We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Ranked #82 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a breakfast!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at this Residence Inn about 16 months ago. It wasn't memorable then but was recently renovated - new cabinets, floor, carpet, bathroom, etc. Unfortunately the mattress wasn't replaced; maybe next time. I only spent one night but the next morning breakfast was a must. They have one of the most comprehensive breakfast spreads that I've seen. Eggs, sausage, bacon, bagels, muffins, cereals (hot and cold), lots of fruit, and waffles! Whew! There's lots of other healthy stuff. Great place for families with children.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_Hotel, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank-you for your business!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    50
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
78
19
3
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our first time staying at this hotel and after two bad stays at Hilton brands, we were scared to see what was behind the door. I can honestly say it was one of the most pleasant stays we have had in a while. We started off a little rough with our key not working to get into the building, but after a quick switch we were set. We opened the door to find what felt more like a studio apt than hotel. The room was very well decorated and modern touches throughout. Most importantly it was CLEAN and FRESH! Great sleep, good breakfast, and free parking...I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We are so happy to hear we were able to give you a positive hotel experience and stay! I am sorry about the key issues, but glad it was quickly resolved. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

First, the pros:
-Free parking
-Free internet
-Large modern rooms
-Kitchen in room
-Free hot breakfast
-Free dinner/drinks on select weeknights
-Attentive staff
Cons:
-A pinch too far from the Riverwalk Restaurants to walk.
With that said I am staying here 3 more times on business because obviously the pros outweigh the cons. I am a runner and the hotel is a couple of blocks from a Riverwalk entrance that is really pretty to run on. However, walking to dinner took about 30 mins and it was just too hot in June for that. Really though this is just a minor drawback. To stay closer to the action you lose the space, amenities, and free parking. I would highly recommend and it is one of my favorite hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff is really nice and accommodating also!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindseyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review this hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our free parking, wireless internet, fully equipped modern rooms and hot breakfast buffet. We apologize you didnt find our location the most convenient - there are several options nearby that you should try out next time including the downtown trolley and b-cycle bike rental system! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Getting there was a little tricky since the Courtyard parking lot connected to it was locked. We had a connecting room with our family and our room had a wall unit a/c unit which was subpar. They have a little playground which was very nice for my 3 year old to get out some pent up energy from the long car ride. Check out was a pain since the girl at the counter was too busy chatting on the phone to bother helping us check out. So after a few minutes we got sick of waiting with no acknowledgment of us being there and left the room keys. Other than that it was fine and is in a wonderful location for many activities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agashi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We are delighted your children enjoyed the playground out back by our BBQ pit! I am very sorry about your check out experience - we will address this with the front desk clerk working that day and make sure it does not happen again. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the Alamo City in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I travel a lot and use Marriott hotels as our choice of stay. (We are platinum members) This past week, my sister and I escorted my elderly mother and disabled aunt to San Antonio. We stayed at the Residence Inn/ Market Square. This hotel is a hidden gem! The staff were not only cordial, but went above and beyond in seeing to our needs. We unexpectedly needed an electric scooter--they went out of their way to locate a company close by which had one waiting for us before we arrived. The front desk delivered it to our room. We initially had difficulty operating it--the front desk personally visited the room to assist us, including Ron, the manager. The hotel offered breakfast daily and evening food three days. If there was an item on the bar that was requested, they did their best to supply it. Free coffee and freshly baked cookies were available in the lobby. Jose helped my elderly aunt who has sight difficulties by writing the channels very large on paper for her. Jerry, the front desk clerk, was "Johnny on the spot" with any request that came his way (and we had several!), determined to accommodate his guests. Every worker from housekeeping to management was pleasant and overtly accommodating. I can honestly say that it was the best Marriott experience I've had.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank favre406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We are delighted to hear this was your best stay ever! I am so happy to hear the staff made your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the coffee, cookies and social hour. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a 1 bedroom suite reserved for 2 adults and 2 children. When we checked in, the hideabed was not made. I have never, in my life, had to make a bed that was reserved. There were no pillows for the hideabed, so I called the front desk to request some. The answer I received was that they didn't have any.

Did I mention that the room was reserved for 4 people? The room was stocked (and restocked) with 3 towels and 3 wash rags. That math seems a little off to me. Also, the towel I used on the first day had black streaks on it, fresh off the rack.

Also, on the night we checked in, we found little black curly hairs behind the bathroom door.

The bed was HORRIBLE. Had I not been 2 weeks out from major surgery, I would have preferred to sleep on the floor. I have never been on a bed so rock hard before.

All and all, I was not impressed with the service we received or the cleanliness of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We are sorry we didnt meet your expectations. We will review our operations procedures to better meet your needs next time. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed for 6 nights and the bed linen was not changed. Housekeeping was not done on one day.
I had to notify the front desk who gave some supplies and remove the garbage from the kitchen. On the last day of stay the kitchen sink broke. It was late evening and there was no plumber to fix ii. Not acceptable for a high end hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Humingbirdjamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We deeply apologize for the housekeeping issues that you experienced and affected the quality of your stay. Based on your input, we are going to re-evaluate our green program that includes water conservation. We hope we can show you a better stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square

Property: Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Address: 628 S Santa Rosa Ave, San Antonio, TX 78204-3128
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#80 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square offers an ideal location in the heart of downtown San Antonio, just off I-35. This great location is within minutes of top destinations including Market Square, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome, and the AT&T Center. Business travelers will appreciate the quick commute to the offices of AT&T, Toyota, Boeing, and HEB Grocery, as well as business-friendly amenities such as free proprety-wide WiFi, a 24-hour business center, and over 1,400 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting and event space. Our suites are 50% larger than standard hotel rooms, and are highlighted by HD TVs, plush bedding, and the fully-equipped kitchens with refrigerator, microwave, and stove top. Start your day off with the complimentary breakfast buffet, and unwind in the evenings at the weekday evening social hour. Guests will love to maintain their active lifestyle with a workout in the fitness center or a game of basketball on the SportCourt, or they can spend a relaxing afternoon in the sun by the outdoor pool. With thoughtful amenities and prime location in the heart of downtown, Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square is the perfect choice for extended stay trips or weekend getaways to San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Residence Inn
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing