We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little playground for kids was great!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Ranked #83 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Little playground for kids was great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Getting there was a little tricky since the Courtyard parking lot connected to it was locked. We had a connecting room with our family and our room had a wall unit a/c unit which was subpar. They have a little playground which was very nice for my 3 year old to get out some pent up energy from the long car ride. Check out was a pain since the girl at the counter was too busy chatting on the phone to bother helping us check out. So after a few minutes we got sick of waiting with no acknowledgment of us being there and left the room keys. Other than that it was fine and is in a wonderful location for many activities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agashi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We are delighted your children enjoyed the playground out back by our BBQ pit! I am very sorry about your check out experience - we will address this with the front desk clerk working that day and make sure it does not happen again. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the Alamo City in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    49
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
75
19
3
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I travel a lot and use Marriott hotels as our choice of stay. (We are platinum members) This past week, my sister and I escorted my elderly mother and disabled aunt to San Antonio. We stayed at the Residence Inn/ Market Square. This hotel is a hidden gem! The staff were not only cordial, but went above and beyond in seeing to our needs. We unexpectedly needed an electric scooter--they went out of their way to locate a company close by which had one waiting for us before we arrived. The front desk delivered it to our room. We initially had difficulty operating it--the front desk personally visited the room to assist us, including Ron, the manager. The hotel offered breakfast daily and evening food three days. If there was an item on the bar that was requested, they did their best to supply it. Free coffee and freshly baked cookies were available in the lobby. Jose helped my elderly aunt who has sight difficulties by writing the channels very large on paper for her. Jerry, the front desk clerk, was "Johnny on the spot" with any request that came his way (and we had several!), determined to accommodate his guests. Every worker from housekeeping to management was pleasant and overtly accommodating. I can honestly say that it was the best Marriott experience I've had.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank favre406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We are delighted to hear this was your best stay ever! I am so happy to hear the staff made your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the coffee, cookies and social hour. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a 1 bedroom suite reserved for 2 adults and 2 children. When we checked in, the hideabed was not made. I have never, in my life, had to make a bed that was reserved. There were no pillows for the hideabed, so I called the front desk to request some. The answer I received was that they didn't have any.

Did I mention that the room was reserved for 4 people? The room was stocked (and restocked) with 3 towels and 3 wash rags. That math seems a little off to me. Also, the towel I used on the first day had black streaks on it, fresh off the rack.

Also, on the night we checked in, we found little black curly hairs behind the bathroom door.

The bed was HORRIBLE. Had I not been 2 weeks out from major surgery, I would have preferred to sleep on the floor. I have never been on a bed so rock hard before.

All and all, I was not impressed with the service we received or the cleanliness of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We are sorry we didnt meet your expectations. We will review our operations procedures to better meet your needs next time. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed for 6 nights and the bed linen was not changed. Housekeeping was not done on one day.
I had to notify the front desk who gave some supplies and remove the garbage from the kitchen. On the last day of stay the kitchen sink broke. It was late evening and there was no plumber to fix ii. Not acceptable for a high end hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Humingbirdjamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We deeply apologize for the housekeeping issues that you experienced and affected the quality of your stay. Based on your input, we are going to re-evaluate our green program that includes water conservation. We hope we can show you a better stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for 27 days and the staff is amazing. The general manager and assistant manager lead the way with superior customer service skills and the staff follow the way. Hotel is always clean. Hats off to Jerry on front desk and the lady that comes in after him. They provide dinner free 3 nights a week---Gracie does the food and makes us feel at home, remembers our names, and remembers what we prefer to drink. This the secret lit the place hidden by trees. J. W. Marriott would be proud of you all. Housekeeping was superior on second floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dee2sxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel so enthusiastically! We appreciate you recognizing our customer service - especially, our front desk team. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality hour and getting to know Gracie. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again next time you are in the Alamo City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have stayed at many Residence Inn's in the past, This one BY FAR is the best!! Fresh and clean, everything looks new! Very close to the downtown area, not too cramped as you would expect a downtown hotel to be. FREE PARKING!! The staff is beyond amazing, they truly went above and beyond for me. Social was a full meal, full BBQ dinner the night I was there. Rates were what you would expect for a downtown hotel but you get what you pay for at this hotel!

Room Tip: This hotel has 2 buildings, I perfer the building attatched to the lobby.
See more room tips
Green Features: Actively using a recycling program, WAY TO GO!! I saw recycle cans in the lobby and a recycling dumpster out back. "Far away from rooms but I like to walk"
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We are so happy to hear you think we are the best! That makes our day. We appreciate your kind words about our property being newly renovated, fresh, clean and that you enjoyed our amenities such as free parking. We hope we can welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantine, Algeria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

As a former Marriott associated I have not enough words to express my gratitude to all the staff at this hotel, the way me and my family were treated exceeded our expectations making more memorable our stay, in particular I'd like to recognize the front desk crew and general manager, definitely I recommend this hotel, the location is just perfect and the service is well above expectations, thanks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SergioGRivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We appreciate you recognizing the hard work and dedication of our staff. We will definitely pass on your kind words. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square

Property: Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Address: 628 S Santa Rosa Ave, San Antonio, TX 78204-3128
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#80 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square offers an ideal location in the heart of downtown San Antonio, just off I-35. This great location is within minutes of top destinations including Market Square, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome, and the AT&T Center. Business travelers will appreciate the quick commute to the offices of AT&T, Toyota, Boeing, and HEB Grocery, as well as business-friendly amenities such as free proprety-wide WiFi, a 24-hour business center, and over 1,400 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting and event space. Our suites are 50% larger than standard hotel rooms, and are highlighted by HD TVs, plush bedding, and the fully-equipped kitchens with refrigerator, microwave, and stove top. Start your day off with the complimentary breakfast buffet, and unwind in the evenings at the weekday evening social hour. Guests will love to maintain their active lifestyle with a workout in the fitness center or a game of basketball on the SportCourt, or they can spend a relaxing afternoon in the sun by the outdoor pool. With thoughtful amenities and prime location in the heart of downtown, Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square is the perfect choice for extended stay trips or weekend getaways to San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Residence Inn
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing