise from another room and outside the hotel during your stay. Your feedback will be addressed with the appropriate departments to ensure we are providing the best stay for guests at all times.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is terrible. The only reason I write more than that is because it requires me to do so. Terrible neighborhood, terrible food, unsafe, dirty, loud, and one of the worst places I've stayed. Bar is used for bartenders friends, not guests. There is no security. Exit doors are unlocked to anyone, I got an extra room key just by telling them room number, no ID. Staff knows nothing, not even what time breakfast starts. I literally couldnt get out of this place fast enough. Ive stated 68 nights in just Holiday Inns. and This is the worst run example of this brand by a long way. A free week and all meals couldn't get me back to this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio), responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear Buck S,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention.

I am concerned to read that your stay was not what you expected. I am truly sorry for the poor experience you have encountered in our bar and for the dissatisfaction you had with our location. We regret that we have left you with a less than memorable experience and we can only offer our sincerest apologies for we have failed to exceed or at least meet your expectations.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I think I can speak for all tired travelers when I say customer service and accommodations are very important. The rooms were clean, the staff was very helpful and courteous and the beds were some of the most comfortable hotel beds I ever slept in. Very stress free, relaxing stay. Big kudos to the staff. Thank you from PA.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKTA P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio), responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel while you were here for Airman Graduation. We appericate your feedback. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy your stay at our hotel. Hope to see you in future.

Thank you
Akta Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Hotel was convenient to Lackland AFB, the front desk staff were pleasant and provided helpful direction sheets and information on the AFB. The pool was nice, and you could get a cold beer in the evening. The breakfast was a sit down restaurant. Everything was adequate. Room and hotel was clean, bed was comfy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spro_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKTA P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio), responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for staying with us. Thank you for recognizing our team member service. We are very happy to hear about Service you recived and you were able to enjoy your stay. Hope to see you in future.

Safe Travels!
Akta Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Love how it's so close to lackland afb if you wanna stay off base. The hotel In my opinion was very neat the way it was designed. The staff was amazing and even called into the room to see if I needed anything. The cleanliness was as good as to be expected for a chain hotel :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannahblw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKTA P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio), responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for staying with us.We are very happy you had pleasant stay. We will let out Employess know about the service you recived. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Lackland Airforce Base.

Safe Travels!
Akta Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites
Far West Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lackland AFB/SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#10 of 357 in San Antonio
1,168 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#21 of 357 in San Antonio
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)

Address: 6502 Enrique M Barrera Pkwy, San Antonio, TX 78227-3716 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £49 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio) 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a Texas-sized welcome and services like free high-speed internet access, reserve a spacious hotel room or suite at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lackland AFB (San Antonio), TX. This hotel is just a mile away from Lackland Air Force Base and is ideally suited for family and friends attending graduation ceremonies for airmen finishing up Lackland Basic Military Training. For entertainment the whole family will love, San Antonio attractions like SeaWorld, the Alamo and River Walk are less than a 10-mile drive away. On site, enjoy a modern fitness center, a business center and an outdoor courtyard pool. Don't miss a single morning at the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet. 100% non-smoking hotel. There are designated areas outside of hotel for smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lackland Hotel San Antonio
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn
Lackland Holiday Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio) Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing