We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb/courteous staff, clean, great location to AFB, treated respectfully” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)
Ranked #69 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“superb/courteous staff, clean, great location to AFB, treated respectfully”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

Helped made my son's Air Force graduation a perfect memorable event. The bed, sink, bathroom and carpet very clean. The staff, from the desk manager to the housekeepers as well as the restaurant personel and maintenance workers all very courteous and polite. Son had made a list of his fellow airmen's phone numbers, X-box/Playstation game tags, and facebook info and the hotel desk made copies for his entire flight as well as the brother flight as a courtesy to our armed force members free of charge. Commendable! Hotel is just minutes from the AFB and is close to downtown San Antonio/Riverwalk, Alamo as well as Sea World. Pool and patio area clean and cozy. A pleasant experience. Only negative-return units slam room doors hard-suggest putting some rubber bumpers in door jambs to quiet.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blueandmaize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    91
    39
    22
    27
See reviews for
260
19
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

I booked this hotel through the Friends and Family Graduation Program through Sato Travel Agency and was VERY pleased with it.

The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The maid service was very good as well.

We loved that the hotel was just minutes away from Lackland AFB. That in itself was the primary reason we picked it.

The surrounding neighborhood and other hotels do NOT look as nice as the Holiday Inn did though. It made it a little scary to want to venture out. We ended up going downtown and North of Lackland instead.

We got breakfasts included with our booking and the food was decent. Nothing spectacular but it wasn't bad either. We also ordered room service and was suprised at how tasty the food was.

It's not by any means the most delicious food you've ever eaten, BUT it was good and the service was fast.

The only complaint I would have at all is it seemed like right when we wanted to go to bed, people would be slamming doors. If you are a light sleeper that might be hard to deal with.

We turned our fan unit on very high to kind of drown out the sound. That would be my only issue at all!

A great stay and trip!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

The lodging, food (best tilapia ever!) and service was excellent, as was the value! Excellent pool, hot tub/spa and fitness center! Although it is at the edge of the business district, it is an excellent location! Very close to Lackland AFB. Safe and convenient area. If in for visit to Lackland, check into the Friends and Family discount for an excellent value! Highly suggest utilizing Alamo City Shuttle for ground transportation needs; Daniel is very knowledgeable about the area, and his rates cannot be beat! If we come to the area again, we will definately use Holiday Inn San Antonio Lackland and Alamo City Shuttle! Thank you for making our trip an enjoyable one!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tammy_poling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

Me and my family went out to san antonio for sea world. This hotel is located about 6 miles away from sea world the rooms were in excellent shape seems like they have just remodeled the courtyard and bar area was very relexing has well. great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dpatel812000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texarkana, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

I stayed at this hotel from Sept 8n through the 12th during my son's graduation from Basic Training. I was very pleasantly surprised. Our rooms were clean and kept clean the entire stay. All of the employees were friendly and very helpful. The food at the restaurant was good and the children eat free. I would recommend this hotel to the families of airmen.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sandrajean911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

Unfortunately, we stayed here for our son's graduation. The hotel is rundown, smelly everywhere, NO ELEVATORS. We found lots and lots of bed bugs in our room. It was disgusting! THey were on, in, and around the mattress. I informed the staff and they did nothing!! They wouldn't even give me a refund for the remaining days (it was prepaid). They did the best they can to maintain clean rooms, but theyre still filthy. Don't waste your money here. We're not picky people, or easy complainers, but this place is worth writing about. There are other more desirable hotels you can stay at. Its worth to drive a few miles extra, then to stay in this filth!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wval10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel for my son's AFB graduation. The location was great as it was 10 minutes from the base. The room was very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff was very nice. We did have to call down for additional towels but the staff had no problem getting them to our room. The only down size was the breakfast, it was pricey and I thought it was included in our hotel package. I would recommend this hotel for anyone going to a Lackland AFB graduation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lackland Hotel & Suites
Far West Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lackland AFB/SeaWorld
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)
Address: 6502 West Old US Highway 90, San Antonio, TX 78227 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio) 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a Texas-sized welcome and services like free high-speed Internet access, reserve a spacious hotel room or suite at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lackland AFB (San Antonio), TX. This hotel is just a mile away from Lackland Air Force Base and is ideally suited for family and friends attending graduation ceremonies for airmen finishing up Lackland Basic Military Training. For entertainment the whole family will love, San Antonio attractions like SeaWorld, the Alamo and River Walk are less than a 10-mile drive away. On site, enjoy a modern fitness center, a business center and an outdoor pool. Don't miss a single morning at the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet. 100% non-smoking facility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lackland Hotel San Antonio
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn
Lackland Holiday Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio) Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing